X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
367 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very small room, but with a Good location, free breakfast and good staff! Would recommend to anyone on a budget or just wants to experience toronto for the weekend like we did. Other positives would be there's a shop next door, city bikes near by, peaceful vibe within hostel, next to university and genuinely pleasant experience.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Thanks for being so great and accommodating. The showers were dirty. But everything else was great.


51%

- La habitación y los baños estaban tan sucios que no cumplían las leyes de higiene. Aunque se aviso al personal nadie limpio como se debería. - El ambiente nocturno dentro del hostel fue ruidoso - La ubicación y las vistas desde su rooftop son muy buenas


34%

The hostel is a real nightmare!!! I stayed there for 3 nights and nobody came to the room or the washroom to clean it. I asked but... Nothing!!! The breakfast is simple and the coffee is impossible to drink. The towel is look like for face because it is so small. Sorry but I was there only because all other hostels were totally full for the days I was in Toronto. Please, avoid it.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Je n'y suis restée qu'un seul soir, et c'était correct. Des résidences étudiantes, faut s'attendre à ce genre d'ambiance. Déjeuner gratuit mais un peu radins. Un peu froid, mais professionnels, somme toute.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nous avons trouvé que l'ensemble avait un bon rapport qualité prix pour Toronto qui est une ville très chère. Le seul bémol est que nous avons réservé en mai pour un séjour en août avec nos 2 enfants ado et que nous avons eu des chambres sur deux étages différents aucunes excuses et aucunes compensation de la part du personnel! Heureusement que nos enfants ne sont pas trop peureux, et qu'ils sont assez débrouillards!!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice staff and security, the building is located a few blocks away from Dundas which is great.


83%

Très bonne auberge de jeunesse avec un personnel très accueillant ,situe en plein cœur de Toronto a 10 min de marche du Eaton Center ... Tout était parfait et je recommande cette auberge

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

鍵はあるが他の鍵でも空くので一人部屋の意味がない single room is meaningless because rooms lock can be open by other rooms keys. 雰囲気がとにかく良くなかった atmosphere is really bad 不満はそれだけ。あとは値段相応悪くはないけど勧めない these are my all complaints. price is not bad, other material is not bad. not bad, but I don't recommend.


40%

For $60 a night for a single private room, it was far from value for money, if I didn't arrive so late and exhausted from travelling I would have taken one look at the room and gone to find another hotel forfeiting the money already paid. The building is old and run down, there's mould on ceilings, faulty taps, dingy hallways, the rooms were dirty, furniture old and prison-bare, the whole experience uninviting and truly depressing.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff are lovely and the location is great. Great value except for the breakfast which is limited to only 4 items at the counter.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I have never had staff that were so open and helpful and incredibly nice.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Room small and only beds are in it.


83%

This is cheap student accommodation that is a hostel over the summer. Everything is fine, the staff are great and there's even a free breakfast until 11am. The beds aren't great and there's no air conditioning though which can make it quite uncomfortable. It's not as fun or social as traditional hostels but is cheap and in a good location.


77%

In a good area. Near Dundas Square but quiet. Great cafe 3 blocks away at the Uni. Large hotel style 22 floor building. Free breakfast in the morning. Security always at the front. Wifi only in the breakfast area or 21st floor lounge.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Very spartan accommodation that's only appropriate for those looking for the cheapest option. No a/c makes for an excruciating night's sleep in summertime Toronto. I've stayed in other university/college residences that were much better (Kelowna BC for ex). Breakfast was fine, though lacking in real choice for fresh healthy things. Apples and oranges, that's it.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I missed the Coffe and Tea corner.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The view at the 21st floor is incredible!


60%

Les deux seuls avantages: très bon déjeuner inclus et l'auberge est bien situé. Sinon, il n'y a pas d'ambiance et ce n'est pas très propre.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This is a summer hostel, so the use the empty rooms of a university dormitory. Big building and lots of people coming in and out every day, but the city is very safe. The bathrooms are somewhat dirty since they are also used by the residents of the building and are not cleaned often. Bed sheets were supposed to be changed every three nights, but didn't happen not even once during a week. Not even when other guests in the room had left or before receiving the new ones.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback