X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
449 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Très cher pour le peu de facilités proposées. Pas de wifi dans les chambres. Le déjeuner est correct. Mériterait un bon rafraichissement.


80%

A lot of facilities seemed to be broken down, the water fountain in the lobby, the lockers for storing bags and my room didn't seem to have been cleaned properly as their was old cigarette butts on the floor. However the staff were very friendly, the wifi was excellent, good sized breakfasts thrown in with the room and good discounts available for local tourist atractions


60%

The young staff worked well with what they had to work with...BUT the hostel is in dire need of an overhaul, which is long overdue! I only stayed one night in a private room which was OK, but NOT at $50.00 a night. The cleaning staff need to actually CLEAN!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Sincerly, do not go there. The rooms are without air condition and unbelieveable hot. The bathrooms weren't clean nor cleaned at all. There is no hostel feeling at all, no community. No wifi in the rooms. I left earlier...


69%

The location and staff were great. But then you get to your room and find the kitchen filthy and the bathrooms not any better. They say you can get a towel if you leave it outside your day and sheets are changed every three days. I didn't get either even though I left my towel outside my door. The wifi is free if you go up to the 22nd floor or down in the cafe. If you want it in your room you need to pay for it and that can be expensive.


91%

the room was very clean and neat and the people who work there were really nice. the location was perfect. the only thing that bothered me was some people sining in their room. they were too loud so I found it hard to go to bed.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Why there is no air conditioner in my room?

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

화장실과 욕실 지저분해요


69%

It is student housing, without wifi in the room. It has very good breakfast in a hall kind of room. Not very much the idea of a "small hostel", but it is in a very good place.


80%

The staff is very nice. The person who took care of my check-in just forgot to let me know and give me the breakfast vouchers. As my reservation was done at the last minute I didn't know that the breakfast was included in the price. Now I know!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

La habitación estaba muy sucia. Habia cafe derramado en el suelo y mucha suciedad en general. Las sabanas no estaban limpias, habian sido usadas por otro huesped anteriormente. Lo unico bueno es la wifi y la ubicación. En el storage room habia comida y ropa sucia tirada. No habia ningún control sobre las maletas allí dejadas, qué minimo que un resguardo y que la puerta este cerrada para que nadie entre! Las zonas comunes como los baños y la cocina asi como el pasillo muy sucias.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

It was very difficult to find the parking area, the windows were coated with filth, the threadbare carpets had not been vacuumed, neither had the floor in my room and the floor was dirty. The common room counters on my floor needed washing down and there were no cloths or soap to do so. On top of that, I was awoken at 2:30 a.m. by 2 ambulance and police car sirens that came to my building. The police were still there when I was checking out in the morning - this did not help me feel safe.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Le principe de l'auberge est très bien avec ses petits appartements et chambres individuelles. Malheureusement, la plupart des personnes du personnel n'étaient pas très agréables. La chambre et la salle de bain étaient sales et les réparation avec du gros mastic jaune n'est pas beau. Par ailleurs, il y a eu un problème avec les chambres. Ma chambre a été attribuée à une autre personne et cette personne a ouvert ma chambre alors que je venais de me coucher pour dormir. Pas normal du tout !


74%

There is no wifi in the bedroom, only if you pay. You can use the internet in the lounge at the first and 22nd floor though. Staff members were nice! It's close to subway stations and in the hear of downtown!


74%

nice hostel, however even tho you book a dorm you are still put in a individual room. apart from that no complaints


66%

The roof patio is great. The staff is really great. The Lobby is too cold. The rest is average, a little too expensive though.


83%

C'était correct et vraiment de base! Rien de plus. Mais, je ne m'attendais pas à plus, non plus :) Moi et mon groupe d'amis avions besoin d'un endroit pour dormir à moindre coût! Les chambres étaient propres, mais les salles de bain, un peu moins mettons! Mais pour une nuit, ça allait! Comme c'était la première fois dans ce type d'hébergement, je ne connaissais pas les pratiques! Sinon, le personnel était super courtois, gentil et surtout patient!! Un petit +, une employée parle bien le FR :)

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is normally a university residence so is well set up to work as a hostel. The compact mini-flats have good kitchen and bathroom facilities. I also had great views from my 18th floor room! The downsides: rooms too warm, beds a bit uncomfortable, and lack of wifi in the rooms was a pain. Common area was very quiet and had a weird atmosphere. But this is overall a good place to stay close to the city center, and the bus station. Very secure too - one of most secure hostels I've stayed in.


83%

The overall experience was very good. There was a heatwave when i was there and the room faced the sun. The room was very hot and difficult to sleep. The staff helped by giving a fan which was very generous.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Cliac
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

NW should provide, or maintain an adequate number of fans for guests who are assigned to rooms without an AC unit.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback