X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
413 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

C'était correct et vraiment de base! Rien de plus. Mais, je ne m'attendais pas à plus, non plus :) Moi et mon groupe d'amis avions besoin d'un endroit pour dormir à moindre coût! Les chambres étaient propres, mais les salles de bain, un peu moins mettons! Mais pour une nuit, ça allait! Comme c'était la première fois dans ce type d'hébergement, je ne connaissais pas les pratiques! Sinon, le personnel était super courtois, gentil et surtout patient!! Un petit +, une employée parle bien le FR :)

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This location was very convenient to stay at, the staff was very friendly and I met a lot of nice people. Only thing I didn't like was there was no air conditioner and the small fan wasn't adequate for the hot room.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

no air conditioning,mattresses very bad,noise level unacceptable.fourth stay here but this was the first bad experience.I will never return there

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay to explore Toronto!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I don't recommend to stay here in summer l. there is no fan and air conditioner so it is too humid and hot to stay. I couldn't sleep during I stay here. but the staffs and breakfast are not bad. especially staffs are very friendly.


43%

I was disappointed with the fact the wifi is availabe in lobby or lounge area only The room was too small with no air condition Too hot to sleep.


54%

The shower was dirty, there was a cockroach in the bathroom. The kitchen is not equipped und the dish kit you can get at the front desk is dirty (most of the times).Usually you get a tiny pot und if you're lucky you get a sponge to clean it. You never get a towel tho. The atmosphere in the 'lobby' reminded me of a hospital canteen. No free WiFi in the rooms.


37%

The only good thing about this place is the location, other than that the places is terrible; not clean at all, dark, no activities, and the stuff seems like they dont like their jobs..


86%

+ A personel room named "a dorm" is awesone! (Appartment with kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms, 7-8 bedrooms) Everything is very clean. The roof top view is wow! - The check out time is really early (10:00). A secure baggage room would be appreciated (maybe lock it and send a staff with clients).

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I only stayed here one night but that was long enough. It seemed more like a place people come and stay long term than a hostel, it was a bit strange. There was not a lot of atmosphere and there was only wifi in the cafe and on the top floor of the building. On the plus side, the rooms were quite spacious and the soap, cup and towel on your bed when you arrive is a nice touch.


71%

The white guy with a long hair and the Chinese guy are very helpful. They even recognize my name and call me by my name.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayed during July which is there summer period and as a result our room was very hot all the time as the window was only able to be open a very small amount. There was not even a ceiling fan in the room to try and cool the room down a bit. For budget accomodation it would be much better if the rooms were cooled. On the upside staff were friendly helpful and knowledgable, the free breakfast was good and the place is only let down by the lack of cooling.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Fantastisch zicht vanop dakterras, Super Ontbijt, verchrikkelijke gemeenschappelijke ruimte.


43%

Accept this is not a travelers' hostel, it is a bed in a room with all types of possible room mates and you'll have an ok stay. System requires giving you card details at check in even though you give them when booking through hostelworld. Staff are as motivated as you'd expect in a building as big as this. Breakfast is reasonable but stale. Just hope you've got ok room mates and don't intend to spend any time here and it's reasonable enough.


74%

L auberge aurait pu être vraiment bien si la poussière avait été faite dans la chambre et la salle de bain et si il y avait eu des rideaux à la fenêtre. Dommage. Pour le reste rien à dire, très bien.


66%

I wish you had bigger lockers and that you had access to Wifi from your room for free.


46%

Rooms here should cost $5. So, first off, everything is dirty in this Hostel. The breakfast is small and terrible. Great location, terrible everything else. $6 to get wifi for a day (?!) Employees are unhelpful. (Entering my card information wrong, getting mad at me because it's not going through. ugh.) Obviously should have got a hotel room. I usually like to stay in hostels over hotels, to make friends with other travelers and for the fun of it. This place does not offer a similar experience.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

really good stay, there was breakfast every morning which was nice, my only issue with the breakfast was that if you are gluten intolerant you can't really eat much but despite that the food was still good, the location was perfect for where i needed to be and i barely needed to use the subway or any bussing which was great, they have washer/driers which was a life saver because it ended up raining. my only issue was they wanted me to show them a credit card but i dont carry one on me

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

트윈룸을 선택하였으나 트리플룸으로 예약이 되어있음. deposit 12%를 지불하였으나 커미션 비용이라고 이야기하고 모든 금액을 다 받음.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Something about this place makes me nostalgic. I think it might be the combination of linoleum and quilt covers from the 80s. This place is budget accommodation that covers your basic needs without raising prices to funnel funds into unnecessary renovations. It feels straightforward and simple.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback