X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Neptunes Town Hostel Reviews

New Street, Killarney, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3449 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

A very big and modern hostel located in the centre of Killarney. We stayed just for one night, but it was really nice there. The kitchen is big and the breakfast inclusive. The rooms seemed to be renovated recently and each room has it's own bathroom. We can warmly recommend to stay there!


94%

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Neptunes Town Hostel was conveniently located in the town of Killarney, near many restaurants, pubs, and shops.


100%

Great place to stay in the heart of Killarney. Staff very friendly and informative. Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Weird hostel. We had a private room on the opposite side of the road, it felt like we were staying in an abandoned warehouse or something, the room was very sparse. The ceilings were ridiculously high which looked nice but the heaters were on a timer so we couldn't warm up the room. I wouldn't stay here again because the room was too cold and the bed was hard as a rock! Also, the wifi was only in the common area across the road which was annoying for us.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff are very nice and helpful and the rooms are clean. The only probably was that the bathrooms which often had broken lights, or showers that took a long time to heat up and/or only stayed on for around 10 seconds.


86%

The kitchen here is amazing! The location is even better! There was wifi in my room! The bathroom was a little gross but it was still fine to shower and whatever. This hostel was fun, a good mix of quiet and party and my room made it easy to meet people. I definitely reccomend staying here.


100%

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Mike was particularly great.

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Easy check in, free parking a 5-10 minute walk away. Our allocated room was small and full of lots of people's stuff (no lockers in rooms) and the staff let us change rooms. Only 2 powerpoints for 6 people in room, ridiculous. Large kitchen and dining area. Standard continental free breakfast. Didn't hang around much, went out to pubs. Very close to Tesco. Overall, fine, met our needs for one night


77%

Great staff and service! No wifi in rooms though. Also toilet wobbled when sat on, which was a bit startling. But good location and atmosphere!


71%

The hostel is in a great location, and the staff was friendly. The hostel itself was a bit run down and could use some updating. The room we had was an en suite, and it wasn't all that great. The sheets on the beds were kind of gross, with spots on them. I chose to sleep on top of the blankets. There were no bed bugs, though. The staff offered good facilities, and I really enjoyed the location. It is, at least, a place to stay.

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.


94%

We booked this hostel mere hours before our check in due to our other hostel cancelling on us. The staff was super welcoming and helpful with recommending restaurants and the best way to experience the Gap of Dunloe. We ended up having the room to ourselves which was fantastic. The location is unbeatable;It's right in the middle of town and easy to find from the train station. Literally a five minute walk from the station. The bathrooms weren't the greatest, but they were clean. Highly recommend

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location and facilities. Great staff! We will come back again.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

seemed a little quiet when we were here, but if you're like us, you'll be out in the parks. just off the main street (quiet) but not too far from the action. in room bathrooms, not too bad if you have a quad. a good amount of space but no lockers.


91%

Stayed there 3 times.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great hostel!


89%

We booked a four person room and were lucky enough to get it to ourselves for one night and shared it with someone the second. The room and bathrooms were clean and bright. The kitchen was huge and very functional. Staff were friendly.


66%

Couldn't sleep due to drunk people in the next room shouting all through the night. Should be warned to bring earplugs on account of paper thin walls. Also saw a staff member use the toilet and not wash her hands afterwards. Staff also give the storage room key to anyone without proving they're even staying in the hostel

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was very fortunate for me and my Friend to get a room at the new extension. I was deeply impressed with the spacious room and Modern bathroom. It was something which I don't expect at such a Low price. Furthermore, the hostel is conveniently located in the city. The staff who attended to us at the hostel were warm and friendly as well! The stay was so comfortable that I am already starting to miss Killarney! Thank you Neptunes!

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was very small and not very well arranged. Wifi only in the common area, Kitchen closes at night. Although staff was friendly, the hostel atmosphere was missing.


(109 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback