X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

New Backpackers Reviews

Akbiyik caddesi. No:20/1Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
280 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

perfect place to stay


74%

it was a bit difficult to found it at the beginning, bur once we found it we had no problem at all with the location of this hostel. next to this hostel there's a restaurant that is administered by the same owners of the hostel which is a 24 hr restaurant therefore there is always a staff member if you need anything.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice atmosphere, kind people

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

ARKAN, the person in charge is not so friendly. Not so much security regarding our personal information. For example, the personal information about our names , date of birth, passport number,etc was left on the folder next to the computer. Some one could use this information or misuse this information if it falls in the wrong hands


80%

New Backpackers is located above Silva cafe, and is located a 5-10 min away from the main tourists spots. The neighbourhood is safe and i walked home at 4-5am without any safety concerns. The staff is friendly and will assist with any questions. The atmosphere is more like a hotel vs. hostel, the common hangout area is located within Silva cafe, its relatively loud but the internet works well there. I had a individual room + bathroom + AC. The AC was COLD and appreciated in the hot Istanbul days

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is perfect right in the historical center. We stayed in a 3 person room and I think it is good value for the price. Of course dont expect a 3 stars service but it is good value.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel! Very nice and friendly people. Not big, but very comfortable room with bathroom. I love this place, and in Shiva cafe very good kitchen - very tasty. And fanny showtime!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Note the hostel may be difficult to find at first as it has its ground floor running a bar called Siva Cafe. Loud music can be heard at night, which can be a good or bad thing depending on whether you enjoy it. The location is perfect as it is just a few-minute walk from the 3 major tourist spots - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkali Palace. Staff are welcoming and friendly who sincerely hope you enjoy their place. Room was clean and tidy, especially the bathroom which is well furnished.


100%

Loved staying here. I would've stayed here again but I had already booked so where else to stay for the last two nights before I left Istanbul. Wish I had stayed here again instead. The guys who work there downstairs in the bar/cafe were very helpful and friendly. Showtime!


74%

Great location, but it was hard to find the hostel at the beginning, coz entrance was cafe and there wasnt any sign. staff was nice, rooms was clean so can recommended.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staffs were very friendly and the location was very convenient because it is very near to most of the attraction places.


89%

Very good place to stay in.


89%

Great location, staff is amazing, you get discount in the restaurant and free tea. Overall a very pleasant stay. I definitely would go back!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, smart staff, very good location - near by the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapipalace, Cisterna Basilica; 15 - 20 min walking distance to Galatabridge and New Mosque as well as the Grand Bazaar.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice small hostel in 3 minutes walk from Blue Mosque. Cozy room with all facilities (even hairdryer). Special thanks for very nice owner Ahmet for his welcome and hospitality. The only one small disadvantage is quite frugal breakfast (an egg, few pieces of vegetables and few pieces of cheese). As the hostel is situated on the street full of restaurants , it might be a bit loud at night. To sum up - I'll highly recommend this hostel and definitely will stay there again.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel in the beautiful street which is very close to Aya Sofia. Nice and friendly staff.


80%

We had a lot of good experiences when we were in the hotel, it was one of the most wonderful trip we ever had. Your employees gave me the real best services and genuine care to us, we really appreciated that and we are looking forward to see you again.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Great room, at a great price, especially for a private ensuite. Could maybe have done with a duvet on the double bed for extra warmth in winter. Lovely friendly owner. Great breakfast.


74%

We have stayed there in a private room with my girl friend for a weekend. Good location, clean room with TV and air conditioning but main negative thing is there is no sound isolation. You will hear every single step outside your room, and what is worse is you will hear the restaurants' noise all the night. Breakfast is not open buffet and you do not feel like it is a hostel, well maybe they even do not have a license, because as far as I know there has to be a reception for a hostel.


77%

great location. clean & cozy.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(200 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback