X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

New Backpackers Reviews

Akbiyik caddesi. No:20/1Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

住宿的地方连个牌子都没有,找了老半天。楼下的餐厅和酒吧晚上特别吵闹,睡不好,早饭特别简单,如果饭量稍大的人肯定吃不饱饱,位置倒是不错,离蓝色清真寺了大教堂,老皇宫特别近,就在它们后面一条街,但相比附近几条街的家庭式酒店,差很远。刚入住第二天老板就要求我们付全部房费,我们要住四天呢,不知道是什么道理。下次不会选择这个酒店了。

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente ubicación en el centro de la ciudad, muy limpio, te dan desayuno (básico pero muy bueno), muy recomendado. Lo único malo es que no llega el wifi a las habitaciónes. Esta en una calle ruidosa así que para algunos puede ser un problema al dormir. La ciudad es preciosa.


74%

Nice atmosphere, kind people

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

ARKAN, the person in charge is not so friendly. Not so much security regarding our personal information. For example, the personal information about our names , date of birth, passport number,etc was left on the folder next to the computer. Some one could use this information or misuse this information if it falls in the wrong hands


80%

New Backpackers is located above Silva cafe, and is located a 5-10 min away from the main tourists spots. The neighbourhood is safe and i walked home at 4-5am without any safety concerns. The staff is friendly and will assist with any questions. The atmosphere is more like a hotel vs. hostel, the common hangout area is located within Silva cafe, its relatively loud but the internet works well there. I had a individual room + bathroom + AC. The AC was COLD and appreciated in the hot Istanbul days

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is perfect right in the historical center. We stayed in a 3 person room and I think it is good value for the price. Of course dont expect a 3 stars service but it is good value.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel! Very nice and friendly people. Not big, but very comfortable room with bathroom. I love this place, and in Shiva cafe very good kitchen - very tasty. And fanny showtime!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Gostei muito do Hostel New Backpackers. Suas acomodações são muito boas, ambiente agradável e funcionários muito gentis. O Hostel fica muito bem localizado, de modo que você pode chegar em menos de 5 minutos a pé nas principais atrações turísticas de Istambul e em uma região que há vários restaurantes e pubs. Recomendo e da próxima vez que for a Istambul com certeza me hospedarei lá.


89%

Note the hostel may be difficult to find at first as it has its ground floor running a bar called Siva Cafe. Loud music can be heard at night, which can be a good or bad thing depending on whether you enjoy it. The location is perfect as it is just a few-minute walk from the 3 major tourist spots - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkali Palace. Staff are welcoming and friendly who sincerely hope you enjoy their place. Room was clean and tidy, especially the bathroom which is well furnished.


77%

Ostello molto carino, posizionato a due passi dalla Moschea Blu e da Santa Sofia! Camera doppia a un buon prezzo, pulita e carina..consigliato!


100%

Loved staying here. I would've stayed here again but I had already booked so where else to stay for the last two nights before I left Istanbul. Wish I had stayed here again instead. The guys who work there downstairs in the bar/cafe were very helpful and friendly. Showtime!


74%

Great location, but it was hard to find the hostel at the beginning, coz entrance was cafe and there wasnt any sign. staff was nice, rooms was clean so can recommended.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staffs were very friendly and the location was very convenient because it is very near to most of the attraction places.


89%

Very good place to stay in.


89%

Great location, staff is amazing, you get discount in the restaurant and free tea. Overall a very pleasant stay. I definitely would go back!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Nous avons séjourné dans le dortoir du sous-sol. Très mal isolé autant au niveau de la température que du bruit. Nous partagions la piece avec les serveurs qui venaient se reposer après avoir fini leur service. Seule avec mon compagnon, je ne me suis pas vraiment sentie à l'aise. L'endroit est parfait pour une bande de copains/copines qui viennent à Istanbul pour faire la fête, impossible de dormir avant 4h du matin, la rue devient une discothèque à ciel ouvert. Mais le staff est chaleureux.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, smart staff, very good location - near by the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapipalace, Cisterna Basilica; 15 - 20 min walking distance to Galatabridge and New Mosque as well as the Grand Bazaar.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice small hostel in 3 minutes walk from Blue Mosque. Cozy room with all facilities (even hairdryer). Special thanks for very nice owner Ahmet for his welcome and hospitality. The only one small disadvantage is quite frugal breakfast (an egg, few pieces of vegetables and few pieces of cheese). As the hostel is situated on the street full of restaurants , it might be a bit loud at night. To sum up - I'll highly recommend this hostel and definitely will stay there again.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

wir waren sehr herzlich aufgenommen während unseren Aufenthalt . Das Personal hat uns jeden Wunsch von den Augen abgelesen. Die Küche vom Siva Cafe was zum Hostel dazu gehört ist TOP!!!!! Wir haben bereits Flüge für Istanbul 2015 gebucht und werden sobald buchbar das Hostel Backpackers reservieren. Grüsse an BACKPACKERS TEAM aus Germany

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel in the beautiful street which is very close to Aya Sofia. Nice and friendly staff.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback