X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New Backpackers Reviews

Akbiyik caddesi. No:20/1Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
304 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

l'ostello è in una posizione ottima, in cinque minuti a piedi si raggiunge la moschea blu, vicinissimo alla fermata del tram. carino e accogliente, il personale parla inglese, e per 10 ero a notte avere una camera privata con bagno privato e prima colazione..è un lusso!!

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Materassi con molle che perforano tutto il corpo. Lenzuoli usati o poco puliti.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Not a place to meet people but good location, very comfortable rooms! The street can be loud at night but if you can sleep through some noise it shouldn't be a problem.


86%

We were 6 South African girls staying in the New Backpackers a few weeks ago - we had a lovely time and found everything excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Yusef is the heart and soul of this vibrant hostel and restaurant and were always welcoming us so friendly when we were out. Whenever we had a problem, he was always there to quickly sort it out for us. Their food is excellent and it was nice to stay in the centre of the vibe.


77%

La ubiacacion es buenísima xq estas cerca de todo y queda en una calle llena de restoranes. La primera noche que llegamos nos mandaron a un cuarto horrible en el apartamento de la lado que era horrible, no tenía no ducha. Eso fue horrible pero al otro día nos cambiaron a los cuartos del hotel y estaban mejores. Nada muy impresionante pero bien. Los empleados son bien, el dueño es medio raro.


60%

Bring your earplugs this area is LOUD!!! I would recommend staying a few blocks in any directions from this hotel. This location is TOO noisy. There is club music from several establishments until 2-3am every night. The hotel itself is actually pretty quiet, but just in a really noisy area. The people that run this place are sort of strange and not overly friendly. Price was good, but you'll want a good night's sleep after seeing the sights in Istanbul.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We were a group of 6 women 30+ to 50+.The staff mostly pleasant and obliging. I must mention Jusef ,especially. He MADE my stay , was respectful , kind ,thoughtful , ALWAYS pleasant . More attention paid to "housekeeping " .Not necessary to ask for toilet paper when you book into room for first time . I know it is a backpackers but a gradual update on the curtaining , bedlinen ,provision of blankets would be a +.Hakan most helpful with organising transport and the local haman.


66%

The hostel is at walking distance from Topkapi, Agia Sophia, Blue Mosque and so on. It's located on a very noisy street so keep that in mind if you're planning to go to bed before 2AM. The room was small but clean. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful.


100%

Hostel is great. Our room was clean and big. The location is excellent, you are located only a few minutes of walk from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Cistern Basilica. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Down stairs is a great restaurant wih excellent food. I would stay here again.


86%

the hostel is in a really good location, five minutes walking to the blue mosque and well connected to reach every area of Istanbul. Clean, kind and friendly staff, helpful and nice people. It's perfect to spend one week in a great city like Istanbul

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was OK. The dormitory (in the basement) was actually quieter than I expected despite the variety of music happening at street level. The shower was good but it wasn't kept very clean. The Wifi signal was poor most of the time - I understand this is common. Overall I had a pleasant stay but not exceptional. I guess you get what you pay for.


89%

A brilliant little hostel with extremely friendly staff, delicious food and an amazing location. We stayed for four nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I absolutely recommend this hostel for its excellent location, friendly staff, good food and lively atmosphere, but I suggest to bring the bedsheets (and maybe even the towels) from home because ours, though they clearly had been washed, had permanent stains.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Friendly staff and good location. Free breakfast was nice. They didn't answer my e-mail-request for a airport transfer so I had to phone them to confirm. The dorm downstairs smelled like cave and was quite humid.


86%

The breakfast was a bit small, and the room directly above the bar is loud at night, but has WiFi. The staff are friendly, and the room was well furnished. Good value for your money.


77%

The location is brilliant, easy walking distance to most attractions and transport links. Staff are friendly and helpful but owner of attached cafe really pressures you to eat or drink there every time you arrive/get back. Wifi works in restaurant but not at all in rooms. There is no kitchen and no common area other than the restaurant. Easy to find but look for siva cafe as no backpackers sign. Don't pay 25 euro for a airport transfer either places nearby have them for 4 or 5 euro.


80%

L'ostello era in pieno centro (sultanhamet) a due passi dal topkapi e dalla moschea blu, ma la via è piuttosto rumorosa, soprattutto di notte! Il personale è comunque molto disponibile, e il ristorante (che è anche l'ingresso dell'ostello) è buonissimo! La camera che ci è capitata era decisamente spartana, ma va bene se si gira tutto il giorno e si usa letteralmente solo per dormire.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect place to stay


74%

it was a bit difficult to found it at the beginning, bur once we found it we had no problem at all with the location of this hostel. next to this hostel there's a restaurant that is administered by the same owners of the hostel which is a 24 hr restaurant therefore there is always a staff member if you need anything.


69%

住宿的地方连个牌子都没有,找了老半天。楼下的餐厅和酒吧晚上特别吵闹,睡不好,早饭特别简单,如果饭量稍大的人肯定吃不饱饱,位置倒是不错,离蓝色清真寺了大教堂,老皇宫特别近,就在它们后面一条街,但相比附近几条街的家庭式酒店,差很远。刚入住第二天老板就要求我们付全部房费,我们要住四天呢,不知道是什么道理。下次不会选择这个酒店了。

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback