X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New Backpackers Reviews

Akbiyik caddesi. No:20/1Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
292 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Hostel is great. Our room was clean and big. The location is excellent, you are located only a few minutes of walk from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Cistern Basilica. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Down stairs is a great restaurant wih excellent food. I would stay here again.


86%

the hostel is in a really good location, five minutes walking to the blue mosque and well connected to reach every area of Istanbul. Clean, kind and friendly staff, helpful and nice people. It's perfect to spend one week in a great city like Istanbul

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was OK. The dormitory (in the basement) was actually quieter than I expected despite the variety of music happening at street level. The shower was good but it wasn't kept very clean. The Wifi signal was poor most of the time - I understand this is common. Overall I had a pleasant stay but not exceptional. I guess you get what you pay for.


89%

A brilliant little hostel with extremely friendly staff, delicious food and an amazing location. We stayed for four nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I absolutely recommend this hostel for its excellent location, friendly staff, good food and lively atmosphere, but I suggest to bring the bedsheets (and maybe even the towels) from home because ours, though they clearly had been washed, had permanent stains.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Friendly staff and good location. Free breakfast was nice. They didn't answer my e-mail-request for a airport transfer so I had to phone them to confirm. The dorm downstairs smelled like cave and was quite humid.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The breakfast was a bit small, and the room directly above the bar is loud at night, but has WiFi. The staff are friendly, and the room was well furnished. Good value for your money.


77%

The location is brilliant, easy walking distance to most attractions and transport links. Staff are friendly and helpful but owner of attached cafe really pressures you to eat or drink there every time you arrive/get back. Wifi works in restaurant but not at all in rooms. There is no kitchen and no common area other than the restaurant. Easy to find but look for siva cafe as no backpackers sign. Don't pay 25 euro for a airport transfer either places nearby have them for 4 or 5 euro.


80%

L'ostello era in pieno centro (sultanhamet) a due passi dal topkapi e dalla moschea blu, ma la via è piuttosto rumorosa, soprattutto di notte! Il personale è comunque molto disponibile, e il ristorante (che è anche l'ingresso dell'ostello) è buonissimo! La camera che ci è capitata era decisamente spartana, ma va bene se si gira tutto il giorno e si usa letteralmente solo per dormire.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect place to stay


74%

it was a bit difficult to found it at the beginning, bur once we found it we had no problem at all with the location of this hostel. next to this hostel there's a restaurant that is administered by the same owners of the hostel which is a 24 hr restaurant therefore there is always a staff member if you need anything.


69%

住宿的地方连个牌子都没有,找了老半天。楼下的餐厅和酒吧晚上特别吵闹,睡不好,早饭特别简单,如果饭量稍大的人肯定吃不饱饱,位置倒是不错,离蓝色清真寺了大教堂,老皇宫特别近,就在它们后面一条街,但相比附近几条街的家庭式酒店,差很远。刚入住第二天老板就要求我们付全部房费,我们要住四天呢,不知道是什么道理。下次不会选择这个酒店了。

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente ubicación en el centro de la ciudad, muy limpio, te dan desayuno (básico pero muy bueno), muy recomendado. Lo único malo es que no llega el wifi a las habitaciónes. Esta en una calle ruidosa así que para algunos puede ser un problema al dormir. La ciudad es preciosa.


74%

Nice atmosphere, kind people

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

ARKAN, the person in charge is not so friendly. Not so much security regarding our personal information. For example, the personal information about our names , date of birth, passport number,etc was left on the folder next to the computer. Some one could use this information or misuse this information if it falls in the wrong hands


80%

New Backpackers is located above Silva cafe, and is located a 5-10 min away from the main tourists spots. The neighbourhood is safe and i walked home at 4-5am without any safety concerns. The staff is friendly and will assist with any questions. The atmosphere is more like a hotel vs. hostel, the common hangout area is located within Silva cafe, its relatively loud but the internet works well there. I had a individual room + bathroom + AC. The AC was COLD and appreciated in the hot Istanbul days

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is perfect right in the historical center. We stayed in a 3 person room and I think it is good value for the price. Of course dont expect a 3 stars service but it is good value.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel! Very nice and friendly people. Not big, but very comfortable room with bathroom. I love this place, and in Shiva cafe very good kitchen - very tasty. And fanny showtime!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Gostei muito do Hostel New Backpackers. Suas acomodações são muito boas, ambiente agradável e funcionários muito gentis. O Hostel fica muito bem localizado, de modo que você pode chegar em menos de 5 minutos a pé nas principais atrações turísticas de Istambul e em uma região que há vários restaurantes e pubs. Recomendo e da próxima vez que for a Istambul com certeza me hospedarei lá.


89%

Note the hostel may be difficult to find at first as it has its ground floor running a bar called Siva Cafe. Loud music can be heard at night, which can be a good or bad thing depending on whether you enjoy it. The location is perfect as it is just a few-minute walk from the 3 major tourist spots - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkali Palace. Staff are welcoming and friendly who sincerely hope you enjoy their place. Room was clean and tidy, especially the bathroom which is well furnished.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback