X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

New Backpackers Reviews

Akbiyik caddesi. No:20/1Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
283 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The location is brilliant, easy walking distance to most attractions and transport links. Staff are friendly and helpful but owner of attached cafe really pressures you to eat or drink there every time you arrive/get back. Wifi works in restaurant but not at all in rooms. There is no kitchen and no common area other than the restaurant. Easy to find but look for siva cafe as no backpackers sign. Don't pay 25 euro for a airport transfer either places nearby have them for 4 or 5 euro.


80%

L'ostello era in pieno centro (sultanhamet) a due passi dal topkapi e dalla moschea blu, ma la via è piuttosto rumorosa, soprattutto di notte! Il personale è comunque molto disponibile, e il ristorante (che è anche l'ingresso dell'ostello) è buonissimo! La camera che ci è capitata era decisamente spartana, ma va bene se si gira tutto il giorno e si usa letteralmente solo per dormire.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect place to stay


74%

it was a bit difficult to found it at the beginning, bur once we found it we had no problem at all with the location of this hostel. next to this hostel there's a restaurant that is administered by the same owners of the hostel which is a 24 hr restaurant therefore there is always a staff member if you need anything.


69%

住宿的地方连个牌子都没有,找了老半天。楼下的餐厅和酒吧晚上特别吵闹,睡不好,早饭特别简单,如果饭量稍大的人肯定吃不饱饱,位置倒是不错,离蓝色清真寺了大教堂,老皇宫特别近,就在它们后面一条街,但相比附近几条街的家庭式酒店,差很远。刚入住第二天老板就要求我们付全部房费,我们要住四天呢,不知道是什么道理。下次不会选择这个酒店了。

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente ubicación en el centro de la ciudad, muy limpio, te dan desayuno (básico pero muy bueno), muy recomendado. Lo único malo es que no llega el wifi a las habitaciónes. Esta en una calle ruidosa así que para algunos puede ser un problema al dormir. La ciudad es preciosa.


74%

Nice atmosphere, kind people

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

ARKAN, the person in charge is not so friendly. Not so much security regarding our personal information. For example, the personal information about our names , date of birth, passport number,etc was left on the folder next to the computer. Some one could use this information or misuse this information if it falls in the wrong hands


80%

New Backpackers is located above Silva cafe, and is located a 5-10 min away from the main tourists spots. The neighbourhood is safe and i walked home at 4-5am without any safety concerns. The staff is friendly and will assist with any questions. The atmosphere is more like a hotel vs. hostel, the common hangout area is located within Silva cafe, its relatively loud but the internet works well there. I had a individual room + bathroom + AC. The AC was COLD and appreciated in the hot Istanbul days

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is perfect right in the historical center. We stayed in a 3 person room and I think it is good value for the price. Of course dont expect a 3 stars service but it is good value.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel! Very nice and friendly people. Not big, but very comfortable room with bathroom. I love this place, and in Shiva cafe very good kitchen - very tasty. And fanny showtime!

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Gostei muito do Hostel New Backpackers. Suas acomodações são muito boas, ambiente agradável e funcionários muito gentis. O Hostel fica muito bem localizado, de modo que você pode chegar em menos de 5 minutos a pé nas principais atrações turísticas de Istambul e em uma região que há vários restaurantes e pubs. Recomendo e da próxima vez que for a Istambul com certeza me hospedarei lá.


89%

Note the hostel may be difficult to find at first as it has its ground floor running a bar called Siva Cafe. Loud music can be heard at night, which can be a good or bad thing depending on whether you enjoy it. The location is perfect as it is just a few-minute walk from the 3 major tourist spots - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkali Palace. Staff are welcoming and friendly who sincerely hope you enjoy their place. Room was clean and tidy, especially the bathroom which is well furnished.


77%

Ostello molto carino, posizionato a due passi dalla Moschea Blu e da Santa Sofia! Camera doppia a un buon prezzo, pulita e carina..consigliato!


100%

Loved staying here. I would've stayed here again but I had already booked so where else to stay for the last two nights before I left Istanbul. Wish I had stayed here again instead. The guys who work there downstairs in the bar/cafe were very helpful and friendly. Showtime!


74%

Great location, but it was hard to find the hostel at the beginning, coz entrance was cafe and there wasnt any sign. staff was nice, rooms was clean so can recommended.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staffs were very friendly and the location was very convenient because it is very near to most of the attraction places.


89%

Very good place to stay in.


89%

Great location, staff is amazing, you get discount in the restaurant and free tea. Overall a very pleasant stay. I definitely would go back!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Nous avons séjourné dans le dortoir du sous-sol. Très mal isolé autant au niveau de la température que du bruit. Nous partagions la piece avec les serveurs qui venaient se reposer après avoir fini leur service. Seule avec mon compagnon, je ne me suis pas vraiment sentie à l'aise. L'endroit est parfait pour une bande de copains/copines qui viennent à Istanbul pour faire la fête, impossible de dormir avant 4h du matin, la rue devient une discothèque à ciel ouvert. Mais le staff est chaleureux.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback