X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

New Mansion House Reviews

38-40 Lancaster Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
180 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Wifi doesnt work on the 4th floor, no plugs near the beds


71%

Good sides: great dinner and breakfast! Cooked meals, plenty to eat! Loved it! Rooms aren't small (at least ours wasn't). Plenty of showers and toilets available. Location is the best thing, everything is near! Bad sides: no wifi on second floor, only cable internet (not really useful if you have your phone and have to plan for tomorrow). No common room or other facilities where you can socialise.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

I would not recomend to stay at this hostel, might be a few pounds cheaper but I wouldn´t stay there for free. Dirty and messy rooms, not enough bed linnen, dirty toilets and showers, poor breakfast in dirty cellar facility. The staff tried to make it positive, but the only positive would have been to get our money back! Not even the room for two is good...I´ve travelled a lot, and this is by far the worst hostel I´ve ever been to. Not recommended!


94%

Very friendly staff

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

A really pleasant stay with simple facilities and nice people. Breakfast and dinner is included (Dinner around 7pm). Free coffee/tea during meals. Dinner was good and the staff who served were always friendly. Breakfast consisted of two slices of toasted bread and a small bowl of cereal. Very close to buses, metros and to bycicles. Close to Hyde park which is a large and nice park to relax or excercise, whatever you prefer. There is no elevator, and the hygiene is "so-so". But overall good :)

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is really friendly and the hostel is situated in a good location (next to hyde park and metro station). The room was clean. This is the only hostel I've been which serves both breakfast and dinner. There is a lot of bathrooms and the WiFi still worked within the 3rd floor. Good price!


63%

I'd like to hire a towel but it wasn't possible and there's not a secure place to leave the baggage. The room and the meals are good.


91%

I was only there for one night but it was in the perfect location to walk to oxford street for my student conference. The shower was quite dirty so I didn't use it.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Spacious rooms, sufficient bathrooms, clean and organized. The dinner was very good, the staff is helpful. I missed the wifi from the rooms and a living room where people can socialize and drink a cup of tea. Still very much recommended.


100%

Great Hostel. Staff are really lovely. Ensuite in the room and plenty or wardrobe and drawers, and a kettle, there were plenty of plugs including high up plugs which was handy to use for people in the top bunks. Breakfast and Dinner were included which was a really great bonus. The breakfast was a choice of 3 cereals, toast, jam and coffee, dinner was always something different for main course with veggie options and soup to start. Great location near tube and short walk to Oxford Street.


74%

It is a good hostel. Close to two metro stations and is included breakfast and lunch. This makes it a good money for those looking to save money on travel. However, a bit difficult to track down and cleaning is not good.


46%

The staff was incredibly distinterested and not at all welcoming, and had absolutely no recommendations on things to do in the area. The rooms were drab, depressing, and cramped. The mattresses and pillows were filthy. I wouldn't ever stay there again.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Food served in the morning and evening was excellent for the price. Though the overall conditions of the hostel not good at all, old destroyed furniture, dirty torn curtains and paint falling from the walls and things. Also I have been staying on the high 4th floor which is hard to go up and down more than once a day.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It's really one of the nicest parts of London, right near Kensington gardens in what was obviously once a hotel. They provide you breakfast and dinner, although I'd leave too early in the morning to take advantage. The room was good with storage for clothes and a basin, not too many beds, showers ok. Check out was before 8 and reception wasn't open so I had to wake the night porter who was a deep sleeper. Overall, I liked the place. Not a place to party, just a comfortable, quiet rest in central


89%

The staff were particularly friendly

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Bright comfy rooms. Always clean during my stay. Nice dinners include. Could do with a lift third and fourth floors tough with luggage.


83%

Great place but limited social opportunities (no organised pub crawl, etc).

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good atmosphere, clean room, had the chance to have a friendly roomate. I was only there for a night, it was all fine. Only went to the breakfast, it was very basic (corn flakes, 2 toasts with jam). Very nice atmosphere in the building. You need a special key to open the front door, so not everyone can come in the hostel. No lift, I was at the 3rd floor and nearly dropped dead at the end! + They should indicate how to use the showers.... But I would definitely recommand.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a great hostel. Upon arrival we were informed that full lunch and breakfast was included. Great if you're a money-conscious traveller! Our room was clean and had heaps of floor space so didn't feel at all cramped. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.


1 2 Next » last »
(39 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback