Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New Mansion House Reviews

38-40 Lancaster Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained


189 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


30 pounds for the key deposit WTF !?!?! apart from that is a average hostel. Dinner quite good but breakfast very poor. There's also a lot of people living there permanently and they are very unfriendly. I was with a group of friend so I didn't mind but I you want to go alone and meet people there this is not the place. Also there's no wifi in the rooms!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments.Please be aware that you have a choice as key deposit: ID, passport, driving licence or £30. Many people have no problem with this, and we always make sure to return it on departure. There is wifi in the common rooms (reception, dining room, study room and laundry) and a cable connection in the room, soon there will be wifi in the whole building. We do have 2 different prices depending on the lentgh of stay, I think it is a good sign if people choose to stay longer.


An excellent value hostel for the location and the meals that are included in with the price. You could quite easily pay a lot more and get much less for your money in London. The only suggestion that could improve the Hostel would be to have Hand-drying facilities in toilets and better ventilation in dorms as it was too hot to sleep. Other than this, I would highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your comments. We will certainly consider your suggestions regarding hand drying facilities and ventilation issues in our dorms, specially during summer time. Regards,


I was content with my room. Thanks to the staff, particularly the Hungarian guys.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Wifi doesnt work on the 4th floor, no plugs near the beds


Good sides: great dinner and breakfast! Cooked meals, plenty to eat! Loved it! Rooms aren't small (at least ours wasn't). Plenty of showers and toilets available. Location is the best thing, everything is near! Bad sides: no wifi on second floor, only cable internet (not really useful if you have your phone and have to plan for tomorrow). No common room or other facilities where you can socialise.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I would not recomend to stay at this hostel, might be a few pounds cheaper but I wouldn´t stay there for free. Dirty and messy rooms, not enough bed linnen, dirty toilets and showers, poor breakfast in dirty cellar facility. The staff tried to make it positive, but the only positive would have been to get our money back! Not even the room for two is good...I´ve travelled a lot, and this is by far the worst hostel I´ve ever been to. Not recommended!


Very friendly staff

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


A really pleasant stay with simple facilities and nice people. Breakfast and dinner is included (Dinner around 7pm). Free coffee/tea during meals. Dinner was good and the staff who served were always friendly. Breakfast consisted of two slices of toasted bread and a small bowl of cereal. Very close to buses, metros and to bycicles. Close to Hyde park which is a large and nice park to relax or excercise, whatever you prefer. There is no elevator, and the hygiene is "so-so". But overall good :)

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The staff is really friendly and the hostel is situated in a good location (next to hyde park and metro station). The room was clean. This is the only hostel I've been which serves both breakfast and dinner. There is a lot of bathrooms and the WiFi still worked within the 3rd floor. Good price!


I'd like to hire a towel but it wasn't possible and there's not a secure place to leave the baggage. The room and the meals are good.


I was only there for one night but it was in the perfect location to walk to oxford street for my student conference. The shower was quite dirty so I didn't use it.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Spacious rooms, sufficient bathrooms, clean and organized. The dinner was very good, the staff is helpful. I missed the wifi from the rooms and a living room where people can socialize and drink a cup of tea. Still very much recommended.


Great Hostel. Staff are really lovely. Ensuite in the room and plenty or wardrobe and drawers, and a kettle, there were plenty of plugs including high up plugs which was handy to use for people in the top bunks. Breakfast and Dinner were included which was a really great bonus. The breakfast was a choice of 3 cereals, toast, jam and coffee, dinner was always something different for main course with veggie options and soup to start. Great location near tube and short walk to Oxford Street.

1 2 Next » last »
(33 results)

View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback