Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Road Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 5.8
New Road Guest House Located at 1216/1 Charoen Krung between soi 34 and 36, , Bangkok.
New Road Guest House
Thailand
Bangkok 10500 1216/1 Charoen Krung between soi 34 and 36
72% 731
13.7257007 100.5160295
New Road Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Sep 2016
9.1

The bunk beds in the two-bed private room I stayed in were noisy. The mattresses were comfortable, but the metal frame of the bunks has just a few bars going across. So to support the mattress there is a metal sheet between the frame and mattress. However, it is so thin that if you put some of your weight on the mattress in between the beams, it buckles and makes a very loud sound. Adjusting position while sleeping is enough to make the whole bunk bed structure move and bend the metal sheet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Eleanor, thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our little place. We are thrilled to see your 10/10 rating for almost all factors - Value for Money, Location, Security, Staff, Atmosphere and Cleanliness. Thank you! We have rooms in all price brackets that suits any traveller's needs. From the very cheap BASIC bunk bed rooms and dorms to private rooms with either fan or aircon. You stayed in our very BASIC room, and you are right that the bunk beds here are, well, basic. For this reason we also sell it for a very cheap price from THB 160 - a bargain in Bangkok. However, we regret that the bed did not live up to your expectations, and we are currently contemplating how we can improve. IN all, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, and we hope to welcome you again. Best, Team New Road Guest House Berit

  • maryjoellison6052
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
3.7

We booked this hostel after reading what ammenities it had as I hurt my leg on our trip and had to walk using crutches. The overview pointed out that buiding work was going on (which is fine), also said there was an elevator - there was not! I struggled up 4 flights of stairs on crutches with my backpack with no help from staff. Room was awful; a prison cell. Metal sheets beneath matress which creaked everytime we moved. Terrible location. No atmosphere. Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We always welcome constructive feedback as it helps us improve. Based on the ratings you have given, we note that you found our place good values for money, and found our cleanliness above average. This said, we are though very sorry that you feel our place did not live up to your expectations. We normally receive great praise for our helpful staff, but in your case, they did not live up to either yours or ours expectations. For this, we are truly sorry, and we will together with our staff look into how we can change this. Our policy and values are to meet and preferably exceed travellers' expectations. This includes helping travellers with luggage, regardless if they are on crutches or not. We have taken this up internally, and will strive to secure this doesn't happen again. Being on crutches we see why an elevator would be of great help to you. We do in fact have an elevator, but we also have 2 buildings. Unfortunately, we only have 2 of the basic rooms you booked, and they are in the building without an elevator. For this we are sorry, and we will strive to make this clear on our websites and external sites. Thank you for pointing it out. The room you booked is our basic room. It is a fan room with a bunk bed, no windows and with shared bathroom. The standard of the room is also why it is so extremely cheap of 160 THB for 1 person or 320 THB for 2 persons in a private room. We are sorry that this was not what you expected. We strive to communicate this very clearly across channels and we, by no means, strive to oversell it. Unfortunately, Hostelworld's setup doesn't allow us to clarify further than the text you see when you hover over the room type. We will, however, contemplate if there's anything we can do to clarify further. For the location, we are located at Charoen Krung Road along the Chao Phraya River, right in the upcoming creative district. We are just south of Chinatown and have the main train station just up the road, and BTS sky train station and river boats within 10-15 mins walk. Silom road is just around the corner with sky bars, restaurants and entertainment. In all, we are quite happy with our location, but we are sorry that this is not what you were looking for. Lastly, you are right that you stayed with us while we refurbished, and you are also right that this was stated on Hostelworld. Though we strived to have a minimal impact on our travellers, it had the inevitable side effect that during the day time, travellers didn't hang out at our hostel's common areas as normal. You will, however. see that we have just finished the refurbishment, and all of our hangout areas including lobby, terrace, cafe/restaurant etc., is new and fresh. Pictures will be up soon! In all, we regret that we did not live up to your expectations, and am sorry that it is too late to change this. However, we hope you had a good onwards journey and had a good time in Bangkok. Team New Road Guest House - Berit

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.6

Room not like the pictures

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for taking your time to review our property - we are grateful for all constructive feedback that can help us improve! Based on the ratings you have given, we note that you find all above average and that you were very satisfied with security and staff. Naturally, this makes us happy, and we will share with them. We are though sad to hear that you didn't find the room pictures as expected. Unfortunately, Hostelworld's system doesn't allow us to specify on pictures which room type it is. This we will talk to Hostelworld to see, how we can get around, and hopefully improve. In all, we hope you enjoyed your stay, and had a good time in Bangkok. All the best, Team New Road Guest House - Berit

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
5.1

Noisy really noisy I had booked 5nighs but I just stayed one night because i cannot sleep well there Someone was talking and making noise outside at the midnight when I was really tired and wanna a good sleep And the toilet bowl was bad and no one fix it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our place. Though we are sorry to read your words, we are very happy that you have ranked our location and our staff high. We are very proud of both, and praise will be shared with our staff. For the noise, we are very sorry that you had this experience. You stayed in our basic fan rooms, which has shared bathrooms on the hallways and are just across from our female dorm. For this reason, people do go in and out, and it can be noisy at times. This said, it should of course be possible for everyone to sleep, and we are truly sorry that this was not the case for you. You are always welcome to come to our 24 hour reception if you have problems when staying with us, and we wil be happy to fix it. As for the toilets, we are grateful for your feedback and are happy to say that it has now been fixed. We are sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused you. In all, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, though it wasn't with us during all nights. Best regards, Team New Road Guest House - Berit

24th Jul 2016
6.0

Excellent location (right by ferry, near train station, plenty of restaurants around). Bit concerned that our room was left opened midway through the day despite locking it up in the morning (although nothing was taken!). Staff seemed friendly though not terribly helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

Very good hostel for the price, crashed there for a night after a late flight. No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, A big thank you for your kind words and for taking your time to review our property. Based on your ratings we see that you were greatly happy with the value for money and staff - but also with the security, the cleanliness and the facilities. We hope you had a safe onwards flight, and that we will see you in Bangkok again! Happy Travels! Team New Road Guest House - Berit

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.3

Located slightly out of the way but the hostel is clean and secure and I would book again. Probably the closest place within walking distance is the patpong night market (red light district). It is one straight road which takes around 20 mins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
2.0

We arrived down an alleyway in the ass end of nowhere, went in gave my name, the lady asked me to look for my name on a sheet of paper, I wasn't on there, we then waited for about 15 minutes as she said something about a double booking, she gave us a key to the room, we walked up the stairs to the dreary horror film looking hallway, pushed open our door as it didn't even shut, to a box room that was filthy and mouldy with a small fan in the corner, we turned around and walked straight back out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

This was a little out of the way but close enough to public transport to not be an issue. The staff were really helpful and the 'Beyond Asia' desk was excellent. We had a private room so the security was just us locking the door. Would have been better with lockers. It was a perfectly good place for a few nights but no longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.0

We had a great view

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.