Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Road Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.5
New Road Guest House Located at 1216/1 Charoen Krung between soi 34 and 36, , Bangkok.
New Road Guest House
Thailand
Bangkok 10500 1216/1 Charoen Krung between soi 34 and 36
74% 751
13.7257821 100.5159466
New Road Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.3

Not a great place to stay. The main building is nice and done up really well. Then you are taken to a side building where the dorms are. It's all very secure but the rooms are disgusting! The bunk beds sound like they are about to fall down and no safety rail on the top bunk. No locker for your backpack. Only a small one which you could probably for a pair of shoes in. The staff were really nice but dorks definitely need to be modernised. Expensive breakfast. I wouldn't recommend staying here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for reviewing our Guesthouse on Hostelworld, we're sorry that your room was not at your convenience. We hope to see you again in our Guesthouse and for your future stay we want to suggest you to go for a backpackit double room which have been renovated and maybe suits more to your expectation. For any information, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Mr Julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.7

First of all I stayed there on and off for 2 weeks as I went to Vietnam / Phuket. The ladyboy on reception was the nicest girl there. Always smiley and couldn't help you enough! Such a sweet person and the guesthouse is lucky to have her. . All other staff members couldn't do enough for you. Borrowed me lighters and girl with braces gave me her adapater. Rooms were clean, good facilities. location was tad far from centre but close to shops/street food. Very pleased will def return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thamk you for your very good reviews on Hostelworld and we hope that you have a pleasant stay with us. Do not hesitate to contact us for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont, Front Office Supervisor.

16th Nov 2016
8.3

Great location close to tons of street food. Great value for the money. I stayed in a private room and it had clean bathroom and the AC worked very well. The travel desk downstairs was helpful with questions. Only downsides were expensive breakfast and the Wifi was slow. I would stay here again because the prices are very good for what you get!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, All the team would like to thank you for your very good review on Hostelworld. We are happy that you enjoyed our room and facilities and we hope to welcome you again for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor

4th Nov 2016
9.7

Although not included, there is a great breakfast buffet. and they offer baggage storage up to 3 months. Though I don't know if they charge extra or not. The beds in the dorm can make lots of noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • berit_bonde7468
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to start your journey in Bangkok/Thailand with travel guides to answer all of my questions. Love the location in the old and local area of Bangkok, with cool small hangouts around each corner. Friendly staff, comfortable common areas, and a great place to meet other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, All the team wants to thank you for your very good review on Hostelworld and we're very happy that you enjoyed our room and facilities. We will be very happy to welcome you again for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont, Front Office Supervisor

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
7.4

Not the place to stay if your a first time traveller and alone. It was graveyard quiet and really far away from everything like khoa San. Staff were lovely and room was very clean but the location was not great for me as a lone traveller in October.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to review our little place - we are very happy that you rated our service, staff, and cleanliness 10/10 - and that you in general found our staff lovely and the room clean. As part of our service, we have Travel Advisors on location. Where you as a traveller can offload all of your questions, get inspiration for your onwards travels, and where help is always at hand. We hope this helped you being a first-time traveller. Our hostel is located along the river in the older part of Bangkok. We are conveniently located for river boats and is just a short boat trip from the Khao San area. Many of our travellers appreciate that they can go visit Khao San road, but when they've had enough of the noise and party, they can withdraw to New Road Guest House again. You stayed with us 1st October, and you are right that this is low season in Thailand in general. We normally have a bustling ambience, with lots of travel tales being swapped. We are sorry if this is not what you experienced during your stay. In all, we are happy that you found our place good, and value for money, though sorry you didn't manage to meet other travellers. We hope you had a very happy journey in Thailand. All the best, Berit

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
4.0

Room was filthy sheets not clean svrunched up on bed as if used basket over flowing with rubbish dread going back there bu Have to as haven't option worst-case back packer hostel ever.been and had to pay for breakfast which was supposrd to be included in contract -10

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to review our place, and for giving us constructive feedback. We cater for travellers with various needs and budgets, and our rooms come in all standards and price brackets. You booked and stayed in our lowest category, which for the same reason is also amongst the cheapest in Bankok. We do not try to oversell it, but describe it as it is: a bunk bed room with fan only, no windows and shared bathroom on the hallway. It is by no means luxurious, but it is clean and nice. And travellers on a tight budget truly values it. We are sorry that this did not live up to your expectations. All the rooms we sell online is without breakfast, which is quite normal for hostels. It is possible to purchase breakfast from the restaurant, but we also have common areas where you are free to bring your own food. We are not quite sure where you found the information that breakfast was/is included and encourage you to send it to us, so we can look into it. In all, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, and please feel free to send further information to us. Best regards, Team New Road Guest House - Berit

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.7

Hostel's in a good location for anyone wanting to stay in this part of Bangkok. The room was clean, basic and very small with no window. For a place to sleep it was fine. There was a set of metal bunkbeds in the room, with sheet metal under the matress. Every time I moved in the night it made a terrible noise, doubtless disturbing at night for the other guests (I heard a neighbour having the same problem), but for the money it was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our place. Appreciated. We are happy that you found our location good, the room clean, and our place good value for money. For rooms, these come in all price brackets that suits any traveler's needs. From the very cheap BASIC bunk bed rooms and dorms to private rooms with either fan or aircon. You stayed in our very BASIC room, and you are right that the bunk beds here are basic. For this reason, we also sell it for a very cheap price from THB 160 - a bargain in Bangkok. However, we regret that the bed did not live up to your expectations, and we are currently planning to take this option out, and upgrade the rooms. We though hoped you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, and we hope to welcome you again. Best, Team New Road Guest House - Berit

15th Sep 2016
7.1

The common areas and breakfast bar is great! However the rooms are not. Very small and beds are extremely noisy and uncomfortable. Not many backpackers, (could have been time of year? - mid September). Great security. Excellent staff that provide you with loads of information.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time in giving us feedback. We are thrilled that you found our common areas, the breakfast bar and the security great! And that you found our staff excellent, and got loads of useful travel information. That's what we are here for :-) For rooms, these come in all price brackets that suits any traveller's needs. From the very cheap BASIC bunk bed rooms and dorms to private rooms with either fan or aircon. You stayed in our very BASIC room, and you are right that the bunk beds here are basic. For this reason, we also sell it for a very cheap price from THB 160 - a bargain in Bangkok. However, we regret that the bed did not live up to your expectations, and we are currently planning to upgrade these to meet travellers needs. We normally have a very bustling ambience, with lots of travellers and travel tales in our common area. You stayed with us in September, and you are right that this is low season. You will see that already today, there's many backpackers staying with us again, who is enjoying our newly upgraded/refurbished common areas. We hoped you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, and we hope to welcome you again. Best, Team New Road Guest House - Berit

9th Sep 2016
9.1

The bunk beds in the two-bed private room I stayed in were noisy. The mattresses were comfortable, but the metal frame of the bunks has just a few bars going across. So to support the mattress there is a metal sheet between the frame and mattress. However, it is so thin that if you put some of your weight on the mattress in between the beams, it buckles and makes a very loud sound. Adjusting position while sleeping is enough to make the whole bunk bed structure move and bend the metal sheet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Eleanor, thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our little place. We are thrilled to see your 10/10 rating for almost all factors - Value for Money, Location, Security, Staff, Atmosphere and Cleanliness. Thank you! We have rooms in all price brackets that suits any traveller's needs. From the very cheap BASIC bunk bed rooms and dorms to private rooms with either fan or aircon. You stayed in our very BASIC room, and you are right that the bunk beds here are, well, basic. For this reason we also sell it for a very cheap price from THB 160 - a bargain in Bangkok. However, we regret that the bed did not live up to your expectations, and we are currently contemplating how we can improve. IN all, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok, and we hope to welcome you again. Best, Team New Road Guest House Berit

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.