Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Road Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Very lively, clean hostel. Staff were more than helpful. Great atmosphere. Would deffinetely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Mr, Mrs, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoy our hotel, staff and the facilities we have here and we hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont, Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.6

Close to the trainstation, MRT and riverboat. Staff is very nice. There are some nice chill areas and restaurant. My biggest criticism is the fact you have to make you're own bed. Arriving in the night and looking for your bedsheets, trying to make a bed without waking people up is very annoying. I have never been to a hostel with this policy, please consider to change this! Besides that I'd definitely recommend staying here!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoy our hotel and facilities. We will also take your remarks in consideration to upgrade our services and make our guest stay more comfortable. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2017
6.0

very nice staff.... but the room..! maybe we got the ugliest room in the whole building, but it was very bad... it could be nice if they would, i dont know, paint it and put some details into it... the pics did not show how ugly it would be... the location is also nothing.. you are far away from the interesting stuff but close enough for everything to be expansive :/

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize if the room didn't match your expectation, we do have different category in the hotel and the room you've booked is our lowest price in air con category. We do have plan renovation in most of the room but as it is the high season now, the hotel is almost booked out all the time and we have to wait until the big rush is over to start the renovation. Regarding our location, we're located in the oldest part of Bangkok with a 2 minutes walk to the bangkok river where you can catch the boat to the grand palace or the Wat Pho temple and Khao San Road is accessible for the affordable price of 15 THB. We are also next to the Sky Train station Saphan Taksin witch can take you also to every touristic places. For any queries, do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Very small private room, and facilities pretty basic. Also the wifi seemed very temperamental. The place did have a designated travel advisor and is well placed for transport (near the ferry and a short 10 minute walk to several train stations) although I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Khoasan road if you want to party as the guest house is located in the Jewellery district and not much else around locally.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Further to your comment, the room that you've booked is a fan room, as it is our cheapest room, the furniture in this room are pretty basic compare to the aircon room we also have. The difference of the price between those two category is only 140 THB per night, which is really affordable.Regarding the party area as Khao San Road, its only 25 minutes away from where we are by boat and the cost is 15 baht per person per way otherwise you can also get a taxi for the price of 60 THB. We are also not only close to jewelry district as we are 5 minutes walking to Silom road where you can find many restaurant and bars to enjoy a nice evening out. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

17th Mar 2017
8.6

Big hostel - lots of folks around. But very helpful and great place to start your journey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoy our hotel and facilities and we hope to see you again for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to me. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor.

5th Mar 2017
8.9

Any movement on the bed sounded like two pans clashing together. Showers and toilets were small but clean. We were able to do laundry and hang it out on a line on the roof. The Go Beyond Asia staff were very informative -there was a free mini tour of the area including local food venders, boat and train transportation routes and shopping areas as well as a free information session about what parts of the city to explore in Bangkok and in general Thailand with (expensive) group travel deals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you hotel, staff and facilities and we hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front office Supervisor.

  • ambersmith
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.3

Hostel has the basics you need, nothing to shout about with the room. The common area on the other hand is lovely, very easy to make friends and open planned. The staff were okay, they took our money and gave us a key but nothing more. When asking for help with booking an over night bus to Koh Lanta they asked if we could wait for a bit as he needed to do something. It took over an hour for him to come find us and say he was ready. Then told us there was nothing left. Which was a lie.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize for the bad experience you have with the travel advisor, but we always need to take care of the customer who are standing at the desk first and when they try to help you the ticket where already sold out. We do apologize for this inconvenient and we hope you will try our hotel again and get a better impression about us. For any queries,please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay. Staff helpful and rooms alright. Stayed in double room as dorms were full. Lovely atmosphere - a lot of danish people though (not that that's a bad thing...)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you very good feedback. We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

The whole place was so clean. Staff were super friendly and helpful. They booked everything for us during our time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thank you for your very good feedback. We are glad that you enjoy our place and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.