Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Road Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Very small private room, and facilities pretty basic. Also the wifi seemed very temperamental. The place did have a designated travel advisor and is well placed for transport (near the ferry and a short 10 minute walk to several train stations) although I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Khoasan road if you want to party as the guest house is located in the Jewellery district and not much else around locally.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
8.9

Any movement on the bed sounded like two pans clashing together. Showers and toilets were small but clean. We were able to do laundry and hang it out on a line on the roof. The Go Beyond Asia staff were very informative -there was a free mini tour of the area including local food venders, boat and train transportation routes and shopping areas as well as a free information session about what parts of the city to explore in Bangkok and in general Thailand with (expensive) group travel deals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you hotel, staff and facilities and we hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front office Supervisor.

  • ambersmith
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.3

Hostel has the basics you need, nothing to shout about with the room. The common area on the other hand is lovely, very easy to make friends and open planned. The staff were okay, they took our money and gave us a key but nothing more. When asking for help with booking an over night bus to Koh Lanta they asked if we could wait for a bit as he needed to do something. It took over an hour for him to come find us and say he was ready. Then told us there was nothing left. Which was a lie.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize for the bad experience you have with the travel advisor, but we always need to take care of the customer who are standing at the desk first and when they try to help you the ticket where already sold out. We do apologize for this inconvenient and we hope you will try our hotel again and get a better impression about us. For any queries,please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay. Staff helpful and rooms alright. Stayed in double room as dorms were full. Lovely atmosphere - a lot of danish people though (not that that's a bad thing...)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you very good feedback. We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr julien Dupont Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

The whole place was so clean. Staff were super friendly and helpful. They booked everything for us during our time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thank you for your very good feedback. We are glad that you enjoy our place and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
8.3

New road is a nice place, but bad location (although public transport is possible), and vibes aren't that social between people. Common areas are very clean and comfortable, but the doorms are only OK. No bed sheets when you get the room (you have to put them yourself, and mostly very bad smell. Staff are very nice and helpful. If you are after meeting people and going out etc, you shouldn't go there. If you want a quiet nice place, it's a good cheap option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for your prompt feedback, our location is one of the best place to go on tourist attraction as temple, Grand Palace etc., They are accessible for the cost of 14thb by public boat and its located just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. For any information, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

this is what you should expect for the prices, its all good, even if the shower and toilet are 30cm apart, everything else was on point. its well located, also not near a metro, but very few are.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for your very good feedback, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
7.4

Internet was poor, great breakfast and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, We would like to thank you for your prompt feedback. We are actually experiencing few different problem with the WiFi and it is the same for now all over Thailande as the internet company had a line broken and they need to fix it. We will take your comment in consideration and work on what you say to upgrade our services offer to our guesst. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.9

Staff in this place were really lovely and welcoming! Any queries we had they were happy to help, especially the GoAsia staff who helped us book trips and flights to continue our travels. Food was lovely, very reasonably priced! The only major down side to this place is the room we stayed in, paid extra for an ensuite double room expecting it to be like the pictures. What we stayed in was definitely not like any of the pictures!!! tiny room, holes in sheets, stained walls, a brick wall view.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for your prompt feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenient you have but all our room are the same as describe onto the internet and we will work on your comment to offer a better services to our guest. For any information, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel/hotel and great value for money. The wifi is the only thing that lets this place down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have upgrade our WiFi services since your last stay and we don't have any problem with this now. We hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.