X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

New Swedish Hostel Reviews

David ST.29,Jaffa Gate,Jerusalem, P.O.BOX 19084, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
159 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

This hostel begs for some repairs, the conditions were extramally low and I believe it wouldn't cost too much to do at least some rapairs. In addition, it would be helpful to organise great cleaning of the rooms.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel has a very good location right in the center of the city. But the rooms are really very small, not enough space for our luggage. There was no window in our room. And the toilet and bathrooms are also very very small!! No breakfast. The staff is good.


94%

This place was great! Sammy also helped lineup a tour that was aswsome to the Dead Sea, Masada, and Jericho. I had a private room with a window that was perfect for hearing some of the sounds of the city. Just 2 things could make it perfect. The main door downstairs wouldnt always secure itself, it needed to be pulled tightly shut. The other thing is really a complaint on other guests,they slammed doors at all hours hours, even 6am, so a sign in each door asking to not slam would be nice.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Is good hostel, is a good option for sleeping in a old Jerusalem. It is quiet, I enjoy my time there.


43%

This hostel was a horrible experience. The atmosphere can only be summarised as uncomfortable. The internet was non-existent, the staff were less than friendly. The communal areas were basically the sleeping quarters for the staff. Overall I would strongly recommend that you do not stay here.


43%

We booked this hostel a couple hours before our arrival in Jerusalem. Once we got there the receptionist started screaming at us and called us names in Arabic. It turned out that the hostel has a 24-hours in advance booking policy, so you can't book for the same day, which was not mentioned. Therefore we came back the next day and the guy refused service to us because "we talked back to him yesterday. After talking to his boss we got a tiny room without windows. Bad beds, no fresh air in room. 👎


69%

On my side like an athelete,it was not well with us because we train daily n we need to be clean always because we sweat,we were having a hard time because of our clothes. we need to wash them daily and washing by machine is very expensive so need to wash by ourselves,,,that was our problem

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Never! This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in my life. Simple unbelievable how rude the staff and the local people were in the hostel. The "highlights" f our stay were the washing machine that was turned on at 10.pm next to our room, the receptionist who spend the morning spitting and making rude noises and was dressed in a towel around his waist , nothing else what so ever! The kitchen and the bathroom was simple uninviting and cramped. Even staying at a bus station is preferable.


86%

The staff is very friendly and the location is great!


60%

It is a decent hostel providing some basic facilities and is definately a value for money. But the staff is completely arrogant, especially Karim, who is totally mean and sometimes a racist in my opinion.


49%

One of the workers bed was in the kitchen. You walk in and feel like your in his room and not a common area. The "TV " room has three mattresses in it. One permanently belongs to a guy that is not mentally stable... talks to himself, stars at you... very uncomfortable. The dorm has about 15 beds stuffed into a room thats big enough for 8 beds. Close to everything but I'd rather walk an extra 10 minutes. We moved to Abraham hostel ( newer, cleaner, nice staff, great common area


83%

It is a budget hostel in a historical part of Jerusalem, so don`t expect any luxury stay, but you will find everything what you need. We stayed in a private 5 bed room, quite small and old house, but clean, and with clean sheets, hot shower, free wi-fi and nice staff. Just a small minus was a low pressure of water in a shower and noise from other rooms, but it wasn`t a big deal. I can recommend it. ;)


71%

This is a good hostel if you want to stay right in the old city center. Of course, you cannot expect too much: rooms are small, ours did not have a window. This was ok as we were travelling in the winter -- it might get hot in the summer, though. Tip: If the shower does not work, try another one. And try to shower when nobody else does, because water pressure is low.


77%

Not a bad place to stay, the location is perfect, right in the centre of the Old City. Everything inside the hostel is a bit old, but that's just part of the charm of staying in the Old City I suppose. Everything was clean and the staff were helpful. The only real bothering is the water pressure in the shower, and the beds are a bit small (or maybe I'm just a tall European). Although I probably wouldn't want to stay there for a long time, for two nights it's a good place, and very affordable.


89%

Very nice hostel in the old town. I was living in 4 hostels in old town in Jerusalem and I think this is one of the best.


49%

This hostel is a madhouse. The main guy who runs it, Karim, swears horrifyingly on the phone threatening whoever he is talking to and then walks around the hostel slamming doors and looking angry at guests. He also asked one of the Canadian guests (an 18 year old boy) to watch porn with him and sat with a young Asian guest going through photos of girls that had stayed at the hostel and commenting on their attractiveness. It is tiny, squashed and dirty. But if you can stand it for the price...


71%

This hostel is not new, and certainly not swedish, but we had a nice stay. The showers were quite bad but clean. We were unhappy about the fact that the employee there was not able to give us a receipt right after we paid. It was impossible to pay by card. Wifi worked well. There was a fridge in the room, and free coffee and tea all day long, which was very convenient.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

This is the worst hostel I have ever been. Only one of the 3 employees seemed to be nice and helpful when asking for questions. The people in the hostel are weird and noisy, and some of them stay in the hostel for very long periods of time. Furthermore, I don't recommend to take a hostel in the old city of Jerusalem...

Owner Comment (Hide)
we do not choose the peoples made a booking for our hostel. and you was in x-mas time for sure its noisy as there is many customers.. we get always good rating by so many guests who stay at our hostel and they enjoy our warm rooms hot showers 24 hours, free tea,coffee and hot chocolate, free WIFI . very clean bathroom fresh sheets. if you like to have 5 stars service for the money you paid then you are in the wrong place..

66%

Extrimely bad living conditions :) But location is great! And, as I understood it's cheaper than something else around. But believe me, next time i'd better pay more. for example you can not stand in the toilet. only sit )) no space to put your stuff. at all :) but hostel is clean.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Tiny place with a good location and very helpful Staff.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback