Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Swedish Hostel

  • David ST 29 ( 67) - Old City,Jaffa Gate,Jerusalem, P.O.BOX 19084, Jerusalem, Israel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
6.6

Decent. Nothing remarkable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
6.3

Staff never knocked on doors before entering. I greeted a staff member with Borker Tov (good morning). The staff was offended stating that he was Arab and Arabic should be spoken. I stated that Hebrew is the national language of Israel. This staff speaks inappropriately to female guests and in general he disturbs the atmosphere by his constant yelling and obsession with perverted and pornogaphic internet videos. They are anti-Semitic and racist towards Blacks and Americans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
10.0

the best location and service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rachelmorgan9
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.9

This hostel is a good price and great location inside the old city and only a 5 minute walk away from Jaffa gate where you can get a tram easily into the city centre. The facilities are very basic but clean and there isn't really a chill out area. Sami the owner is the kindest man and helped us to plan so many trips it was great, he is usually around during the day and in the evening, the night door man is less helpful and a bit grumpy but he's just there to let people in when Sami is away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keliantri150
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
3.7

On the plus side, I like the location, the Wifi connection, and the bedding were clean. BUT the manager screamed at me when I arrived because he was eating and didn't want to be disturbed. Maybe it's just his way of saying hi? In any case, I didn't feel welcome. The room had 13 beds, no free locker for use, no breakfast (though with free coffee, tea), tiny bathrooms and toilets, and the list goes on. The worst part? It cost me 100 shekels to stay there. Book here only as a last resort.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

you only stay less than 10 hours in the hostel.. you book with us one night .. and it was over busy week for all the Holy holidays .. so you can not Judged in the place ... thank you so much in your review

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
3.1

As a girl travelling alone - just not stay there! I didn't feel save sleeping just between a lot of old guys. Really creepy, although one of the receptionists is quite nice, this does not make up for everything else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we do not select our Customers ... when some comes and need a bed we can not ask him or here how old are you ... and say we only takes young peoples we are open to every one and every age.. you need in the future to look for only GIRL DORM ROOM ... our hostel Building is over 450 years old .. you can not change much in the old Design .. thank you so much for your review

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

A very nice, quiet hostel in the center of the Old City--a perfect location if you want to visit any ofnthe sites in the area. Sami, the main staff person, was extremely helpful and gave me valuable information not only about Jerusalem but also the surrounding areas of Israel, Palestine, and Jordan. He is very knowledgeable and kind. My room was quiet and clean with an over-the-rooftop view of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. I would recommend this place to anyone traving in Jerusalem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we are here for your service anytime .. thank you

23rd Mar 2017
8.0

I left my driver's license in the locker at this hostel and they emailed me right away and offered to send it to me in the U.S. without even charging for postage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.1

In the middle of all the chaos of the Old City. Loved it. Great place to stay if you are up for an adventure. Close quarters in the common sleeping area but could hear call to prayer morning. I will 100% get this place when I come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for comment and you are very welcome any time

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
3.4

This hostel was very disappointing. We arrived and discovered that it was one large room filled with bunkbeds and even some mattresses on the floor. The staff were not respectful of anyone trying to sleep, and gave off a very strange vibe overall. Facilities including washrooms and kitchen were mediocre at best and we avoided using them as much as possible. Staying here was not worth the extra couple dollars saved, there are much better options in Jerusalem.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

you booked a big dorm room with 15 beds .. not a dorm with 5 or 6 beds and you paid less then 15 USD per night .. we do offer good service to all our Customer.. thank you for your Comment

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.