X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

New Swedish Hostel Reviews

David ST.29,Jaffa Gate,Jerusalem, P.O.BOX 19084, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
191 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Not bad hostel. Price is good and I felt comfortable. But there is a bisexual man who is a staff of the hostel

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good value for money in excellent location - we definitely recommend this Hostel!


66%

The location and price are good. Part of the staff is very nice, part is a bit odd (don't be scared). There were friends of the staff hanging around in the evenings, which I liked. The bunk beds were quite unstable and had a rail only on one side. I usually take the upper bed, but here no. The showers / toilets couldn't be locked and the doors wouldn't shut completely, but you wouldn't be seen by accident. All in all, you get what you pay for and I'm not complaining.


89%

Great helpful and friendly staff. Loved my stay here!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Way too expensive for what it offered.


83%

we got what we payed for. the location is excellent i must say, so close to everything in the old city of jerusalem. basically hostel has everything you need. water preasure might be bad sometimes, and the kitchen is full if there's 3 people in it. but in general, it grew on us :) and the manager can give a lot of good advices about where to go, what and where to eat.. i recommand for experienced travellers.


37%

The "crew" are just TERRIBLE! The grumpy guy in "frontdesk" The WORST! The ONLY Swedish thing of this Hostel is a tiny FLAG in The entrance, Bad manners, Bad opinions from The other guests and in general i would NEVER come back to this place... EVER.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location, seems to be the cheapest price. But our room was without a window, toilet rooms are extremely small and inconvenient. This hostel is a good choise, if you only need to take shower and sleep.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The New Swedish Hostel is in a great location in the old city and it was clean enough, but the staff wasn't particularly knowledgeable about the nearby tourist attractions and one man in particular was downright rude. There was no common area, so it was very hard to get to know other travelers. This place is perfectly adequate in a pinch, but I wouldn't want to stay more than one or two nights.


49%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. One of the staff members is incredibly creepy and has a history of molesting guests, especially asians. No privacy, staff members pop in dorms randomly especially when girls are present. Did not feel safe at all. Lockers not free. The dorm rooms are dusty, hot and cluttered. Showers and bathroom are too small for literally anybody. Rules and signs everywhere and for everything. Bottom line: not professional, creepy, criminal, and uncomfortable. Not recommended.


83%

Great to have a base right in the centre of the old city!


80%

this hostel has a good value for such money, I spent one night in 10 people room and unfortunately most of them were Spanish:) 30 degrees outside but no one wanted to open the window or even turn on the air condition.... So the night was terrible... The bathroom is very small, in the toilet you can hardly stand and put on your pants:) Bathroom and toilet are very very close to each other, in the same room. The biggest advantage is the owner who was very nice and helpful. Great location.


74%

Is not the best hostel or fancy hostel in Jerusalem, but if you really are interested in Know the Old city of Jerusalem, have a GOOD place to stay with the facilities to do your food then go out and enjoy the city, this is a good place! I really liked it, it has what you need, no more no less.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

We enjoyed staying in this hostel very much. Great value for the price! Showers had hot water and never had to wait in line. Daytime staff was very friendly and helpful. This hostel is located within an underground marketplace that at night is similar to an alley. As two American girls who spoke only English, we had some safety concerns walking back at 2am. Otherwise great location, can walk to Jaffa St and throughout Old City.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Perfect location, it is situated in the middle of marketplace.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Plus (+) + the Hostel is located in the middle of The Old Jerusalem - you can easily go to the room during the day and rest +The room has a good price +No bad smelling +No alcohol Minus (-) -The toilets, the showers availibly for everyone, outside your room. You get used to the "openess" after a while. -Some rooms do not have window - if you want one you need to get sure that you get one. -You can hear everyone talking thru the walls. Some nights there was noise the hole night. -Mosquitoes

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

It's a cheap place. But still you can expect something more! Putting 14 people in a dorm of only some 20 square meters is scandalous!


46%

This hostel begs for some repairs, the conditions were extramally low and I believe it wouldn't cost too much to do at least some rapairs. In addition, it would be helpful to organise great cleaning of the rooms.


57%

The hostel has a very good location right in the center of the city. But the rooms are really very small, not enough space for our luggage. There was no window in our room. And the toilet and bathrooms are also very very small!! No breakfast. The staff is good.


94%

This place was great! Sammy also helped lineup a tour that was aswsome to the Dead Sea, Masada, and Jericho. I had a private room with a window that was perfect for hearing some of the sounds of the city. Just 2 things could make it perfect. The main door downstairs wouldnt always secure itself, it needed to be pulled tightly shut. The other thing is really a complaint on other guests,they slammed doors at all hours hours, even 6am, so a sign in each door asking to not slam would be nice.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback