Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Teddy's Place

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
New Teddy's Place Located at Paje, , Zanzibar.
New Teddy's Place
Tanzania
Zanzibar Zanzibar Paje
85% 121
-6.2728978 39.5335292
New Teddy's Place
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Jan 2017
6.0

Not a very safe area. The hostel itself was very nice and close to the beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
5.4

This place a serious rat problem. The staff warns the guest not to bring food but the rats came into our room and attacked our soap with aloe vera. It would be so easy to wrap the huts in a steel mesh. This place is on the East Coast, there are no ATMs. Hence, paying large sums with cash is difficult. The hostel lets you pay for accommodation using a credit card but other items should be paid in cash which the staff needs to pay for various items in cash. The guests are not your money mules..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.7

The rooms are excellent! Soft sand floors beat ugly tile floors any day. The ablutions were some of the cleanest I saw in Zanzibar. Right by the beach, with amazing chill spots in the shade where you can lie and view beach, palms and sea. They provide laundry services at an affordable price Only criticism (although this was standard at all budget accommodation in Zanzibar) was the lack of air conditioning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
5.7

On our fifth night at Ney Teddys we had to move room as our previous room had been booked for that night. Much to our disappointment the stand alone shacks walls were invested with rats (4-5 that we saw, not counting the ones we could hear). The staff were sympathetic and tried to help us but in the end due to the hostel being very full we had to move places, leaving us 60USD out of pocket and were not offered any form of compensation because "the manager was not on". Very disappointing end

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

New Teddy's place is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The location and outside area is amazing, right on the beach and with a lot of great spots for hanging out and meet other travellers. The dorms are comfortable with spacious beds and good quality mosquito nets. But the most important factor that made our stay so great was the amazing staff at Teddy's. Thank you for making our Christmas and New Years so great! We miss you already. Much love from Crocodile and Princess :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.4

The friendliest staff I've ever come across! Leonie and her team are welcoming and extremely helpful with booking activities and getting the best prices! We stayed for two weeks and felt like we were leaving our friends behind when we left. I would recommend this beach hostel to any traveler, young or old! The only let down is that there isn't a communal kitchen for self catering, but the menu at Teddy's place will definitely satisfy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
6.3

Overall, not impressed. Security was strange with one key per shared room. Beware wandering outside the hostel as you can get robbed (it happened when I stayed there). Location is a bit far from anything else except other lodging places so isn't isolated, but not private. Staff was nice (tried to help the girl who got robbed). Atmosphere was relaxed and people seemed willing to talk in the shared area. Sand everywhere is a TERRIBLE idea and the mosquito nets are bad; eaten alive as I sweat alot

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
9.7

This Hostel is a great place if you just want to take a week from your exhausting travels and chill and maybe get into a bit of snorkling and dolphin diving. The food is extremely good for its price. You get a delicious Vegetable Curry for the equivalence of 4-5$, and not a small portion too. They also keep your diet mixed up with a daily specials menu. The location is superb and the atmosphere is relaxating. Overall I loved my stay here and I would return any time. PS the Use Dala Dala ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
28th Oct 2016
10.0

Loved staying at Teddys place. Lovely staff, amazing cooks with tasty local food available and the beach is fantastic. Bungalows are really good too. Everything you need for a chilled holiday by the beach 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
9.1

Amazing experience. As a solo traveler, I met many others travelers, we made very nice frienships in a paradisiac place. The place is lovely, staff very helpful and the atmosphere is excellent. Would recommend that place to anyone who is looking for good experiences.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.