Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New Teddy's Place

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Feb 2017
9.4

I have backpacked around for a while and have seen many different places. Teddy's New place is a good one for sinlge travellers or groups. The manager is European, the stuff is very helpful, food is good, hammocks, the beach is 50m away, free wifi, security at night. Very easy-going vibes in the evenings. Beds are comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

My buddy and I spent 15 nights here in Jan/Feb and found New Teddy's Place to be a true gem in Paje. Since the main goal of our trip was to Kiteboard at Paje beach we appreciated the location being right near the beach. This allowed us to check the wind conditions and easily transport our gear to and from the beach. We found Teddy's offered everything we could want off of the beach as well, including delicious food/drinks, extremely friendly staff and a clean and comfortable place to relax. J&L

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

I came to this place when first arriving on Zanzibar and intended to stay for two nights. After a week I was still here. Left at some point to see other beaches only to return two days later. It felt like coming home to a safe & fun heaven. I am not the only one, during my stay many people kept on returning. Why is easy to see. The staff is great and make you feel really welcome. The cook is great! By now I slept in nearly all the bungalows and dorms and they are lovely & spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.7

Really nice place just 30 meters from the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff, a lot of hammock to chill and the bar to meet locals and travelers. The place has best vibe on Zanzibar. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
6.0

Not a very safe area. The hostel itself was very nice and close to the beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Again and forever - we are sorry in the name of Paje that this has happened to you. Luckily never ever happends on our super secure property so I hope one day you come back to us! Take care of yourself and all the best. Leonie, Manager New Teddy's Place

31st Dec 2016
5.4

This place a serious rat problem. The staff warns the guest not to bring food but the rats came into our room and attacked our soap with aloe vera. It would be so easy to wrap the huts in a steel mesh. This place is on the East Coast, there are no ATMs. Hence, paying large sums with cash is difficult. The hostel lets you pay for accommodation using a credit card but other items should be paid in cash which the staff needs to pay for various items in cash. The guests are not your money mules..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, The rat which is a big mouse in fact really was a problem. We apologize even though it is just a problem of the area we are living in. Luckily we got rid off them by different supercool ultrasound and local methods. Phew. Regarding the cash flow - I remember we chatted a lot also about this topic. We told you there are no cash machines. Which we dislike the same. It really would a dream if the banks and government decide to install an ATM on our pretty countryside - but why blaming us for asking your bills to be paid?? We appreciate all feedback but this is not really comprehensible. Why should anybody not pay cash for things he is consuming as we pay them cash too? This is how economy works I guess. Anyways, let's pray together, that one day there will be an ATM. Will keep you posted!

  • hamid815068
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

One of the Best Atmosphere-Hostels in the world! Extended a 4 nights stay to a 3 weeks jam. Great and cheap Food, amazing staff, Leonie (Manager) plays in another league of hospitality. Loved the doorms but also stayed in a private bungalow. The Music is relaxing, free breakfast, hammocks everywher, new shower and toilets - just go to this spot if you want to be in a new family in a blink of an eye! Arrange all kind of activities. Do not miss the Monday BBQ! Will certainly return! Love you guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Lieber. And we love you! DANKE fuer Dein wunderbares Feedback. Aber viel wichtiger. Danke fuer Dich, danke fuer Euch, danke fuer Euren Spirit. Wunderschoene Gaeste machen diesen wunderschoenen Ort noch wunderschoener und geben ihm die Seele, die er verdient. Danke, dass Ihr Euch hier verteilt habt! In Gedanken seid ihr noch sehr hier. Alles Gute! Until we meet again. Coconut greetings from us! Leonie (Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.7

The rooms are excellent! Soft sand floors beat ugly tile floors any day. The ablutions were some of the cleanest I saw in Zanzibar. Right by the beach, with amazing chill spots in the shade where you can lie and view beach, palms and sea. They provide laundry services at an affordable price Only criticism (although this was standard at all budget accommodation in Zanzibar) was the lack of air conditioning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, Thanks a lot for this nice review. As soon as we have a A/C-House (I am dreaming of one supercool luxury banda as well) we'll let you know :) All the best! Leonie

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
5.7

On our fifth night at Ney Teddys we had to move room as our previous room had been booked for that night. Much to our disappointment the stand alone shacks walls were invested with rats (4-5 that we saw, not counting the ones we could hear). The staff were sympathetic and tried to help us but in the end due to the hostel being very full we had to move places, leaving us 60USD out of pocket and were not offered any form of compensation because "the manager was not on". Very disappointing end

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Crew! I am so sorry for that. And the worst ever to hear is "the manager was not on". I apologise because of course we owe you something. Therefore we hope you are coming back and you stay a night for free in our guaranteed mouse-free bungalows. We installed a supercool ultrasound--system, so this little creatures (who lived here first unfortunately) won't come back! Hope to see you guys again and please accept our apologies! Best regards, Leonie (Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

New Teddy's place is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The location and outside area is amazing, right on the beach and with a lot of great spots for hanging out and meet other travellers. The dorms are comfortable with spacious beds and good quality mosquito nets. But the most important factor that made our stay so great was the amazing staff at Teddy's. Thank you for making our Christmas and New Years so great! We miss you already. Much love from Crocodile and Princess :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Crocodile and Princess!! Aaaah guys, lovely! Thanks a lot for your great review. Whenever I see someone wearing a LACOSTE piece I think of you! So funny... Hope you are doing well. And I hope you have recovered Oskar!?! Take care of yourself guys! All the best from us to you! Leonie

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.