Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

New York Budget Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 6814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 6814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

More of a motel than a hostel I'd say but but perfect for if you want to do your own thing, when we booked a double room we were expecting a double bed but had bunks but didn't really mind as they were really comfy. It couldn't be in a better location though and for what you pay it's excellent as New York is expensive. Would recommend to anyone wanting to keep cost down end of the day you should t be spending anytime in a hotel when you are in New York just a place to sleep is all you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kitch1991
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.1

Good for a one night stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The private shared room is small with a sink, refrigerator and microwave. Towels were well used and had stains on but were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our friendly staff. Please note we have our bedding and towels washed daily. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC.

19th Apr 2017
9.1

Very clean. Great bathrooms with good showers. Lockers in rooms...Security card doors. Not much communal space. Breakfast offering is just doughnut holes and coffee if you get there quick. Nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our cleanliness and staff. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

  • pavelpospech8404
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.4

A good quality hostel for a cheap price in central Manhattan. The only downside: the rooms are a bit noisy at night as there are strange noises coming from the heating system and you can hear all the doors being opened and closed. Use those earplugs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our location. Please note we offer complimentary earplugs at our front desk upon request. For future reference please inform the front desk of any discomfort and they will do anything in their hands to assist you. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit to NYC.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.0

Really good hostel, staff were amazing and so friendly! Rooms are small & no elevator which is expected of NYC but the staff are willing to help if you over packed! Only thing that was a disappointment is that there is no common area or kitchen apart from a few seats in the lobby so you don't get to socialise as much with the people in the hostel so this place has less events than other hostels but the staff are good at getting people to mingle.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our staff. We have many different room types, from the most economical to the most comfortable. As we are located in the center of Mid Town Manhattan our space is very limited therefore, we cannot offer a larger common area, elevator services nor a kitchen. Please note for guest interaction we offer free walking tours, bingo nights, weekend pub crawls and free pizza/karaoke parties. We look forward to greet you on your next visit to NYC.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
8.0

All we were looking for was a clean, cheap place to stay at a convenient location. The hostel fit this perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our cleanliness and pricing. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
7.4

The desk clerk that checked us in was super nice and helpful. The place smells very strong of ? cleaning supplies when you walk in and in the halls. I brought my 10 year old who was a bit nervous about the bathroom situation (sharing bathrooms). The bathrooms were individual bathrooms, even for shower bathrooms which contained a toilet and shower stall. We had a private, 2-bed room, which was tiny but sufficient. I would have felt safer if the room had a deadbolt.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Our facilities are cleaned 24 hours a day. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and yes our bathrooms are NOT shared. We very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would have appreciated a higher score though.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.7

I stayed for a long weekend. It is a better than average hostel. Expensive but that's to be expected in Manhattan where everything is expensive. I'd stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you consider us above average. Please note we have may different room types, from the most economical to the most comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice, clean and well organized hostel. Staff was helpful (especially "Jenny from the block")! One serious con of the hostel is that it has virtually no living room. Only one table with some chairs around it in the same room with the reception. The living room is one of the first reasons I choose to stay at hostels as you get to hang out with other travelers and I missed that there. One pro is that it serves a small breakfast for free. Not something to get you full but a nice gesture.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our staff, cleanliness and organization. Please note for guest interaction we offer, weekend pub crawls, free walking tours, bingo nights and Free pizza/karaoke parties. We look forward to welcoming you once again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location, about a 10 minute walk from Grand Central station. I feel as if the price were a bit high compared to other hostels considering there weren't any bathrooms inside the rooms, yet shared for the floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message. We are pleased to know you enjoyed of our location. Please note we have a variety of rooms, from most economical to most comfortable. We offer ensuite dorms as shown our website. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit to NYC.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.