X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3244 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The worst experience I've ever had with a hostel, in 2 dozen hostels in 3 countries. The noise from the steel boards kept banging loudly the whole night and the window cannot be fully closed to keep the noise out. A guy came in at three and left for another room in 1 hour, and at four another roommate arrived very drunk, turned on the lights, kept the door open and kept mumbling, until he fell asleep on the floor. There was NO HOT WATER AT ALL when I went for a shower in the morning. DONOTSTAY!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly staff except one staff was very annoying when we checked in at the first time. Overall is very nice hostel!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent and friendly staff. Very clean. Great location. Excellent value.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff is nice, location is excellent. But the bunkbed room was way too small. Hardly room for luggage. The whole place is cramped it's more a sleeping factory. My bed was broken and taped together, no kidding. I did not sleep well.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I rate everything excellent except the location (which is still very very good) because it was a bit of a long walk, for me, to the #1 subway line. However, this was a terrific place to stay! Clean, safe, great price. Also, the desk staff were very pleasant -- not always the case at hostels and budget hotels! (And I've stayed in quite a few, in the US and Europe.)

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but clean! Showers were always clean and hot. Excellent location, easy walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Grand Central Station and the New York Public Library. The hostel is up a flight of stairs, and then most rooms are up more stairs with no lift, so be aware if you have problems with stairs! Some staff were excellent and very helpful, others were more interested in watching the football than even catching your eye when talking to you.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't beat for price and location. Some might say too small, but for my time in NYC it was perfect. The staff were great, extremely helpful and polite.


100%

Excellent stay staff realy friendly so close to all facilities. Empire state building just 10 mins away with time square approx 20 min walk too couldnt stay in a better place so close to ameneties for such a small price would recommend to anybody.defo stay here again thanks to all staff very friendly and helpful *****

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The place is very good, very nice staff, clean, safe, well located and for NYC prices it was quite OK. Problems: except for the lobby there are no facilities at all. They offer a refrigerator and a microwave in the bedroom what is nice but not really convenient (no space to eat andeasy to make a mess). The other problem is noise. Female dorms are cheaper probably because their windows are straight on the 34th street, really loud. For this reason they should be even cheaper or properly insulated.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was good. The only problem was one of the windows in my room. It was not very well insulated....so it was noisy and cold during the night.


74%

The hostel was ok but that person on the front door should be fired! He has terrible manners! The day we were leaving the hostel it was raining and it was also breakfast time. We were told by other employee to wait our van inside because it was raining. But as soon as he left that grumpy man told us that we couldn't be waiting on the stairs. There was no place to wait because of the breakfast table so we finally had to wait outside in the rain for half an hour. He should be fired.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I am from brazil, and a student from the science without border program , i stayed 3 nights in this hostel, this hostel is very well located, i always come back on foot from times square to the hostel...i would recommended it for other people.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly and helpful staff

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location for all big NY attractions. Great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time staying with you guys. Great value for money and it was so quiet. Being a hostel we were concerned about noise but we never heard a thing in a room. You are in a great location with lots of food, bars etc right near you. Thank you so much it was such a wonderful time.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The best of the hostel is its location! The mixed rooms are very small and uncomfortable. I suggest putting curtains on the beds for added privacy.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and suggestion. We will definitely look into the curtain idea.

89%

Very nice and modern hostel, warm welcome and staff helpful

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I always wanted to stay in this Hostel, the truth is that without disappoint the budget inn have to review some aspects to truly deserve the grade you have on hostelworld. Need a lounge where you can have meals and use a personal computer, because the lobby is insufficient. windows need to fully close. omar is a thoughtful guy in teh staff. Breakfast is enough, but served in pathetic place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As we do not have a kitchen, most of our rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. Unfortunately, Manhattan is very tight on space. As we do not offer breakfast, we do offer complimentary: Dunkin Donuts Coffee, Donuts, hot chocolate, tea, and apples.

91%

All the staff were really friendly and helpful. It s nice staying in a place where people care and are kind. Very clean place and great location!!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly staff and support 24 h per day!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(363 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback