X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3076 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Just perfect!

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We look forward to having you stay with us again

89%

We were a bit confused with the this is what you pay on arrival, and then found due to the local tax we had an extra $140 which bit into our budget. It would be better to have that made more apparent on the booking form.Do you supply ear plugs???


69%

Loved the staff and dorm mates I ended up receiving, but the facilities themselves kinda blowed. There was no hot water at all and I heard a lot of other residents complaining about room changes and such. Overall I enjoyed it, though in my opinion it should have been $10-20 cheaper.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for our review. We had checked all the showers on the 4th floor in which you had stayed for your 1 night stay after reading your review and noticed hot water available. Our prices are very competitive with most properties in NY however we are located in the City which is better situated then any other property.

83%

Locationwise the NY Budget Inn is an excellent spot. Bus stop right in front of door M34 crosstown. We had a double private room. The space of the room was ok.The fridge and microwave were a nice touch as you could provide extra breakfast elements from nearby cvs/duane read/bag market. Coffe and donutholes are nice but won't get you through the day. Neg point: the blanket(which is the daytime bedcover)&sheet are not comfortable. Please Ny B inn change to a regular duvet big enough for two.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Please note that we do not serve breakfast, however we do offer Dunkin Donuts Coffee, donuts, hot chocolate, tea and apples. Our Double Bed Private Rooms are a full size bed with a full size duvet. Please see the front desk for additional blankets as they are available if need....just ask!

100%

Really enjoyed our stay here, everything was super clean the shared bathrooms were spotless every time you went, the only thing is the rooms are a bit on the small side, by the time we had our bags in there was barley enough room to stand. But being in New York we weren't intending on spending a lot of time in the hotel. Good location easy walking distance. The staff were really helpful and the free pizza on Sundays and Tuesdays is good if your on a budget. Would 100%. Stay here again !,

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

(3 nights in october 2014) Too expensive for the low standard. Big for free WiFi!!! Big for free coffee, donuts and apples every morning. Disturbing noises outside our room, where the staff threw trashes in a trashcan all the time... We stayed in a room with private bathroom- very dirty on the floor. You pay 5 dollars for 1 towel. The TV is too small to use. Overall a good place to stay if you don't intend to spend time in you'r room daytime...

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. NY is a very expensive city, however we are very competitive compared to other properties that aren't even in the City. Additional to the mentioned free and complimentary items include: soap, shampoo, conditioner, slippers, pizza parties, microwave, refrigerator in your room... We do have daily housekeeping and we pride ourselves on cleanliness. If it wasn't cleaned to your likening we have housekeeping/ Maintnance Staff avail 24/7.

69%

Great location right in the centre of Manhattan, but other than that very disappointing. The shower I used seemed to have no cold water, so had only a scolding effect. There were noisy roadworks outside, but no means of closing the window fully. The beds were creaky and uncomfortable.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to have learned about your stay. As you had reserved a room with a shared bathroom, we have gone back to check all the showers on the 3rd floor but all showers had both cold and hot water. Unfortunately there is no way to control the noise outside, but we wish you had mentioned something to us. We would have gladly removed your AC units and offer you complimentary ear plugs. We did notice your bed needed to be tightened, a simple adjustment.

100%

I'm not gonna wite much, as there is no need to. I'm just gonna say: FANTASTIC!!!! I am never staying in hostels, but this trip was fantastic and very comfy.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much!! We look forward to seeing you back!!

100%

Awesome place! The location is incredible for the price, the room was clean and nice, there is a lot of shared bathroom so you have no problem finding one empty…I highly recommend this place, there was no downside!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Congratulation for the whole staff of the hostel, in special to Rodney, who is always nice and helpful. We hope to back soon!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Hostel is really good. Clean and in a good location. The only thing is that I had my reservation that said the tax was included and then they charge it again. They claim is a problem of the web site. I didnt have other place to go so I had to stay.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Please note that the terms and conditions are clear on our website and all affiliate websites, that taxes are not included.Upon check in we showed you on your printed out reservation that you came in with, stated on it that taxes are not included. We apologize that you thought otherwise.

94%

super nice and welcoming staff; clean and efficient place. only the window opening to the shaft didn't let very much light and air into the room. over all, a good deal for NYC.


89%

I had a great time at the New York Budget Inn,the staff was really helpful and i think the location is really good!


100%

Everything was Excellent! I loved the people at the reception, they were funny and i had a great time talking with them. I also loved the karaoke night haha... i met a lot of friends that night. Those free pizza days and free coffee and donuts in the morning add a really big plus to your service, it's a small detail, but small details make the big picture! And the location is awesome, i walked to Time Square, Empire State is 5 minutes away... just awesome!


77%

Hostel is clean and secure in a great location for seeing manhattans sites. Real lack of common areas though, so perfect if you just need a bed for the night. Not so much if you want to meet other people.


89%

The main reason to come here is the location. 34th street 10mins from the Empire State Building. The place is deceptively large with 5 floors of rooms. Not a great deal of atmosphere as there are a large number of people coming and going but the staff are very helpful and the free breakfast is always good. 5mins from the subway 15mins from macys


74%

perfect location, but not the hostel if you are travelling alone and want to meet people. Great place to start out your NYC adventure though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We have a verity of activities to meet fellow guests: Pizza and karaoke parties (twice a week), free walking tours, movie night, game nights, pub crawls..

100%

Thank you, Lorena, Daniel, Hafeez, Roney, Quatiz, Chris, Anthony and housekeeping staff for your careful,my staying was amazing!! I hope back soon!!!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Basic room in a great location, close to the subway, empire state building, fashion district and times square. The staff have put together a list of things to do in the area and places to eat. Free coffee and munchkins go down a treat every morning. Would definitely go back.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great staff, great location. Very cramped though but being NY space is at a premium. Only grumble, there is no common area to hang outstide of the tiny room. But then you aren't in NY to hang at your accomodation! Also bring ear plugs :)

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(342 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback