X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3760 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Fun environment, and they really try hard to make things comfortable for every guest. Nice amenities for such a low cost place. Free morning coffee, printing, etc. Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms. My 2 person private room had a microwave and fridge.


100%

Amazing value, great and friendly staff! Clean and well maintained.


97%

Awesome location, very good security, very clean, definitely to recommend!


86%

The internet wasn't good

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We checked all routers and hotspots on all floors. When connecting to the wifi, please be sure to connect to the wifi on the designated floor.

100%

This is the best place to stay in NYC, the staff is just amazingly nice, specially Lorena and Daniel, we had a lot of support of all of them, we had kareoke and free pizza to enjoy, everything if very secure and clean, the location in perfect because you could go everywhere walking or by train, the help you to carry and store your luggage, you will enjoy your staying with them! I´ll miss you until I come back again.


89%

Great location excelent wfi. Clean hostel


86%

Excelente place to stay in NY it is located on one of the more crowed streets with lot of stores And places to eat


97%

Perfect for us! Small room and noisy but clean, safe, good location and cheap for Manhattan.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff is very cooperative, friendly, hospital and maintain a very high professional standards at the same time... it was indeed an great experience to stay here..


80%

Rooms are basic and quite small bit all you need for a budget stay in Manhattan.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you had reserved our Basic Twin Private Room, our smallest room. We have a verity of larger private room types. Please visit our website for actual pictures of all room types we offer: www.newyorkbudgetinn.com

86%

I truly recommend this hostel. They have pizza some nights and breakfast in the morning. The price is good and it is closed to laundries, supermarkets, restaurants. The place is clean and the stuff is nice.


97%

Had a great stay, awesome location, shared bathrooms feel private because they are not really shared. There are just a ton of single bathrooms on each floor. It is very loud but we slept through all the noise because we were so exhausted. I would stay here again!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The bathrooms are very clean and people are generally friendly here. Beds and blankets are also very comfy and clean. The price is reasonable for its quality.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The facilities need some improvement!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. Just last month we purchased new bunk beds, new linen, new towels, and new pillows. We ask all guests to fill out their in room surveys and receive a 5% discount on the first nights stay. Additionally, we welcome all guests to share all suggestions via email: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com

63%

Yes the location is good but for the price you pay you dont have more than that. Rooms are really small, you pay for laguagge storage (they say bc the room They have its small. What a stupid reason). There is no breakfast, unless you want to be up really early to have some munchkins. No room to meet people. That was my last hostel on my world tour and i guess i havent had such an experience before.


80%

The staff are the best asset here. They helped us book a room for our whole group even though the website says that groups over 2 people maybe split up. They were expecting us and greeted me by name even though we checked in close to midnight in the end. They were helpful through our whole stay and the morning hot chocolate (or coffee if you prefer) and donuts was great for jetlagged early risers. Only issue was slightly slow wifi connection but we were out and about in the city anyway

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Very small public area, no kitchen and totally tired staff, HI is cheaper and better, though the location of Budget Inn is perfect

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As space is limited in NYC, we do not have a dedicated Kitchen however most of our rooms (other then our Basic Rooms) have a refrigerator and microwaves. Our Shared rooms have a max capacity of 4 beds per rooms as HI, in an inferior location has 10 people per room for the same price. Our front desk has a minimum of 2- 3 agents per shift to better assist guests and ensure that both check in and checkouts are done in an expeditious manner.

69%

Context - I'm a 53 year old woman who usually stays in 3-4 star hotels and likes camping. A friend and I chose the NY Budget Inn to save money. Location was good for walking, the shuttle to JFK, and Penn Station. Close to the subway and walkable to Times Square etc. The room smelled like urine. (202?) We slept with the windows open (due to the smell) which was okay since it wasn't too cold. If it had been summer heat or winter cold, I wouldn't have been able to sleep there. Otherwise clean

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our housekeeping staff vacuum all rooms daily. Additionally we shampoo and deodorize our carpets twice a week. Unfortunately, the city has just replaced the gas lines on the street and caused a horrible smell in the afternoon due to a gas leak. We apologize for the inconvenience.

80%

The atmosphere was great but not all staff members were nice. The location is fantastic and the facilities are OK. This is important: I strongly recommend that all beds should have something to cover on the sides (like a curtain or something), giving more privacy for your clients (something that you can't even know if your roommate is there).

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize that all of our staff we not accommodating . We would like to know more, please email us as we want to know more about your experience: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com That is a great suggestion, we will definitely look into it!!

91%

Big hostel with helpful staff. Rooms were a bit small. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Security was perfect: locks to front door, in the reception and to rooms, as well as a fully staffed reception. Luggage storage cost $5, but they had full control on it while it was left there! Close to subway (3 blocks), buses (on curb outside) and Grand Central Station (6 blocks or so). Would stay there again :).


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(291 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback