X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2991 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Sometimes the rooms small bad and are small

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you had reserved our most basic room type, our Basic Twin Private Room, we have many other room types which are larger to choose from, subject to availability..

89%

Very good hostel I would definitely recommend it !! Wonderful location, very friendly staff and clean dorms with lockers.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The only thing i missed was having a kitchen, besides that the hostel is great! One of the best i ever stayed in!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. As Manhattan is tight and our facility lacks a large kitchen, most of our rooms include a sink, microwave and refrigerator.

89%

Nice little hostel to stat at for a few nights. The hostel is small but at an affordable price and close to little cafes. Its also not a far walk to shops. Overall happy to stay there.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is just great! Located only minutes from the Empire State Building, one is right in the center of the city. All major sites can be reached by walking or subway (a station is only a 5-minute walk from the hostel). The staff is very friendly, the room very nice (double private even with sink). To sum it up, this hostel is perfect for a trip to New York! Affordable, very cosy and centrally located!


100%

I had only a very brief stay, but I thought the facilities were just fine. Shared room, bathrooms on each floor. A little noisy (car noise and sirens) and a little expensive, but there's no way to avoid that in Manhattan. Recommended.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We were so pleased with the location, only one block from the subway. The area was very vibrant, lots of shops and restaurants. The hostel was very modern and clean, the staff was very friendly and super helpful. They answered all of our questions and made our trip so much easier. The rooms were clean and nice, the beds and blankets were clean and comfortable as well. The bathrooms were warm and clean and the showers had hot water and great water pressure. Will stay there again!!!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good, plain, and simple accommodations for a visit to NYC. Not too far from Penn Station, and it's easy to access most of the major subway lines.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a good time and the best is the staff. Always interested in help us. Clean place and good location. Things to emprove, the room 417 very very noisy. The hostel needs more public spaces.


74%

We stayed in a mixed share room with 2 guys ( we are 2 females). The room was very small and cramped. There was no space to put bags. Two in the room would have been plenty. Quite expensive for the size. Linen good. Bathrooms good.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time in NYC and the first time that I stay in a hostal. New York Budget Inn has everything you need. Confortable beds, internet, clean bathrooms. The staff helps you with everything you need. It was an amazing experience!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I was travelling with my daughter and we stayed 4 nights in total. Our room was tiny but immaculately clean with comfortable pillows . It would have saved shared bathroom time if there had been a mirror in the rooms. Clocks battery had stopped but was impressed that there was a clock even! Pity the windows were frosted - would have enjoyed looking out. Bathrooms great, loads of hot water, great showers and very clean - couldnt fault them. Also plenty of bathrooms per floor

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

At NYBI you get not only value for money but the experience of staying at a hotel where most of your needs as a traveller are met.Very helpful staff willing to go to any length to make your stay a memorable one.


94%

It was so good trip..I liked this hostel so much..Good staff,especially Mr Omar, clean room, excellent location and more..I suggest everybody. .


97%

It's a great hostel with lovely staff. Everything was nice and clean. The only thing its that the rooms are quite small for the price.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Hi, I had a wonderful time with you during my stay. I definitely would come back. Thank you, David

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice clean, well cared room, greaþ shower, clean, well cared. Very friendly personel. We didnt feel muchat home in the common room, the morning-donuts were awful, really! For the rest very nice place

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was nice, and clean. It was nice to have free pizza and karaoke night but would have been nicer if they had a proper communal area to do it in, having it in the reception is not ideal. Also, I think $5 for each bag they store for you is quite expensive. I think in the future I would use a HI hostel as they have all facilities for free. Most people staying in hostels are on a bit of a budget.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As HI accommodates 10-12 people in a room, we have no more then 4. For that reason they accommodate 667 as we prefer a more intimate setting and located on 34th St. Luggage storage is an option we offer our guests to maximize their remaining time in the city. Most properties do charge as space is limited here in NY Additionally, HI does not allow guests to accept packages and shipments and hold them until guests arrive...we do!!

83%

Everything was just good. Nothing to complaшn about.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

dormitory room was noise, but private room was calm but very small. However staffs are very friendly and funny

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(340 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback