X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3268 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A good place to stay in New York. The location is excellent as it is central to everything. The showers temperature is inconsistent though as it is either too hot or too cold and it is quite tricky to find the right temperature.


94%

This was a great hostel!


54%

I think the only reason why this hostel have a great pontuation it is because they offer prizes (like a trip to NY, including the flights) for those who make a review with at least 90%. The hostel have a good location, but the price is high because of this. The staffs generally are rude, and do not try to help. There is no breakfast and even, there are few activities made by the hostel, that the staff usually do not know about. Recommended only for those want just a bed. Nothing else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We do offer monthly prizes to reward guests for taking their time to write reviews. Our prices are competitive with Proprties that aren't situated in NYC. Standard prices are perhaps more expensive as real estate and all good typically more expensive.As we do not offer breakfast, we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee, tea and donuts. We offer a verity of activities from walking tours, pizza & karaoke parties, pub crawls, movie nights...

89%

Everything was fantastic except for when I checked out. Upon reviewing my credit card statement I noticed Instead of refunding me my towel/card deposit you took another chunk of money out.. I would greatly appreciate that money back please.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Please double check you statement we merely put a hold on your card. We had emailed you a copy of the transaction.

63%

Whilst the location and security of the hostel was great, there is no large common area (only a small area in reception) and there is no kitchen facilities. Be aware there is no elevator. The rooms are cleaned daily and the bathrooms are regularly cleaned throughout the day and night. My room was extremely noisy due to the traffic however you do get use to it. I was catching the subway late at night and never felt unsafe in the area.


91%

I think that the hostil should have a more complete breakfest.. All of others issue are very good.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review . As we do not offer breakfast, we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee, Hot chocolate, Tea and donuts. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with!!

91%

The staff is by far the best part of this Hostal. They are very nice and fun, by that reason alone I recommend this place. The location is also extremely good. The rooms have a prison-like feeling, they are very simple but functional. I stayed in a private 2 person room and was OK, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very clean and the shower worked fine. I definitively recommend this place (if you don't mind sleeping in a tiny but comfortable room).


80%

Great location, very clean and good value for money. But noise from outside at night is very loud.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize about the noise outside, some things we can't control,but please note that we do offer complimentary ear plugs for guests who might be light sleepers.

46%

Hostel is not close to any Metro and you have to walk to get to the hostel. you are sharing the toilet with so many people on the same floor and the walk way is so small. There is no Lounge room. Breakfast is just a coffee and a donuts served under the stairs to the reception. They even charge me tax on top of the money you pay to book the hostel, so what you see is not what you pay even though that's what hostelworld says.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please note that we are exactly 2 avenues/ blocks away from the Metro. There are 3 full shared bathrooms, 2 1/2 shard bathrooms per floor, not to mention our Private & Shared rooms inclusive of private bathrooms (Ensuite). Thats 1 bathroom per 3 people per floor. Per our website, we do not offer breakfast, however we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee & Donuts @ 8am (first come basis). As clearly stipulated when booking & terms and conditions: Taxes are NOT Included!

94%

Had an awsome time at NY budget inn, very friendly staff and great location!!! definitly recommend staying there.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean! You have the chance to fill your bottle with water for free. It was very loud the whole day, but i think its normal in New York City ;-) Friendly staff and you had the chance to print there for free.


100%

Every tahona was just perfect!!! Absolutamente todo perfecto, el staff fue increíble !! Saludos a Christopher !!


100%

Everyday when we came back into the hostel the rooms where clean and tidy. Even though the bathrooms were shared, they were always well maintained. the atmosphere in reception was great when we had free pizza and karioke. We would definitely reccomend staying at budget inn if you are travelling to new york. Great experience and very friendly.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant place just along from the empire state building, i would deffinately stay here again!


89%

it's wonderful to get a place near 33th street and 5th avenue. nice place to stay, clean and convenient.


91%

A nice addition would be reading lights for each bunk.


77%

Have stayed here a few times, great hostel for the money! Fantastic location, very clean, rooms a decent size, close to transport


63%

Personnell is not very friendly nor willing to make an effort to help

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Upon review of your reservation , we have 10 different notes on your account. As you didn't show up the first night of your reservation , you had argued for over an hour that our 48 cancelation policy was wrong and we had unfairly billed you . Another complaint you had made teas that you had made a mistake when booking thinking there was a bathroom in your private room and demanded a 50% reduction on your stay We work hard for our guests and our reputation, but this review is truly unfair!!

77%

The rooms were very small and basic, but I guess that's New York. The location was excellent, centrally located and in a safe area, and the staff was friendly.


94%

The room, bed linen, and facilities were clean and nice. They could use less chemicals when cleaning or choose more environmentally friendly cleaning chemicals (a lot of people have chemical sensitivities now)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We will definitely look into this. Thank you

(365 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback