X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2987 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great location and very reasonable pricing. I found the staff helpful and friendly.


94%

Really good choice of accommodation if your plans are go through Manhattan. Location couldn't be better, price corresponds to what you'll get and rly friendly staff. Nice and clean restrooms/showers. There is the BUS stop right in front of the building, subway 2 blocks far and you can take ferry from East 34th St (10mins walk) to south Manhattan or Brooklyn for $4 :) Also I have to recommend the pub behind the corner (Pig 'n' Whistle Murray Hill) and Barking Dog restaurant for breakfasts - 5mins

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great staff and good location. Rooms on 3rd ave can be very loud at night due to hospital in the same street. Otherwise comfortable beds and very very clean.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Brilliant location, and easy, clean, cheap room. A bit of a (genteel) fight to use the internet, and it would have been nice to have some kind of communal space to sit down. But overall, good value, given that Manhattan is not cheap...

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean hostel at a great location, for a fair price. Beds are kind of short though if you're tall and some of the younger staff seemed more interested in watching tv than actually helping you when you asked them something. Would still recommend it though.


86%

The bed is really comfortable, the restrooms are clean and the location is excellent. And at sunday and tuesday nights they have a karaoke with pizza and soft drink free. The breakfest is simple and limited.


83%

Good location and bed is comfortable and the place is clean. HOWEVER, make sure you DO NOT get the room facing the street. It gets incredibly noisy all night, I was not able to sleep at all. I and other 3 girls were right awake, could not sleep at all. Get the room on the higher floor that is NOT facing the street or close to the street.


74%

Basic, clean place. Very good value for money compared to most places to saty in New York, so I'd recommend.


89%

It was great a place, with great people. We didn't spend much time to hang out but it was fun.


94%

We had a great stay there!!! It is perfectly clean!! Everything!! They are cleaning all the time!! And the staff was really really helpful with everything and very friendly! Will definitely return to this place!!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very helpful.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best, if not the best place I've stay in NYC

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice hostel in a great location. I loved the free coffee and doughnuts in the morning! Staff were friendly and the bathrooms and beds were cleaned daily. The only downside for me was the banter. There was none at all. The most boring anti social guests I have ever stayed with. Nobody wanted to do anything or party so I ended up going out on my own. Shame really as NY is awesome.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The room was EXTREMELY tiny, it could not fit 2 open suitcases!!! The smell in the room was very annoying. Breakfast is very bad quality (no drink except coffee, no tea, and only small greasy doughnuts) Good point, the bathroom was very clean. Overall very low quality for the price.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you had reserved our Basic Twin Private Room, our most inexpensive room, we 9 other different room types available. We do not offer breakfast, however we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee and Donuts, not to shabby for quality.

80%

As cheap as I could find on Manhattan but still expensive. That's New York. It's nothing special. A clean bed and a shower. There's no other real facilities. The common area is the lobby. The staff are generally good. The big thing is the location. On 34th street with the Empire State and Times Square a short walk away! Fantastic!


80%

Good hostel right on 34th St. Good facilities, not much of a party/social atmosphere, but I didn't actually spend much time there (basically just sleeping). Cool spot.


100%

excellent hostel really helpful and friendly staff.


83%

Location was great, just 4 blocks from empire state building and several streets from chrysler building. People were friendly and very helpfull. Room was very small and here was no window, so if you plan to spend more time in a room, do not recommend. Otherwise, for short trip it was allright. Price excellent for New York.


89%

Thanks for the nice stay!

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This was a good place to stay in New York on a budget and you are in walking distance of several attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful, everything was clean and the wifi worked really well. The hostel lacks any cooking facilities and the breakfast is limited, but I accepted that and enjoyed food elsewhere.


(341 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback