X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2987 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The inn is axx hostel with en suite bathrro or communal ones. It is a bt expensive for this type ,especially if you come on weekends ($75 instad of $70 ). It is a good one wth the least expensive room rates in Manhattan area unless you move to other areas north of 100thStreet in Harlem or Bronx or Broolyn area. The good thing is it is close to Times Square ( 30 minutes walk). You save more as you do not need to a bus or subway ( $2.75 for a ride or $2.50 with Metrocard.$5 for lugguage deposit


69%

The cleanliness was the best part. Very well kept facility. 80 USD for a bunk bed is a little steep though...plus the extra 5$ for like everything...a towel, a locker, to hold your luggage if you come early.....it's a bit much.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We agree, New York City and State Taxes are expensive. New York City as a whole is very expensive and for that reason we are the best option to stay when visiting NYC! We offer our guests more then any other facility: Soap, Shampoo, Conditioner, slippers, Free Lockers, Free Wifi, Free computers for guests, Free Dunkin Donuts and Coffee, Free Pizza and karaoke parties, purified water bottle refilling station and so much more!!

94%

Very good location.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very attentive staff. Location couldn't be better. Right around the corner is a bar called Mercury with great food, great atmosphere, and happy hour drink specials! Don't go to the restaurant that they recommend right below the hostel. We were overcharged, and the service is horrible! Rooms are on the small side, but the A/C works, and there are enough bathrooms down the hall so that you don't have to wait. Overall, I would come back, but maybe stay in a smaller or private room.


80%

Clean, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, shower and bathrooms are fine. Staff at the front desk very helpful and friendly, also help you with your bags so general service was great! No elevator though so stairs would have been very difficult if i didnt have the helper as i had a lot of bags! great value for money considering location


80%

A little expensive, and store luggage is $5 for each after checking out, which I never heard any hostel does that. The staff is really nice though.


94%

Best value for money you can get in Manhattan. It is very clean and tidy and the staff is very helpful. It is close to everything either walking distance of just few stops with the subway. This is Manhattan so the rooms are tiny(I am186cm, 6' 2). It is a great place over all.


91%

Excellent but a lounge for quests would be great!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It's a really -really- affordable place. With that in mind it is really good overall and the staff is truly friendly and helpfull. The only thing is that our room (415) smelled quite bad. It must be the poor ventilation. Nothing big, just not pleasant. That said, it's a very good service and all for such an economic place.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The place was clean.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

5$ locker, cold shower, no wifi, they know it but can not do anything about it.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice location and the staff are helpful and friendly and try really hard to create a nice atmosphere which is a challenge in such a small place. The 4 bed dorm was a little cramped and could make things a little stress full when trying to pack, get in get out, use the bathroom. The showers have this weird disco coloured light thing going on, which is not so fun when you have a hangover. The water was hard to adjust.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We really enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were very clean as were the bathrooms! There were plenty of bathrooms to go round and barely ever a que at them! The location is great only 5 minutes from the Empire State Building! The reception and security staff were very friendly as were housekeeping! It did get very hot inside the building so we uses the air con in our room pretty much the whole time we were there! The only thing we didn't like was that there wasn't an opening window in our room!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Majority of the staff were friendly and such great help! In a good location, walkable to most areas, and if you don't want to walk a metro/subway is nearby. If I were to go back I would definitely stay there again. :-)


77%

the staff is helpful, they even carry your luggage up the stairs if they see you enter. 2 person room was small but you really don't need a big room when you're going to be out all day. the blankets on the bed were new and warm. bathrooms were also very clean.


83%

Top location! For Manhattan it does not seem possible to pay less yet the hostel is very clean, the staff is helpful. On the other hand it lacks a certain personal atmosphere as there is no kitchen (but lots of cheap places to eat around). Try to get the mixed 4 bed dorms in the x01-rooms as they seem to have a table and chair and slightly more space than the other dorms.


100%

It was an excellent time! Ive been in this hostel 2 times in 2 different years and they gave me an excellent service in both visits. Its a very nice place to be with your family, its very secure and the location is awesome! thanks for your excellent service

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Our room was really simple but just what we needed. It was clean, the location was perfect (midtown, near subway, 30mins walk to Central Park...) and the staff very nice. I would definitely recommend the place for people who are looking for a basic clean place to sleep but good location.


71%

The place is quite OK for the price but for me the mattress was to soft and there is no elevator- hard to reach the 4th floor ^^

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location in Midtown Manhattan! The price is as cheap as it can get in NYC but the hostel is still unbelievably clean. Never had to wait for the showers. Staff is helpful and friendly, yet they are very "professional". It's not the usual hostel atmosphere, yet they organize a pub crawl nearly every day. There are lots of cheap possibilities to eat in the area. I usually don't go to hostels twice but coming back to NYC, I'd think about that one seriously.


(339 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback