X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3760 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I rate everything excellent except the location (which is still very very good) because it was a bit of a long walk, for me, to the #1 subway line. However, this was a terrific place to stay! Clean, safe, great price. Also, the desk staff were very pleasant -- not always the case at hostels and budget hotels! (And I've stayed in quite a few, in the US and Europe.)

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We very much enjoyed staying there, it felt so comfortable and the staff were very helpful. It felt like we were living there as if it was a home. If we ever return to New York City, I would definitely want to stay here again as its everything you want from a hostel.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The entire hostel is well-kept. The rooms are clean. The staff are friendly and helped me navigate NYC. With subway stops nearby and an array of sights within walking distance, the location is superb.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but clean! Showers were always clean and hot. Excellent location, easy walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Grand Central Station and the New York Public Library. The hostel is up a flight of stairs, and then most rooms are up more stairs with no lift, so be aware if you have problems with stairs! Some staff were excellent and very helpful, others were more interested in watching the football than even catching your eye when talking to you.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't beat for price and location. Some might say too small, but for my time in NYC it was perfect. The staff were great, extremely helpful and polite.


100%

Excellent stay staff realy friendly so close to all facilities. Empire state building just 10 mins away with time square approx 20 min walk too couldnt stay in a better place so close to ameneties for such a small price would recommend to anybody.defo stay here again thanks to all staff very friendly and helpful *****

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Noisy at night, but I think you know that. Excellent location, staff very welcoming.


83%

The place is very good, very nice staff, clean, safe, well located and for NYC prices it was quite OK. Problems: except for the lobby there are no facilities at all. They offer a refrigerator and a microwave in the bedroom what is nice but not really convenient (no space to eat andeasy to make a mess). The other problem is noise. Female dorms are cheaper probably because their windows are straight on the 34th street, really loud. For this reason they should be even cheaper or properly insulated.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a 5 STAR Hostel!!! STAY HERE!!!! You're greeted at the door by smiling Rodney! Front desk staff go the extra mile to assist you in finding your way around the city and making the most of your time. This is one of the cleanest hostels on the planet! Karaoke & free pizza a few times a week for times when you want to rest your feet and have fun with other guests and staff! Complimentary soap, shampoo, slippers. Microwave & fridge in dorms Free filtered water. AAA+ Exceptional place!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly staff, location average because of the terrible noise on the street.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was good. The only problem was one of the windows in my room. It was not very well insulated....so it was noisy and cold during the night.


97%

really nice Hostel. Just bed often make a noise. sometime can't move in the bed.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was ok but that person on the front door should be fired! He has terrible manners! The day we were leaving the hostel it was raining and it was also breakfast time. We were told by other employee to wait our van inside because it was raining. But as soon as he left that grumpy man told us that we couldn't be waiting on the stairs. There was no place to wait because of the breakfast table so we finally had to wait outside in the rain for half an hour. He should be fired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your message. We have looked into this matter further. He claimed that he requested that you wait upstairs by the lobby rather then downstairs on the stairs due to concerns of fire code. Perhaps it wasn't explained clearly. We did go back to the cameras and noticed he was waiting in the rain to wait on your shuttle to arrive.

100%

I am from brazil, and a student from the science without border program , i stayed 3 nights in this hostel, this hostel is very well located, i always come back on foot from times square to the hostel...i would recommended it for other people.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly and helpful staff

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location for all big NY attractions. Great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time staying with you guys. Great value for money and it was so quiet. Being a hostel we were concerned about noise but we never heard a thing in a room. You are in a great location with lots of food, bars etc right near you. Thank you so much it was such a wonderful time.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The best of the hostel is its location! The mixed rooms are very small and uncomfortable. I suggest putting curtains on the beds for added privacy.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and suggestion. We will definitely look into the curtain idea.

100%

Great location and brilliant staff, very helpful and polite. Bathrooms always clean. Definitely better choice than a pricey hotel!

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice and modern hostel, warm welcome and staff helpful

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(291 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback