X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3634 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I absolutely recommend this hostel and post this review to thank the staff ( Tova, Lorena, Gloria, Omar, and the short cut hair style singing man ), because aylwais helpme to find atracctions in the map and help me with advice about any question I had.... the pizza night with karaoke are awesome and the breakfast is aylwis at 8 in the morning!!... the location is near every where walking...and the metro station is 3 blocks from the hostel... when I return to New York , sure I´ll stay here again.


97%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in! Was clean all the time, house cleaners came in every day and made the beds. Location was brilliant! 2 blocks from the train and an additional 2 for the Empire State Building. 15 minute walk to Penn Station (Maddison Square Garden). Provide free coffee and doughnuts for breakfast at 8. Was amazing. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in New York City. No issues what so ever.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed in a mixed dorm. Rooms were clean and there was lots of bathrooms so you were never waiting. Staff were friendly and quick to respond to any issues. Close to subway and about 15-20 min walk to Times Square. Great value for money. Lockers weren't large enough for a suitcase and you have to bring your own lock but they can store your luggage for $5 for your stay. Will definitely stay here again!


86%

Great location, Clean and good value for NYC. The slippers were a nice subtle touch.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We really ad a great moment at the hotel and i'm gonna recommend it to my friends. The staff was really welcoming and helpful

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

For a budget conscious traveller, this hostel is good enough. The rooms are quite small though so if you do stay at this hostel, I'd recommend you pack light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have a verity of room types, as you had reserved our most Basic Room, all of our other rooms are larger. We hope you had an enjoyable stay with us!!

100%

Really good place to stay! Staff really helpful and good location! Do not however stay on the street side! The noise kept us awake every night!


89%

One of the best hostel in Manhattan for NYC tourists.. Clean, nice and roadfront .. Subways and metro are easily accessible.. Cons would be compact rooms. Thats it.. So guys.. Go for it.. You might make some good friends too.. ! ( make reservations in advance as rooms are not easily available )

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a good hostel. Location is really good, a few blocks from Empire State and a lot of subway lines. However, rooms were very small, though clean. I would recommend staying in NYBI.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A great place to stay. Very clean, organized and safe. Plus, staff is really nice giving you some advice, directions, etc.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was amazing. The staff is really lovely, the location is like the best avaiable. On karaoke night people was having so much fun that i forgot that i was on a Hostel in another country. Worth every penny. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent value. Outstanding service by all the staff.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really cool hostel in a fantastic location. Very clean with great staff. But the hostel needs to have a no noise policy after midnight as i was awakened a few times during the night by shouting from noisy guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are so blessed that the majority of our guests are very respectful to each other's sleep.

100%

Really good place! Though the room was so hot and we couldn't keep the air con on because the noise of the air con wouldn't let us sleep so quite uncomfortable while sleeping. Other than that really good place!


89%

Bathrooms and rooms were immaculately clean. Karaoke night was fun

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff were kind of stiff and cold for the first day I arrived (a young black female and older Jamaican male). They should realise that people have probably come from a long flight and just lugged 23 kilos of luggage up that big flight of stairs. Not even a smile or hello. Other staff (young bald black guy) were nicer. Certainly not a place to meet people, although it's definitely trying with its Karaoke nights. Overall felt more like a hotel, great if you're needing a clean and safe bed.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct! We pride our selves on great customer service. We apologize you didn't feel that. We are always available and prompt with assisting guests with luggage as we understand the lengthily travel most guests have and the lack of a lift in our facility. We hope you had a great NYC experience.

80%

The staff was excellent an helpful. Rooms and restrooms pretty clean.. Rooms were tiny though but this what u get in budget... Wifi superfast. Location is quite a littel difficult for newbies...

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very well located place, close to the 33rd St. Station, safe and clean. The staff is very helpful, even though sometimes not very friendly.


80%

Great location and good value for money if you are only going to stay at the hostel while sleeping. Our dual private room was extremely small, with bunk beds and a closet. We stayed during winter time, and as it was freezing outside, the hostel ran the heating up – so much that we had to use the AC to the max to cool the room down to liveable temperatures. First hostel I've ever been to with absoltuely no parties or happenings in the lobby! Good/bad, depending on your preferences.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response. As you had only stayed for 1 night, we have many daily activities to have fun and meeting fellow guests. We wish you had informed us of the heat issue you experienced as we would have gladly adjusted it for you.

91%

Had a good time. Very clean for a hostel and was a good atmosphere. Would stay here again. Only negative is that it was noisy outside due to roadworks.


(282 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback