X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5089 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great staff! Very friendly and there's always something exciting happening! Always my first place to check when planning a trip to NY!


71%

I stayed over the new year period and it was unfortunately over-priced. Apart from the huge price hike, it was a pleasant stay. Felt like a hostel/hotel hybrid. My room had a fridge and microwave which was great, considering there is no shared kitchen facilities. Rooms big enough, medium-sized individual lockers, clean beds made every day 👌🏼 Bathrooms CONSTANTLY cleaned, which was amazing! And plenty of bathrooms with showers on every floor - this was on top of the ensuite in the room I had.


94%

A great place where to stay, the location is perfect, subway is just two blocks away, the staff is really kind and for breakfast you can take either coffee or hot chocolate and delicious baskin robin donuts. I'll definitely come back next year!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

100%

Everything you want is right on the doorstep. Friendly staff. Easy to book in with no fuss. Clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

97%

It's too much wonderful to stay there. reasonable price, clean atmosphere, kind staff & New York !! If I can get to NYC, I will stay again. Thanks

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and the consideration of returning. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

80%

Overall, satisfied, 10 min walk from Penn Station, good, simple, comfortable bunk bed

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I enjoyed staying here in nyc. Its location was great which was 2 or 3 blocks from the empire state building. Quiet and clean. They clean shared restroom many times a day and it is really clean! But the thing is there's no enough outlet in the room. Maybe none...except there's two in a restroom in the room. That was inconvenient cuz i had to go downstairs. Wifi was not bad but sometimes connection was not good. But the staff "Jose" was so nice and kind! He helped us in many ways. Thx!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was the best hostel I've ever stayed.. Really clean. The staff is amazing.. Beautiful people.. The only bad thing.. Do not hire the van service that they offer.. I had to wait for them to pick me up for over an hour and I almost miss my flight..

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and your consideration of best property you've stayed in. We apologized in behalf of the shuttle bus company which is not link to the hostel, this was the first time we experience such event. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

43%

Horrible is not enough to describe this

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our records do not show any problems or complaints with your stay. As a matter of fact you contacted us to inform us your flight was cancelled and we accommodated you. We offer a tremendous value for visitors to New York. Great location, safe comfortable rooms all at a budget price.

89%

Great hostel, really comfortable beds, very clean rooms with good facilities. bathrooms could be slightly cleaner but they are ok. Staff were very helpful. My only probelm with this hostel is the noise! constant traffic horns, sirens and people from the bars. constantly being woken up by this. needs sound proofing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. As we are located in Midtown Manhattan, near all midtown attractions they may be a little street transit. We do provide our guest with complimentary earplugs at our front desk. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

77%

The Hostel location is very good. It is just a few minutes walk to the Empire State, UN Headquarters, Grand Central Station and much more. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The only downsides are the tight bedrooms and corridors and the lack of a bigger social area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to assist you. As you have mentioned, we are 15 minutes away from all New York Midtown attractions therefore our space is very limited.

63%

only 2 socket in the dorm it will be good if there is light for every single bed small public area

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. There are night lights next to every bed in order to not disturb anyone in the rooms. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

89%

Great hostel if you just want to do the sights of New York on a budget and not really party as this hostel has no atmosphere at all. The facilities are great, showers/bathrooms cleaned regularly, staff are helpful, brilliant location and it's a great price for New York. Would definitely recommend if you just want to sight see and not really socialize.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are pleased to assist you. We highly appreciate your recommendations.

100%

Excellent service and attention . All very helpful , especially Manuel who was the one who helped us at all times. Bathrooms always clean , like blankets and towels. Cheap and reliable. Excelente atención y servicio. Todos muy serviciales, principalmente Manuel quien fue el que nos ayudó en todo momento. Baños siempre limpios, al igual que las frazadas y toallas. Barato y confiable.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel is Fine but a little bit overpriced from my point of view. Luggage Storage on the departure day came at an additional cost of 5 USD. The location is however not too far (30min walking distance) to some Manhattan highlights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Welcome to New York. Not only are we NOT overpriced but compared to most establishments in Manhattan (New York) we are one of the most reasonable. In addition we offer a high level of security, daily cleaning service and free wifi. We're a bargain in New York.

89%

Great location, two blocks from 33st subway station, bus stop in front of the hostel and within walking distance to some attractions. Triple private room was clean and equipped with fridge, microwave, tv and sink although it was not very spacious. Shared bathrooms were clean. Staff was nice and helpful. Great value for money and i would definitely stay again!


71%

I really enjoyed staying there; the staff was very welcoming. But in the room, we couldn't open the window and this us a really bad point when we want to change the air after the night.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the window. We have 24 hour maintenance staff. All you had to do was tell the front desk you were having a problem with the window.

100%

It is just perfect

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

91%

Would stay here again! Great location and price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Than you for your review. It's our pleasure to assist you. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to New York.

57%

The staff is very rude as they watch TV loudly in the lobby and it seems like you are disturbing them. The worse HostelWorld experience I've had. Also, they make you pay a $15 deposit for (dirty) towels and an (electronic) room key in addition for a $5 fee for leaving your bag at the hostel for even 2h! Great location but regulations are pretty bad, as well as the staff. We stayed for a weekend with my girlfriend..

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have reprimanded our staff for their rudeness. We pride ourselves on our customer service. Unlike other hostels, we provide large luxurious towels and proximity (not swipe) key cards. As such we charge a REFUNDABLE deposit. This ensures the items are returned and we are able to provide new incoming guests with the same benefit you had.

(348 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback