X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2304 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Actually booked the room 2 weeks ago but had to postpone my trip due to the snow storm. The kind people at New York Budget Inn allowed us to change the booking to a week later at no extra charge! Checked in at 2pm on the 21st of Feb and I was immediately impressed by the genuine warmth of the staff and the cleanliness of the room. We had the bunk beds which came with a microwave and fridge, tv, sink and lockers. There were 3 bathrooms every floor with additional 2 toilets. Highly recommended!


77%

Staff were very friendly. Location was great. Rooms were very small but clean. good place to stay if you are on a budget.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Shower didn't have any warm water on our last day. They wrote a note with their apologies, but this didn't help us much.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We were upgrading our hot water boiler. The work started at 4am and was completed by 7am. We apoligize for the inconvenience

91%

Everything here is really cool! Especially staff, so funny, enthusiastic and hospitable! I very enjoyed my time there, but just a little thing made it not so perfect, I left my shampoo in restroom at night, the second morning it was gone...Apart from that, highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are constantly cleaning and maintaining a high level of cleanliness throughout our facility and most importantly in our shared bathrooms. We hold everyones left over soap and shampoo for 5 days left in our shared bathrooms in the event to reclaim it unless it is empty. Thank you for recommending us and spreading the good word.

94%

great staff, clean, great location. really enjoyed the stay

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The location is great—a very short walk to the 6 train, and its very easy to get to any part of the City from there. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby as well, however the street noise isn't bad at all. The bathrooms were always extremely clean, and the staff here were very helpful and friendly. They are always have events for the guest, and there were multiple nights that involved free pizza. I'll definitely be staying here again before I visit Europe!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hotel is well located. The room was a bit small, lacked a cabinet. Overall, the stay Satisfied us.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

its the best place to stay


97%

Good hostel with TV's in the room. It's more like a small hotel.


77%

It was good enough for one night in NY. Thank you.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hostel are Great, Location is good, nice rooms, the only problem is that don't have elevators, its kind of difficult to take heavy bags on that sters, btw if u want that kind of luxury look for a hotel, very clean, amazing staff, clean bathrooms all time, i loved to stay there and on the next time that i go to new york i will stay there.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Don't choose this hostel if you intend to spend time only in the hotel. My room was very small without any window (matchbox bedroom). That's the only drawback with the premises arrangement. The rest was good. The bedroom and the bathroom is cleaned every day. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The hostel is very well located in Manhattan and it's safe. Some activities are organized by the hostel (karaoke, free pizza night, pub crawling, visits with guide etc.). Good pick!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We offer many different room types as you had reserved our Basic Twin Private Room. Thank you for participating in our activities. We hope you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to having you back again on your next visit to NYC.

71%

Great Manhattan location, but the rooms are extremely small and the walls paper thin, with loud heating pipes! You'll hear everything. Don't count on getting a good night's sleep without earplugs! Basically no communal areas, and staff pretty disinterested. But the locations great. Alright place to stay if you're out in town all the time anyway.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have may different variations room types as you had chosen our Basic Twin Private Room. Our Maintnance team was notified about the heating pipe in your room when you had checked out, and immediately adjusted. As we do not have a huge common area we do have many scheduled events held in our lobby which include: movie night, pizza and karaoke , game night and other activities outside our facility like scheduled walking tours to meet other guests.

80%

Rooms have very thin walls, which means when the cleaning staff start at 7am you can hear them shouting down the hall to each other. Other than that it was fine.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your message. We have 24 hour Maintnance staff constantly cleaning. Our housekeeping staff start at 10am. We will be sure that all staff will be more quite in the morning. We apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to NYC.

91%

Fantastic location and very good staff. Rooms are small but that's NYC for ya. Only complaint is the pipes making crazy noises throughout the night.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great stay at the new York budget inn. The location was fantastic!. Although the rooms were quiet small it's expectedIt is pretty noisythe hallways were so loud. Everything was great until the last night where a staff member came into our room at 2am and when he realized we were in the room he apologized. This was so unprofessional, staff members should know Which rooms are occupied. For 2 young girls this creeped us out abit wondering why he came in, in the 1st place

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As we always work hard to improve our facility. We are in the process of repainting our rooms and doing some remodeling. We had received notice from our staff member thru our incident report that he entered your room 203 instead of 303 where he was finishing up painting. This is by no means an excuse, just an explanation as this incident is the first of the kind and we truly apologize for making you feel uncomfortable.

94%

Wonderful stay!! It only miss a bigger common area, but w hostel has an amazing localization, it's really clean and the crew is really good!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Keep up the good work! I'm very pleased with our stay at New York Budget Inn. Great location, clean place, nice people at the reception!! :-)

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us!! We are constantly working hard to improve our service and facility. Please feel free to tell us how we can do better!

91%

Can't rave about the staff enough, they were absolutely fabulous! Eager to help whenever we needed assistance or even advice about the best times to do attractions! The facilities were clean, everything was in good working order and the location was pretty awesome :)

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel fills a need in NYC.Excellent location .Very clean.Before this hostel you had to go to Brooklyn or Hosteling InternaTIONAL ON 116 BY SUBWAY.


(215 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback