X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3886 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The facilities need some improvement!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. Just last month we purchased new bunk beds, new linen, new towels, and new pillows. We ask all guests to fill out their in room surveys and receive a 5% discount on the first nights stay. Additionally, we welcome all guests to share all suggestions via email: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com

63%

Yes the location is good but for the price you pay you dont have more than that. Rooms are really small, you pay for laguagge storage (they say bc the room They have its small. What a stupid reason). There is no breakfast, unless you want to be up really early to have some munchkins. No room to meet people. That was my last hostel on my world tour and i guess i havent had such an experience before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. NYC tends to be more expensive then most however we are competitively priced, even compared to properties located out of the city. We offer a luggage storage option for guests who want to make most of their remaining time in the city. We do not offer breakfast however we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee hot chocolate and donuts @ 8am on a first come basis.

80%

The staff are the best asset here. They helped us book a room for our whole group even though the website says that groups over 2 people maybe split up. They were expecting us and greeted me by name even though we checked in close to midnight in the end. They were helpful through our whole stay and the morning hot chocolate (or coffee if you prefer) and donuts was great for jetlagged early risers. Only issue was slightly slow wifi connection but we were out and about in the city anyway

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Very small public area, no kitchen and totally tired staff, HI is cheaper and better, though the location of Budget Inn is perfect

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As space is limited in NYC, we do not have a dedicated Kitchen however most of our rooms (other then our Basic Rooms) have a refrigerator and microwaves. Our Shared rooms have a max capacity of 4 beds per rooms as HI, in an inferior location has 10 people per room for the same price. Our front desk has a minimum of 2- 3 agents per shift to better assist guests and ensure that both check in and checkouts are done in an expeditious manner.

69%

Context - I'm a 53 year old woman who usually stays in 3-4 star hotels and likes camping. A friend and I chose the NY Budget Inn to save money. Location was good for walking, the shuttle to JFK, and Penn Station. Close to the subway and walkable to Times Square etc. The room smelled like urine. (202?) We slept with the windows open (due to the smell) which was okay since it wasn't too cold. If it had been summer heat or winter cold, I wouldn't have been able to sleep there. Otherwise clean

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our housekeeping staff vacuum all rooms daily. Additionally we shampoo and deodorize our carpets twice a week. Unfortunately, the city has just replaced the gas lines on the street and caused a horrible smell in the afternoon due to a gas leak. We apologize for the inconvenience.

80%

The atmosphere was great but not all staff members were nice. The location is fantastic and the facilities are OK. This is important: I strongly recommend that all beds should have something to cover on the sides (like a curtain or something), giving more privacy for your clients (something that you can't even know if your roommate is there).

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize that all of our staff we not accommodating . We would like to know more, please email us as we want to know more about your experience: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com That is a great suggestion, we will definitely look into it!!

91%

Big hostel with helpful staff. Rooms were a bit small. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Security was perfect: locks to front door, in the reception and to rooms, as well as a fully staffed reception. Luggage storage cost $5, but they had full control on it while it was left there! Close to subway (3 blocks), buses (on curb outside) and Grand Central Station (6 blocks or so). Would stay there again :).


86%

2 things are to be noted - Corner room is very noisy an it is next to the streets. Even with the earplug but you cannot wake up late. - Internet is so slow or unusable around the peak period (7pm-12am) Everything else is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have double checked all the bandwidth in our facility, and speeds are at optimum levels. On every floor we have 3 routers and perhaps you may have connected to the upper floors

83%

Great Hostel. You're a bus and a subway away from almost all Manhattan. Friendly neighboor and we had no problems at all. Some of the staff was very nice, other ones ok. The bathrooms were very clean and the people who clean it are very friendly and accesible.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This Hostel is amazing. The location is excellent, because it's in Manhattan and close to many places. There are many subway stations on the 34th St so you can easily go anywhere. The staff is kind and helpful, the bathrooms are always clean, the shared rooms are safe and you don't have to worry about losing your belongings. I stayed in a Single Private room and in a 4 bed Mixed Room. I loved both experiences. Next time I go to NYC I'm definetly going to stay in NYBI.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everybody was very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and always clean, as well as the facilities

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Wish my room had a window where you could look outside.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, very organized, it's also very well located (two blocks from the subway), walking distance to some sightseeing and good restaurants, bars and cafes around. Omar is the best at reception! :) Would definetelly come back and recommend!


63%

I loved my stay at New York Budget Inn! However I wish you guys had a common room or just a larger place to sit and chill. The breakfast could easily serve bread and butter instead of sweets! Not every room has frigde and microwave. I did travel with others, who had these things and payed the same as me. I felt kind of cheated... Loved the location though! :)

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. All of our rooms but our Basic Twin Private Rooms are inclusive of a refrigerator, microwaves, and a sink. The price point varies on the room types as we have many to choose from. Please visit our website for actual pictures of all the room types we offer. As space is limited in NYC we do not have the facility to offer breakfast. We do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee, hot chocolate and donuts on a first come basis at 8am.

66%

I suppose you get what you pay for! Our private twin bunk room was very small but clean & tidy, as were all the bathrooms. We certainly hadn't expected maid service to clean and make our beds every day - very nice indeed. The location was good with plenty of bars & restaurants on the doorstep which in New York that isn't always the case. Two negatives though - the noise from the road is unbearable & the staff on reception aren't the friendliest - shame coz that would have made all the difference

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Manhattan does tend to be tight however we have a verity of room types as you had reserved our most economical private room, our Basic Twin Private. We apologize about the noise, however NYC is always busy with people and cars at all hours. We do offer complimentary earplugs at the reception. We would like to know more about your interaction with our staff in order to rectify this. Please email us: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com We always have room to improve.

80%

Our stay was very nice. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. But our room was towards the Street and there was noise all the time. So be prepared!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. NYC isn't the quietest city for sure, but please note that we offer complimentary earplugs. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to NY!

97%

Clean good location great value very helpful and friendly staff

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

All but one staff member were rude, rolling their eyes and making me feel like I'm an inconvenience to them. Too busy eating chips and reading their magazine.. People that stayed in the hostel were pretty awful too, tending to have a mini party in the hallways at 2am, and of course staff encouraging them. Otherwise, clean and safe accommodation, don't expect anything 'fancy' (such as towels, $5)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We noticed that your room was located by the front desk as guest leave the lobby and enter towards their rooms, perhaps they were too loud, something we do not encourage. We do offer towels with a $5 deposit that can be exchanged at anytime at the front desk for a clean towel and is refunded upon check out

100%

Perfect location and facilities. Easy to find and very, very close to remarkable places like Grand Central, Times Square and Central Park. Total value for the money. Free coffee, donuts and pizza nights twice a week. Absolutely will come back there!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

always enjoy coming to this place. They make you feel important here


(262 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback