X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2855 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

the beds are like that you are sleeping on a cloud i wish i can live at the hostel is a very excellent place in manhattan

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Cleanliness excellent, staff helpful, very good hostel.


100%

I highly recommend this hotel. Everything was good about it. I could fault nothing. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It is a great place to stay when you don't want to break the bank. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

First time in New York and stayed at Budget Inn after reading a lot of positive reviews and I was not disappointed! This place is ideally located in midtown, a 5 min walk to the Empire State Building! There is a subway station down the street which can easily be used for quick runs to lower Manhattan. The staff where all really nice and the accommodation was fantastic, plenty if shared washrooms on all the floors, I never had to wait to use one. I will deffienaly stop here again when I'm back!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. Nice touches like soap, shampoo, slippers, coffee and donuts. Small common area, so difficult to meet others but you are in NYC after all so many things to keep you occupied - was perfect for a good nights sleep!


83%

Awesome hostel right in Manhattan! The staff was super friendly and helpful...however the atmosphere wasn't really a "hostel" atmosphere - separate rooms, very small common area, etc. It was very clean but the bathrooms were a little danky (my roomie's shower was ridiculously hot and wouldn't get any colder). However I'd definitely recommend this place if you're looking to stay near the lower east side near the Empire State Building - there's a close subway station (the 6) a few blocks away.


83%

The only negative is that there is no elevator and it is not handicap accessible.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, pretty close to metro line


100%

I would recommend this hostel to my friends and will definitely go again next time I visit New York.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Room with 4 bunk beds too small, would better suit a double bed. Lockers just big enough for a backpack.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We will review your suggestion with upper management, however Manhattan in general is tight on space. The lockers are intended to be able to safeguard your items.

89%

No kitchen for the guests. Only microwave but it is a personal one in the room. With also a personal fridge it is enough even if it is not easy to prepare food in very small bedroom. Main problem is noise because of traffic in the street but staff is exceptional (kind, always available to help) and there are lots of people to clean so it is very very clean. Situation is central (it explains noise). The consequence is that all restaurants,bars and supermarkets are just close to the hostel.


100%

Great place. Great fun meeting nice people from around the world in a friendly environment. Only negative: upgrade internet to faster speed. Way too slow!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect location, Breakfast of champions, Donuts and coffee. Clean with friendly staff. Need a bigger common room tho


80%

No free buggage storage like another hotel! I have to pay $5 for check in and $5 for check out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Baggage storage is an option for guests to maximize their remaining time in NYC. As space is limited in Manhattan, we just do not have the space to accommodate all guests luggage and therefor we find ourselves needing to charge a fee in order to accommodate those guests who are willing to pay a $5.00 fee.

94%

Amazing hostel, with amazing staff, in an amazing city. 'Mac and O'.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The New York Budget Inn is very well situated. The staff members are really friendly and welcoming. Even if the rooms ar small this accomodation is perfect to stay and discover NYC for families who want to travel without breaking the bank.


80%

Very nice and practical place for a week end in NYC

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a great and tidy place. Although it was very hot at the time in NY, the rooms were cool because of the efficient air-con. Bathrooms are tidy and overall it was a great experience. The only drawback I'd point is the lack of common space for socializing. The area by the reception is rather small.


83%

New York Budget Inn is a perfect place for people who want a nice basic place to stay for a cheap price. Is has everything you need. The staff is nice and there is even free coffee and donuts in the morning. Our room was very small, but the hostel is clean and the location is great. Within 10 minutes you are in front of the empire state building!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location, plenty of restaurants, stores and bars just outside the place. I would live in the neighborhood if I moved to NYC. But there are some drawbacks. No elevator means you have to lug yor luggage up the narrow stairs. I stayed in a dorm. The bunk beds are quite awful in there. There is no big room or lounge area where you can gather and meet fellow travelers; so there was no sense of "community" that you get at other hostels. There are too many signs telling you that you about fines

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we do not have elevator, our staff are available 24/7 to assist guests with their luggage. as we have just received your review we ran to your bed and noticed that your bed was a bit loose and had it tightened. As space is limited here in NYC for a large common space, we do maximize the facility we have. Additionally, we have activities daily for guest to have the opportunity to meet fellow travelers. The only fines posted IS NO SMOKING IN THE ROOM. Its Standard

(321 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback