X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3377 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Noisy at night, but I think you know that. Excellent location, staff very welcoming.


83%

The place is very good, very nice staff, clean, safe, well located and for NYC prices it was quite OK. Problems: except for the lobby there are no facilities at all. They offer a refrigerator and a microwave in the bedroom what is nice but not really convenient (no space to eat andeasy to make a mess). The other problem is noise. Female dorms are cheaper probably because their windows are straight on the 34th street, really loud. For this reason they should be even cheaper or properly insulated.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a 5 STAR Hostel!!! STAY HERE!!!! You're greeted at the door by smiling Rodney! Front desk staff go the extra mile to assist you in finding your way around the city and making the most of your time. This is one of the cleanest hostels on the planet! Karaoke & free pizza a few times a week for times when you want to rest your feet and have fun with other guests and staff! Complimentary soap, shampoo, slippers. Microwave & fridge in dorms Free filtered water. AAA+ Exceptional place!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly staff, location average because of the terrible noise on the street.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was good. The only problem was one of the windows in my room. It was not very well insulated....so it was noisy and cold during the night.


97%

really nice Hostel. Just bed often make a noise. sometime can't move in the bed.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was ok but that person on the front door should be fired! He has terrible manners! The day we were leaving the hostel it was raining and it was also breakfast time. We were told by other employee to wait our van inside because it was raining. But as soon as he left that grumpy man told us that we couldn't be waiting on the stairs. There was no place to wait because of the breakfast table so we finally had to wait outside in the rain for half an hour. He should be fired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your message. We have looked into this matter further. He claimed that he requested that you wait upstairs by the lobby rather then downstairs on the stairs due to concerns of fire code. Perhaps it wasn't explained clearly. We did go back to the cameras and noticed he was waiting in the rain to wait on your shuttle to arrive.

100%

I am from brazil, and a student from the science without border program , i stayed 3 nights in this hostel, this hostel is very well located, i always come back on foot from times square to the hostel...i would recommended it for other people.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly and helpful staff

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location for all big NY attractions. Great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time staying with you guys. Great value for money and it was so quiet. Being a hostel we were concerned about noise but we never heard a thing in a room. You are in a great location with lots of food, bars etc right near you. Thank you so much it was such a wonderful time.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The best of the hostel is its location! The mixed rooms are very small and uncomfortable. I suggest putting curtains on the beds for added privacy.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and suggestion. We will definitely look into the curtain idea.

100%

Great location and brilliant staff, very helpful and polite. Bathrooms always clean. Definitely better choice than a pricey hotel!

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice and modern hostel, warm welcome and staff helpful

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I always wanted to stay in this Hostel, the truth is that without disappoint the budget inn have to review some aspects to truly deserve the grade you have on hostelworld. Need a lounge where you can have meals and use a personal computer, because the lobby is insufficient. windows need to fully close. omar is a thoughtful guy in teh staff. Breakfast is enough, but served in pathetic place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As we do not have a kitchen, most of our rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. Unfortunately, Manhattan is very tight on space. As we do not offer breakfast, we do offer complimentary: Dunkin Donuts Coffee, Donuts, hot chocolate, tea, and apples.

91%

All the staff were really friendly and helpful. It s nice staying in a place where people care and are kind. Very clean place and great location!!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly staff and support 24 h per day!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location - great! Walking distance to many highlights (Empire State Building, Rockefeller center, Times Square) and transportation (subway, bus, train)..but also very noisy because of the outside traffic. The room was quite small but clean, especially the bathrooms. Overall I would recommend Budget Inn for everyone who is interested in exploring the city and not staying in the room/hostel for the whole day.


89%

We spent one night here and It was a really nice hostel, the best hostel I've ever been to. It was clean, great location, good service and you get free donuts and coffee or hot chocolate in the morning. The only negative part was that we were on the side where we heard traffic and construction work all night so it was hard to sleep.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. As the temporary road work is almost completed, please note that we offer complimentary ear plugs. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to NYC.

86%

Excellent location close to everything in Manhattan. Empire state round the corner, grand central station 10mins walk away, Penn station a few blocks away and times square 15-20kins walk. Food all around and convince stores aswell. As for the hostel itself, very noisy on the e34th side, but it is nyc so unit to be expected. Good sized rooms, nice staff, bathrooms with single toilet and shower on third floor, not sure about others. Small communal room at front with public computers. Nice place

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(361 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback