X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3804 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

For a budget conscious traveller, this hostel is good enough. The rooms are quite small though so if you do stay at this hostel, I'd recommend you pack light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have a verity of room types, as you had reserved our most Basic Room, all of our other rooms are larger. We hope you had an enjoyable stay with us!!

100%

Really good place to stay! Staff really helpful and good location! Do not however stay on the street side! The noise kept us awake every night!


89%

One of the best hostel in Manhattan for NYC tourists.. Clean, nice and roadfront .. Subways and metro are easily accessible.. Cons would be compact rooms. Thats it.. So guys.. Go for it.. You might make some good friends too.. ! ( make reservations in advance as rooms are not easily available )

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a good hostel. Location is really good, a few blocks from Empire State and a lot of subway lines. However, rooms were very small, though clean. I would recommend staying in NYBI.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A great place to stay. Very clean, organized and safe. Plus, staff is really nice giving you some advice, directions, etc.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was amazing. The staff is really lovely, the location is like the best avaiable. On karaoke night people was having so much fun that i forgot that i was on a Hostel in another country. Worth every penny. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent value. Outstanding service by all the staff.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really cool hostel in a fantastic location. Very clean with great staff. But the hostel needs to have a no noise policy after midnight as i was awakened a few times during the night by shouting from noisy guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are so blessed that the majority of our guests are very respectful to each other's sleep.

100%

Really good place! Though the room was so hot and we couldn't keep the air con on because the noise of the air con wouldn't let us sleep so quite uncomfortable while sleeping. Other than that really good place!


89%

Bathrooms and rooms were immaculately clean. Karaoke night was fun

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff were kind of stiff and cold for the first day I arrived (a young black female and older Jamaican male). They should realise that people have probably come from a long flight and just lugged 23 kilos of luggage up that big flight of stairs. Not even a smile or hello. Other staff (young bald black guy) were nicer. Certainly not a place to meet people, although it's definitely trying with its Karaoke nights. Overall felt more like a hotel, great if you're needing a clean and safe bed.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct! We pride our selves on great customer service. We apologize you didn't feel that. We are always available and prompt with assisting guests with luggage as we understand the lengthily travel most guests have and the lack of a lift in our facility. We hope you had a great NYC experience.

80%

The staff was excellent an helpful. Rooms and restrooms pretty clean.. Rooms were tiny though but this what u get in budget... Wifi superfast. Location is quite a littel difficult for newbies...

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very well located place, close to the 33rd St. Station, safe and clean. The staff is very helpful, even though sometimes not very friendly.


80%

Great location and good value for money if you are only going to stay at the hostel while sleeping. Our dual private room was extremely small, with bunk beds and a closet. We stayed during winter time, and as it was freezing outside, the hostel ran the heating up – so much that we had to use the AC to the max to cool the room down to liveable temperatures. First hostel I've ever been to with absoltuely no parties or happenings in the lobby! Good/bad, depending on your preferences.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response. As you had only stayed for 1 night, we have many daily activities to have fun and meeting fellow guests. We wish you had informed us of the heat issue you experienced as we would have gladly adjusted it for you.

91%

Had a good time. Very clean for a hostel and was a good atmosphere. Would stay here again. Only negative is that it was noisy outside due to roadworks.


94%

We choose the hostel because of its location : Just a short walk to the Empire State Building and Grand Central Terminal for a good price. + It's safe (3 times badging before we were in our room) + Clean bathrooms (always hot water and more than enough bathrooms) + Friendly : The people at the reception were very kind and always there to help you or to give you information. - Rooms : a bit too small (dificult to open your luggage) and way to hot (no possibility to turn off heating)


69%

Very upset about the climate in rooms! Too hot or too cold! And the noise from tubes was really annoying! Why don't you do something to solve the situation!?

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience. As you only stayed for 1 night, we had a team in the following day to fix your radiator. We wish you had informed us of this issue earlier rather then waiting to let us know until checkout. Additionally, we would have either switched your room or upgraded you.

66%

Value for money is good, considering you are in walking distance of Time Square, Grand Central, 5th Ave. etc. The restrooms (shower and toilet) were clean. The private room we were in was tiny, but all you need is a (bunk)bed (that was kinda unstable though). The air was super dry and hot. The strong wifi connection was a good thing. There are no communal areas or kitchens as you might find in most hostels. But everything else is nearby.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As space is extremely expensive & limited in Manhattan we offer an inexpensive option. We offer a verity of different room types. You had reserved our most economical room type- Our Basic Twin Private Room. All of our other room types are inclusive of a refrigerator and microwave as we do not have the space for a kitchen facility.

80%

Everything was great and I was enjoying my stay until there was a mix-up regarding when I would be leaving. One of the staff made a mistake, which was understandable. But then the girl who told me about the mix-up was very rude and basically insisted the whole mix-up was my fault. Other than the two ladies I dealt with that day (especially the one), the rest of the staff and experience was great.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

They do everything possible to make this accommodation be the best in its class.


(280 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback