X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4395 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great place to stay, price for location was good; not far walk from most tourist areas and multiple train lines.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The bed of the room with one bed is too small to sleep 2 persons. It is suitable for one person, besides the bed is too soft. The room with 2 beds is too small like a prison.


100%

Awesome hostel, we enjoyed our time there. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the location was amazing. Room had everything we needed.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Pros-Central, lots of cafes and restaurants and subway line two blocks away. Cons.-No kitchen,no lift and no where to socialize and meet people if you traveling on your own.


74%

This hostel should have an elevator.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Although our property does not have an elevator are staff will always cheerfully carry your luggage to and from your room.

97%

This hostel was perfect!!. It's location is really good and makes it easy to walk most places in Manhattan; also, it is close to subway and bus routes. The rooms, bathrooms and common areas were good, cozy, clean and spacious. The staff is amazing! Very nice and helpful, they know about different services in NY as well as parties and places to have fun. Also..they give donuts and coffee for breakfast :) I definitely recommend this hostel!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • cs2244
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great clean hotel, just would have been good to have some kitchen facilities to make food ie kettle and toaster.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As we do not have a dedicated kitchen facility, all of our rooms except for our Basic Rooms include a microwave and refrigerators

86%

Wifi didn't work in my room so had to be next to the stairs to get another one and that's the only place i got to meet hostel people, it lacks of a good common area. It's expensive for not including breakfast but it's also very well located. One night, I don't know how but a drunk guy made it through security and stayed at the room and they couldn't make him go away... Cool he didn't locked himself in my room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. The wifi is set up with 3 triangular hotspots on each floor. In order to maximize bandwidth, please be sure to log into the designated wifi on your floor. As we are limited in space we have daily activities in and outside our property for guests to meet fellow travelers. As we do not serve breakfast we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts, Coffee and hot chocolate. It was 4th of July and the guest did have alcohol and attempted to go to the wrong room

77%

Pros.-The location is great and the place is really clean. The rooms are huge and they have huge lockers too. The location is just great very close to subway line, restaurants and cafes. You can pretty much walk to so many tourist places from that hostel. Cons.-They need a lift in that place. If you like to cook and are traveling by yourself then look somewhere else as that place does not have any kitchen and an area to socialize. They have few couches near the front office but thats it.


100%

Lovely welcoming staff. Great location. would recommend to anyone :)

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

L'hostello è centralissimo e molto comodo, le camere un po' rumorose per via delle strade sottostanti, i bagni sono pulitissimi e molto comodi, una cosa che odio è la mochette sul pavimento che in America va ancora di moda...tutto sommato gran bel ostello..


86%

Staff were very professional and friendly. The rooms are tiny but would come back again.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good hostel, the staff is really nice and they always try to help in everything. It has a pretty good location, near to the subway. The only thing was that the restrooms weren't very clean and too hot inside.


94%

Can it be more secure? No. the camera in the koridor is saying all the going on outside your room. The cleaners does a nice jobb and its fresh. The bathroom are so nice that i was suprised, soap shampoo and even conditioner. A sense of luxury and is controlled several times a day. The only spot was that the internet on wifi was a bit slow some times. But its the same at almost all places in town with wifi. Go for it! Its the best bang for bucket you kan get in manhattan! Swede.


83%

I was so busy seeing everything that I was barely in the hostel but it served its purpose as a bed for the night. Comfy beds and room had air on and a fan which was necessary. Bit of noise from the street but honk that is to be expected anywhere in NYC and was fine with earplugs. Location was safe etc just found I wanted to be closer to downtown most of the time so would probably look for somewhere nearer there next time- although will be hard pushed to find similar value for money!


89%

Really enjoyed my stay. The staff were fantastic! Friendly and helpful. Thanks!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff was always very helpful and attentive. However, the prices could be lower for the dorms. Thank you!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, the beds are really comfortable and my bed was made up each day, I never had that in a hostel before. The staff are wonderful, helpful and friendly, I would stay there again. I only gave good for facilities as there is no kitchen but the rooms have a fridge and a microwave. The free karaoke and pizza night was great fun.


83%

Thank you


91%

The guys at the front desk-super friendly and helpful, morning and night. Small rooms, but of course, it's NYC! clean, BEST location, right down the street from the Empire State Building. It's expensive, but it's NYC and NYC is expensive!---you can't get better for a lower price.


(345 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback