X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3565 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very friendly staff except one staff was very annoying when we checked in at the first time. Overall is very nice hostel!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent and friendly staff. Very clean. Great location. Excellent value.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

As mentioned on the questionnaire completed at departure, the only adverse comments were regarding the draught through the windows but that was rectified with a blanket taped over it. Whilst it was noisy outside at night we fully appreciate you have no control over the roadworks in a city that doesn't sleep at night.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Evereything was fine, great location, nice staff and really close to all midtown landmarks of NYC (Empire State Building, Times Square, etc...). I just missed a common room to get in touch with other visitors.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean, fun, safe Hostel in great location!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hotel. I had a private double bed suite with my partner, and it was extremely comfortable. The shared washrooms were always clean, and we felt very safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is extremely convenient, with a 24h Duane Reade right outside.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for a great stay. Miles better in terms of cleanliness and customer service than other hostels. Would definitely stay again.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff is nice, location is excellent. But the bunkbed room was way too small. Hardly room for luggage. The whole place is cramped it's more a sleeping factory. My bed was broken and taped together, no kidding. I did not sleep well.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I rate everything excellent except the location (which is still very very good) because it was a bit of a long walk, for me, to the #1 subway line. However, this was a terrific place to stay! Clean, safe, great price. Also, the desk staff were very pleasant -- not always the case at hostels and budget hotels! (And I've stayed in quite a few, in the US and Europe.)

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We very much enjoyed staying there, it felt so comfortable and the staff were very helpful. It felt like we were living there as if it was a home. If we ever return to New York City, I would definitely want to stay here again as its everything you want from a hostel.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The entire hostel is well-kept. The rooms are clean. The staff are friendly and helped me navigate NYC. With subway stops nearby and an array of sights within walking distance, the location is superb.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but clean! Showers were always clean and hot. Excellent location, easy walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Grand Central Station and the New York Public Library. The hostel is up a flight of stairs, and then most rooms are up more stairs with no lift, so be aware if you have problems with stairs! Some staff were excellent and very helpful, others were more interested in watching the football than even catching your eye when talking to you.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't beat for price and location. Some might say too small, but for my time in NYC it was perfect. The staff were great, extremely helpful and polite.


100%

Excellent stay staff realy friendly so close to all facilities. Empire state building just 10 mins away with time square approx 20 min walk too couldnt stay in a better place so close to ameneties for such a small price would recommend to anybody.defo stay here again thanks to all staff very friendly and helpful *****

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Noisy at night, but I think you know that. Excellent location, staff very welcoming.


83%

The place is very good, very nice staff, clean, safe, well located and for NYC prices it was quite OK. Problems: except for the lobby there are no facilities at all. They offer a refrigerator and a microwave in the bedroom what is nice but not really convenient (no space to eat andeasy to make a mess). The other problem is noise. Female dorms are cheaper probably because their windows are straight on the 34th street, really loud. For this reason they should be even cheaper or properly insulated.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a 5 STAR Hostel!!! STAY HERE!!!! You're greeted at the door by smiling Rodney! Front desk staff go the extra mile to assist you in finding your way around the city and making the most of your time. This is one of the cleanest hostels on the planet! Karaoke & free pizza a few times a week for times when you want to rest your feet and have fun with other guests and staff! Complimentary soap, shampoo, slippers. Microwave & fridge in dorms Free filtered water. AAA+ Exceptional place!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly staff, location average because of the terrible noise on the street.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was good. The only problem was one of the windows in my room. It was not very well insulated....so it was noisy and cold during the night.


97%

really nice Hostel. Just bed often make a noise. sometime can't move in the bed.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(295 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback