X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5094 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good place, good staff. See you guys soon


100%

Amazing everything. Wifi was the only problem, not great butttt literally everything else was amazing. The staff were superb, very clean place through out. And then the small things really make a difference such as the water refill, fridge in your room. All in all you can't fault this place.


94%

I had a great time there!!! As a recommendation, they should tell you before booking that the price you see does not include taxes. Anyway, I absolutely recommend the hostel.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep while you're sightseeing and spending time in New York. It's a nice neighborhood with decent restaurants and bars, but it's at least a 10-20 minute walk to any of the sights you came to New York to see.


89%

Good location, a close walk to the Empire State Building. Free breakfast was nice, the twin room we had was a little small but for a room on manhattan considering the price, it was excellent. Reception staff were great.


83%

Good clean hostel. Needs a common room besides the lobby for people to hang out

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a hard time getting a shower bathroom, but everything else was perfect.


100%

In general everything was perfect. Where there is room for improvement is the windows in the rooms. In our first room the windows did not lock and in the second one there was a substantial gap above the window letting in a lot more noise and a lot of cold.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, great staff and safe! Wifi wasn't the greatest but still passable for basic searches.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

positives: it is clean and central, there is fridge and security lockers in the room. negatives: it is very loud (it is on the main street and there is no sound isolation) and common room is very small


57%

I didn't like this hostel purely because the street noise was unbearable, even with ear plugs in!! After my first night I gave the hostel 48 hours notice and I moved to Jazz on Columbus which was perfect. The room at Budget Inn was ok except not many power sockets to use which makes it difficult when sharing the room with others. Breakfast is first come first served, so unless you're up very early then expect to miss out on the donuts and coffee. Wifi kept cutting out for me which was annoying


100%

I only have good things to say about my stay here! They had comfortable beds, clean showers, a mini fridge and microwave, and even free donuts and coffee downstairs most mornings. The location was perfect and you could easily walk to a few metro stops. New York Budget Inn is perfect for anyone wanting to explore the city. I'd definitely stay there again!!

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, liked that they had a free water station.


97%

Great location near empire state building. Metro station 33rd St is just minutes away. The hostel is small but really nice. Great staff, clean facilities, not expensive compared to other locations, I can definitely recommend it.

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It was all we needed. Safe place to stay and friendly staff. Value for money! Thanks to José and Lorena for being so kind and made as feel welcome! Thanks for the complimentary Coffee, Hot chocolate and donuts from Dunkin donuts every morning! I would recommend this hostel to anyone!!

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

My room was very noisy. I heard sounds of siren and cars on the roadside. I couldn't sleep and a bed was very uncomfortable and very old. we had to use sleepingbags. Staffs were kind. Other things were not bad. The price is cheaper than others. Good experience.


83%

Hostel about 20 minutes of walk to Time Square and 15 minutes of walk to Broadway. I took a single room which i believe was a bit small but enough to stay for a night. The positive part of the service is that you can use computers with internet access for free. They also let you print for free your travel documents .


66%

This was cheap compared to other hostels/hotels in NYC so it was pretty average. A tiny cupboard room, with one set bunk beds so we could barely move. The staff were nice and helpful but no common area so not much of a hostel vibe. It's in a good location and the rooms were clean and pretty quiet.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's not a great hostel but hey - for the price and location, what more can you expect?


89%

Fantastic place, very very clean - the only thing unpleasant was the size of the budget room which really was a large cupboard. The cost probably reflected that though so not a big issue.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(354 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback