X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4214 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

It's convenient place. There are some restaurants or grocery stores and it's not so far from station. But it's very noisy place too. You might not sleep well because of car horn or speaking voice from restaurant next to the hotel. Share space is very tight, so you can't expect to be relax there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Manhattan is a noisy 24/7 city and we are located directly in the middle of it all. We do offer complimentary ear plugs upon check-in for light sleepers. Manhattan is very tight on space but we try our best to maximize on the limited space while ensuring a level of comfort for our guests.

94%

a good choice ;)

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

New York budget inn was a great hostel! Great location, clean bathrooms, very safety, great staff and very fast wifi (:


89%

Really nice place! Excellent location and great staffs.


89%

Best hostel I've been to, great staff with a 24hour reception, perfect location in the city and clean facilities. Wifi is free but cab be a bit slow. However, rooms facing the streets are noisy,making the earplugs offered to you at the reception very necessary. The checkout time was. a bit early though. Thank you for a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review. Our checkout time of 11am is needed to ensure cleanliness and prompt checkin time of 3pm. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next adventure to NYC

94%

All in this hostel is VERY GOOD, except that the building has no elevator and the stairs are very unconfortable, but I can recommend and I can return in another ocascion


80%

The grey walls, though well maintained were dreary. NO HOT WATER in the shower. Room 417 faces 34th street - and for someone not used to street noises was very noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are constantly repainting all common areas and rooms to ensure a fresh look as if its our first day of opening. Please feel free to make a color recommendation as we are always seeking ways to improve. We have double checked our boiler, water tanks and had additional water complaints.

77%

There ist free breakfast on first-come-base with coffee, hot chocolate and donuts. 3-Bed-Private was quite small with all the luggage, but there are lockers in the room and a microwave and fridge. Hostel is nearby Empire State Building an about 1 mile to Times Square. Supermarkets, restaurants and coffee shops just around the corner. On the 1st floor there is a water-refill-station for free use.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were always super helpful and friendly. Thanks guys!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


31%

Deceive, fraud

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Upon checkin you had requested to reduce your stay to 1 night stating your plans had changed. Regretfully, we had informed you of our 48 hour cancelation policy. When you made your reservation oh WRI, the terms of the 48 hours were acknowledged. As you had insisted they were 24 hrs, we then showed you that on HW website, ours and all affiliate sites clearly stating our industry standard 48 hr cancelation We would never deceive our guests as we aim for guests satisfaction.

100%

All clean .... All time.... Well located!!!! All workers are really funny!!! Surelly the best hostel i had been!!!!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

A laundry in the building would be good

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestion. There are 2 laundromats in close proximity: One laundromat directly across the street and the other less then 1 block away.

94%

Loved the staff ! They were always very friendly and tried to help the best they could. Very service minded. Would be nice if there were a bit more "breakfast" because it was gone in 10 min.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We do not serve breakfast however we do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee, Hot Chocolate, donuts on a first come basis that usually lasts for about an hour. We did have a large group that stayed with us on the days you had stayed with us.

71%

The Internet was terrible. Claims to have free wifi but it was unusable. The rooms were fine, nothing special. A bit pricey for what you actually get. The bathrooms were also clean and readily available. It was in a good location, about 15minute walk to Times Square.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We always suggest connecting to the allocated routers and hot spots connected to the floor you are on. As NYC does tend to be more expensive then other cities, we are very competitively priced to properties even outside of the city.

89%

Hello, George unfortunately got the wall side of the bed & rolled into middle. As I suggested to the girl at check out, maybe raise the door side so it's level.He has Parkinson's and was a bit hard on him.The Air freshener was a bit too much for me as I am very sensitive to perfume/scented stuff.So for me the Quality of the actual Atmosphere was horrible to breathe.Not whatsoever your faults.Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your suggestion. We will defiantly look for better alternatives.

80%

tgh tAt first I stayed in a 4 mixed beedroom on the streetside, what was very noisy during rtohte night. But the staff asked me how my night was I said tha i found it too loud because of taffic sounds they managed it to find me an othe r room the next day. That one was quiete small so when there were 4 people with with bi bags or suiatcases, it got Little thight. Some storage possibiliiers in the bathroom would be good.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff friendly & helpful. Location near to subway. Overall is good.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

it's my second time in this hostel and i'm very happy to sleep there any time i go to nyc, but i think it's really not right to pay 5 usd to leave after check out the baggage! ( 5 usd per item!!!) i never had this surprise nowhere in the world! Anyway i suggest to go there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled to have had you stay again with us.. As space is limited in NYC, We offer the option of luggage storage for guests who check out and want to maximize on their remaining time in the city. We hope your experience had exceeded that of your first visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

91%

Very noisy room. We stayed for 5 nights and it would have been nice to be allocated a quieter room. I did not get one decent night's sleep. No elevator and carrying bags up and down stairs is not fun. Staff is fantastic.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fun environment, and they really try hard to make things comfortable for every guest. Nice amenities for such a low cost place. Free morning coffee, printing, etc. Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms. My 2 person private room had a microwave and fridge.


(300 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback