X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5103 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

It's not a great hostel but hey - for the price and location, what more can you expect?


89%

Fantastic place, very very clean - the only thing unpleasant was the size of the budget room which really was a large cupboard. The cost probably reflected that though so not a big issue.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

SO CLEAN. Comfy, new and helpful and friendly staff.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

My main complaints would be the lack of communal space and poor sound insulation - there is a lot of noise from people in corridors, the plumbing and fans (even when one's own fans are off).


100%

I stayed at the hotel with my son for 3 nights and found everything to a very high standard Room very clean, staff very polite and helpful and location perfect only a few minutes from Empire State Would defiantly reccomend to others

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly staff; clean but rather tiny rooms (which shouldn't matter); free breakfast (be quick!); storage room for baggage


83%

The staff were very friendly and helpful - particularly Jose, who bent over backwards to make sure my stay in New York was great! Much appreciated.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

AMAZING AND FANTASTIC IN EVERY WAY BUT ONE, NO ELEVATORS. TOTALLY ANNOYING WITH LUGGAGE. AND A COMMON MICROWAVE AND REFRIGERATOR WOULD BE NICE FOR LEFTOVERS AFTER AN EVENING OUT.


100%

Loved it there.. Close to every thing that any tourist would want to see... A beautiful place to stay.. Comfy bed and nice staff to greet ya. Would definitely stay there again..

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Warmer blankets would be helpful, especially now that its cold. Overall, I had a great experience. More than I expected

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review, we offer additional blankets upon request at our front desk.

89%

Perfect place for a basic stay in a great location. Will definitely be back.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It remains impossible to sleep in this hostel if they will not improve the soundproofing then, lower their prices. management should review this and not be indiferente. It is missing a socializing room, and a room to make meals. The employees are generally friendly and help, cleanliness is exemplar. safe space and reliable. bathrooms always clean and modern and functional. Simple hostel with no elevator but it is organized

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We try and accommodate our guests as much as possible. As New York is a 24 hour City, if you are having a problem sleeping, we offer free ear plugs at the front desk. We offer free coffee and donuts every morning and most of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. In addition, we assist our guests in socializing with free pizza night, karaoke night and pub crawls.

100%

The location is really great, you can actually walk very easily to lots of touristic attractions and the subway is very close. The staff is very friendly! The bathroom is very (and always) clean!


86%

Great location

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Really noisy hostel right about the traffic. I had earplugs and still could hear lots of traffic. Staff were helpful enough, however there is no real atmosphere as there is no common room or space to socialise. Cheap room and good location otherwise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As our socializing space is limited, we compensate by running multiple activities for our guests, including free Pizza night, Karaoke nights, and pub crawls.

97%

Excelente hostel, lugar, limpieza y atención. El staff siempre muy atento. Sobre todo Natalia, imposible no enamorarse de ella ;-) .


71%

Positive points : polite staff, good hospitality, good location with many restaurants and stores( Duane Reade on the corner), metro station 3 squares from the hostel Negative points: there' s no lift . It is not recomendable for old people or people who has some dificult. There's not a common space in the hostel. There is a small breakfast coffe, chocolate and donnuta that is not enough for all people. Storage luggage is charge for U$ 5 for each luggage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. While it is true we do not have a lift, older guests are welcome to e-mail us and ask for a low floor. In addition our helpful staff are always available to assist guests with their luggage.

100%

The staff was very kind and went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I am very appreciative.


69%

It is a hostel. So for that price you can't get better accommodation. BUT they should clean it. They didn't clean our room for months.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment but you are absolutely WRONG. We are one of the few hostels in New York that provides DAILY cleaning of the rooms. In addition we shampoo the carpeting twice a week. Our bathrooms are cleaned continuously 24 hours a day and our hallways are cleaned daily. You will not find a cleaner hostel in New York.

86%

Very clean and place but just a bit boring. No real communal areas and breakfast donuts were a bit rubbish.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(345 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback