X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3733 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Excelente place to stay in NY it is located on one of the more crowed streets with lot of stores And places to eat


94%

Staff is very cooperative, friendly, hospital and maintain a very high professional standards at the same time... it was indeed an great experience to stay here..

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms are basic and quite small bit all you need for a budget stay in Manhattan.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you had reserved our Basic Twin Private Room, our smallest room. We have a verity of larger private room types. Please visit our website for actual pictures of all room types we offer: www.newyorkbudgetinn.com

86%

I truly recommend this hostel. They have pizza some nights and breakfast in the morning. The price is good and it is closed to laundries, supermarkets, restaurants. The place is clean and the stuff is nice.


83%

The bathrooms are very clean and people are generally friendly here. Beds and blankets are also very comfy and clean. The price is reasonable for its quality.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The facilities need some improvement!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. Just last month we purchased new bunk beds, new linen, new towels, and new pillows. We ask all guests to fill out their in room surveys and receive a 5% discount on the first nights stay. Additionally, we welcome all guests to share all suggestions via email: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com

69%

Context - I'm a 53 year old woman who usually stays in 3-4 star hotels and likes camping. A friend and I chose the NY Budget Inn to save money. Location was good for walking, the shuttle to JFK, and Penn Station. Close to the subway and walkable to Times Square etc. The room smelled like urine. (202?) We slept with the windows open (due to the smell) which was okay since it wasn't too cold. If it had been summer heat or winter cold, I wouldn't have been able to sleep there. Otherwise clean

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our housekeeping staff vacuum all rooms daily. Additionally we shampoo and deodorize our carpets twice a week. Unfortunately, the city has just replaced the gas lines on the street and caused a horrible smell in the afternoon due to a gas leak. We apologize for the inconvenience.

80%

The atmosphere was great but not all staff members were nice. The location is fantastic and the facilities are OK. This is important: I strongly recommend that all beds should have something to cover on the sides (like a curtain or something), giving more privacy for your clients (something that you can't even know if your roommate is there).

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize that all of our staff we not accommodating . We would like to know more, please email us as we want to know more about your experience: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com That is a great suggestion, we will definitely look into it!!

91%

Big hostel with helpful staff. Rooms were a bit small. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Security was perfect: locks to front door, in the reception and to rooms, as well as a fully staffed reception. Luggage storage cost $5, but they had full control on it while it was left there! Close to subway (3 blocks), buses (on curb outside) and Grand Central Station (6 blocks or so). Would stay there again :).


86%

2 things are to be noted - Corner room is very noisy an it is next to the streets. Even with the earplug but you cannot wake up late. - Internet is so slow or unusable around the peak period (7pm-12am) Everything else is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have double checked all the bandwidth in our facility, and speeds are at optimum levels. On every floor we have 3 routers and perhaps you may have connected to the upper floors

94%

This Hostel is amazing. The location is excellent, because it's in Manhattan and close to many places. There are many subway stations on the 34th St so you can easily go anywhere. The staff is kind and helpful, the bathrooms are always clean, the shared rooms are safe and you don't have to worry about losing your belongings. I stayed in a Single Private room and in a 4 bed Mixed Room. I loved both experiences. Next time I go to NYC I'm definetly going to stay in NYBI.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everybody was very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and always clean, as well as the facilities

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, very organized, it's also very well located (two blocks from the subway), walking distance to some sightseeing and good restaurants, bars and cafes around. Omar is the best at reception! :) Would definetelly come back and recommend!


63%

I loved my stay at New York Budget Inn! However I wish you guys had a common room or just a larger place to sit and chill. The breakfast could easily serve bread and butter instead of sweets! Not every room has frigde and microwave. I did travel with others, who had these things and payed the same as me. I felt kind of cheated... Loved the location though! :)

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. All of our rooms but our Basic Twin Private Rooms are inclusive of a refrigerator, microwaves, and a sink. The price point varies on the room types as we have many to choose from. Please visit our website for actual pictures of all the room types we offer. As space is limited in NYC we do not have the facility to offer breakfast. We do offer complimentary Dunkin Donuts Coffee, hot chocolate and donuts on a first come basis at 8am.

66%

I suppose you get what you pay for! Our private twin bunk room was very small but clean & tidy, as were all the bathrooms. We certainly hadn't expected maid service to clean and make our beds every day - very nice indeed. The location was good with plenty of bars & restaurants on the doorstep which in New York that isn't always the case. Two negatives though - the noise from the road is unbearable & the staff on reception aren't the friendliest - shame coz that would have made all the difference

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Manhattan does tend to be tight however we have a verity of room types as you had reserved our most economical private room, our Basic Twin Private. We apologize about the noise, however NYC is always busy with people and cars at all hours. We do offer complimentary earplugs at the reception. We would like to know more about your interaction with our staff in order to rectify this. Please email us: info@newyorkbudgetinn.com We always have room to improve.

80%

Our stay was very nice. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. But our room was towards the Street and there was noise all the time. So be prepared!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. NYC isn't the quietest city for sure, but please note that we offer complimentary earplugs. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to NY!

97%

Clean good location great value very helpful and friendly staff

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

All but one staff member were rude, rolling their eyes and making me feel like I'm an inconvenience to them. Too busy eating chips and reading their magazine.. People that stayed in the hostel were pretty awful too, tending to have a mini party in the hallways at 2am, and of course staff encouraging them. Otherwise, clean and safe accommodation, don't expect anything 'fancy' (such as towels, $5)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We noticed that your room was located by the front desk as guest leave the lobby and enter towards their rooms, perhaps they were too loud, something we do not encourage. We do offer towels with a $5 deposit that can be exchanged at anytime at the front desk for a clean towel and is refunded upon check out

100%

Perfect location and facilities. Easy to find and very, very close to remarkable places like Grand Central, Times Square and Central Park. Total value for the money. Free coffee, donuts and pizza nights twice a week. Absolutely will come back there!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

always enjoy coming to this place. They make you feel important here


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(371 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback