X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

New York Budget Inn Reviews

200 East 34th St., New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3262 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Unfriendly staff, rooms are too small and was smelly, bathrooms were quite clean

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We machine wash and vacuum the carpet twice a week. When booking our 3 Bed Private please visit our website for actual pictures and room description as it is a twin bunk bed over a full and not 3 separate beds. We were willing to bring in a separate mattress to be placed on the floor but you had declined and demanded that we allocate our 4 Bed Dorm for just the 3 of you however, due to limited availability, we were not able to comply with your request.

100%

For the money paid and location. One of the nicer hostels I have been to. Thank you.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Very noisy, the windows don't close properly because of the AC machine so you can hear everything from the street outside making it very difficult to sleep (even with the ear plugs). It also makes the room quite draughty. Rooms are very small with no space to keep suitcases. On the plus side, it is clean and in a good location.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We listen and hear you!! We have ordered AC covers that we hope will stop the draught and noise. It should be delivered and installed this week.

49%

The worst experience I've ever had with a hostel, in 2 dozen hostels in 3 countries. The noise from the steel boards kept banging loudly the whole night and the window cannot be fully closed to keep the noise out. A guy came in at three and left for another room in 1 hour, and at four another roommate arrived very drunk, turned on the lights, kept the door open and kept mumbling, until he fell asleep on the floor. There was NO HOT WATER AT ALL when I went for a shower in the morning. DONOTSTAY!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize you didn't have an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately, we have limited control as it relates to some temporary work that was going on, we so offer comp ear plugs. We do offer bed lights, and feel horrible your roommate kept you a awake. Please note that we did make posts and announcements of the hot water being temporarily turned off due to the road work. It was only for a few hours and then we got it back. It was out of our control.

97%

Very nice and friendly staff, only the heating in our room didn't work properly.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelente mi estadía, la recomendaría sin pensar, solo comentaria q mi habitación (privada) era muy pequeña. El resto 10 puntos, todos muy amables y atentos. La ubicación excelente


91%

Very friendly staff except one staff was very annoying when we checked in at the first time. Overall is very nice hostel!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent and friendly staff. Very clean. Great location. Excellent value.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean, fun, safe Hostel in great location!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hotel. I had a private double bed suite with my partner, and it was extremely comfortable. The shared washrooms were always clean, and we felt very safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is extremely convenient, with a 24h Duane Reade right outside.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for a great stay. Miles better in terms of cleanliness and customer service than other hostels. Would definitely stay again.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff is nice, location is excellent. But the bunkbed room was way too small. Hardly room for luggage. The whole place is cramped it's more a sleeping factory. My bed was broken and taped together, no kidding. I did not sleep well.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I rate everything excellent except the location (which is still very very good) because it was a bit of a long walk, for me, to the #1 subway line. However, this was a terrific place to stay! Clean, safe, great price. Also, the desk staff were very pleasant -- not always the case at hostels and budget hotels! (And I've stayed in quite a few, in the US and Europe.)

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very small but clean! Showers were always clean and hot. Excellent location, easy walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Grand Central Station and the New York Public Library. The hostel is up a flight of stairs, and then most rooms are up more stairs with no lift, so be aware if you have problems with stairs! Some staff were excellent and very helpful, others were more interested in watching the football than even catching your eye when talking to you.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Couldn't beat for price and location. Some might say too small, but for my time in NYC it was perfect. The staff were great, extremely helpful and polite.


100%

Excellent stay staff realy friendly so close to all facilities. Empire state building just 10 mins away with time square approx 20 min walk too couldnt stay in a better place so close to ameneties for such a small price would recommend to anybody.defo stay here again thanks to all staff very friendly and helpful *****

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Noisy at night, but I think you know that. Excellent location, staff very welcoming.


83%

The place is very good, very nice staff, clean, safe, well located and for NYC prices it was quite OK. Problems: except for the lobby there are no facilities at all. They offer a refrigerator and a microwave in the bedroom what is nice but not really convenient (no space to eat andeasy to make a mess). The other problem is noise. Female dorms are cheaper probably because their windows are straight on the 34th street, really loud. For this reason they should be even cheaper or properly insulated.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a 5 STAR Hostel!!! STAY HERE!!!! You're greeted at the door by smiling Rodney! Front desk staff go the extra mile to assist you in finding your way around the city and making the most of your time. This is one of the cleanest hostels on the planet! Karaoke & free pizza a few times a week for times when you want to rest your feet and have fun with other guests and staff! Complimentary soap, shampoo, slippers. Microwave & fridge in dorms Free filtered water. AAA+ Exceptional place!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Einziges Manko: sehr laut gelegen, aber dafür gibt es Ohrstöpsel gratis. Bin allein gereist und habe mich gut aufgehoben gefühlt. Lag aber auch an den Zimmernachbarn, die sehr rücksichtsvoll waren.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(469 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback