Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Newcastle Beach YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
10.0

One of if not the tidiest, cosiest and most welcoming hostels that I have stayed in within the last 6 months - definitely recommend to stay there! Especially tidiness, friendliness of the staff, proximity to the beach and the very useful & funny hints in the main hall (mainly for activities in and around Newcastle) made my stay here very enjoyable. Will definitely come back If I ever need a bed in Newcastle!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
9.1

Nice hostel located 200m from the beach! Good atmosphere and facilities. I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.4

Great place! As soon as we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and gave fantastic recommendations on where to go. Was a good atmosphere and it's clear that the staff have worked hard to create a good atmosphere with recommendation boards of what types of activities were good to do depending on the weather and conditions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
6.3

Unbeatable location. Friendly staff. Major negative was security, all doors were open. Three other rooms could access my room from a balcony. Basic bunk beds and rooms, no reading lights, no extra power points. Toilet and shower area unclean. Long term guests. No atmosphere while I stayed, people didn't socialise. Overall not too bad but I was expecting much more based on previous reviews.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Amazing common room, great location to cafe's, shops and beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • drmaureenmurphy188
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Perfect location, great staff, comfy bed, all this and across the street from the BEACH!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel that not only give you all the information on the surrounding area but also put something on almost every night to being people together. Staff are friendly, everything is very clean and kitchen is huge with lots of facilities. Really close to the main beaches and free surfboard hire. Only issue it that it gets boiling boiling hot at night and not only is there no air conditioning but not even a fan! Couldn't breathe from the heat but would still stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

One if the best hostels I've stayed at. The beach is incredibly close and the waves are great. This hostel offers free surf and boggieboard hire which saves you a lot of money. Staff was very nice. We stayed twice as long as planned

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

A great spacious hostel, large common areas. Friendly staff. Clean. Unfortunately no fans in dorms but plenty of windows, still super hot and muggy. Closest supermarket is a small expensive general store. Close to Greyhound stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
5.4

Boring. Very, very boring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.