Hostelworld.com

Newcastle Beach YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Newcastle Beach YHA Located at 30 Pacific Street, Cnr King Street, , Newcastle.
Newcastle Beach YHA
Australia
Newcastle New South Wales NSW 2300 30 Pacific Street, Cnr King Street
82% 308
-32.9288233 151.7849850
Newcastle Beach YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.6

Great place to stay for a couple of nights, you can pretty much see the ocean from the hostel. Location is great, the town of Newcastle is somewhat quiet but it does have a great vib to it. Hostel is very clean and specious, staff are friendly and helpful. If you are looking to party hard this is not the place. But it's a good relaxing stop

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
9.7

I recommend Newcastle YHA.It provided everything I needed while walking the many walkways and board walks, to explore this stunning coastal area. The huge lounge had numerous comfy chairs and everyone was friendly, talking about their travels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved this hostel. It felt like home. Super welcoming and helpful staff. Amazing location right next to the beach. And free surfboard rentals. How cold you pass that up!?? Plus the beds were comfortable as well. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.7

Showers terrible, would splash water everywhere and they weren't very clean. Rooms were very basic. The common area was very nice though and staff were friendly and helpful. Nice location too, easy to get to the beach and main road.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
3.7

Pretty poor all round bar location. Unclean rooms, showers, toilets. Strange smells.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2016
7.4

Not my favourite place to stay. I saw two cockroaches on my first day there. The showers are cramped and the plumbing groans when you use it (which is annoying when your room is next door to the showers). The upstairs bathroom is nicer than downstairs, which smelled awful. Very quiet, didn't seem to have much of an atmosphere but the staff are quite nice. At least the luggage room was secure. It's an okay hostel, not amazing but not awful either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
8.6

The staff was great, helpful, very responsive to requests. The lady at check in put me in a front room with a nice cross breeze at my request. The hostel had an All You Can Eat pizza night and a free meal at a local bar/restaurant night while I was there, which I thought was a great idea and a good event for meeting new people. This was my FIRST experience with staying at a hostel and it was very positive. They booked me into my next accommodation. GREAT JOB FOLKS!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jan 2016
8.0

The hostel is very close to the main beach and the bus stop, which was great! It's not too far from the shopping street either. However the closest Coles is quite far away. Luckily there's free buses avalable though. Atmosphere at the hostel was very quiet and reserved. People don't really mingle much, but the hostel does try to arrange pizza nights etc. to bring people together.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
7.1

Very clean great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2016
8.9

Nice stay! But, it would be even nicerif the wifi connection were stronger!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.