Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Newcastle Beach YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
Newcastle Beach YHA Located at 30 Pacific Street, Cnr King Street, , Newcastle.
Newcastle Beach YHA
Australia
Newcastle New South Wales NSW 2300 30 Pacific Street, Cnr King Street
83% 341
-32.9288233 151.7849850
Newcastle Beach YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Aug 2016
3.4

Total dump, not fit for humans to occupy. Construction workers giving evil eye for being there during the day, but the whole town was unfriendly for that matter. Place was a wild construction seen. Paint smells that chock you out. I had issues with the two other guys in my room who looked like they were homeless, had wine boxes everywhere, worse they started fighting over who stole one of the guy pain killers at 1:30 in the morning. I hated this place and the town was horrible as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Staff were so accommodating and place felt like home away from home. Bathrooms very clean, kitchen generally pretty clean sometimes just grubby from lazy guests not staff. Common room amazing, and bedrooms and beds clean and tidy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

I couldn't check in because there were no staff around, so I had to wait until I found a staff member to help. Atmosphere wasn't very great, everyone sort of just kept to themselves. The hostel was nice and clean, security was good as you had a locker in the room. (No padlocks was provided though). The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the bus station and very close to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
9.4

I only stayed here for one night but as far as I can tell it's pretty good. There was a new guy at the front and he wasn't aware of how payments are processed online but I picked it up so no harm done. There's a weird policy on after hours check-ins where they don't take a payment but they hold a deposit (ID card in my case) overnight and take the payment in the morning. The rooms were very clean, staff and other guests are nice and overall it was very pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2016
7.4

Stayed here for three nights: Pros - - Good location, next to the Main Street ( Hunter Street) and also right on the beach, which made going out for the day easy. - nice big kitchen, well equipped - really good wifi all over the hostel, unlimited and free of charge. Cons- - we were arriving late and tried many times to contact the hostel and heard nothing so had to wait outside until somebody heard us. - literally no atmosphere what so ever. Quite creepy really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.9

The staff was so helpful here! Always eager to give tips on where in town to check out, taking backpackers out for events, offering free surfboard rentals and doing it all with a smile! The facilities are a bit old, but the lounge and kitchen are very spacious and there's a ping pong table and pool table for you to use. Would visit again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, fairly quiet but it has a friendly vibe. The rooms were super clean, free surfboard and body board hire was awesome. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2016
9.4

Everything about the hostel was great! The rooms were a really good size and I liked the fact the showers had extra room so you can get changed! Staff were extremely friendly and helped out when needed. The security was great for getting into the hostel after 9pm and had for the luggage room. Kitchen was a really good size and liked that it was 24 hour. The common area was great and loved the facts they have activities everyday and wrote them on a white board so you knew.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.6

Newcastle has a really good Wednesday night out at the Argyle. This hostel isn't lively so wouldn't recommend if you were thinking of a night out. Chilled beach days and early nights, then this place would be good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
6.9

Feels a bit like a hospital. Very quiet but that may be suitable for some!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.