X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Newport International Hostel Reviews

16 Howard Street, Newport RI, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
241 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This is more a private home than a hostel, as you are renting rooms/beds in the house of the host. The location is amazing and the hostel is well equiped (lockers, power outlets, informations on everything). However, the place is not too clean (old and dirty bathmat, hair in the sink/shower even right after "cleaning") and you should be aware of the (not) heating policy of the host (55 degrees during the day/evening).


77%

The place would be perfect if the host would be bit less intrusive and if she would turn up the heat even when she is not home (andall the guests are freezing). Amazing location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Each guest that books is told by email before they arrive what our heating policy is. The temperature in the hostel is kept in the low 60’s during the daytime and evening, and slightly cooler at night. This enables us to keep our hostel prices down this time of the year. This guest was told this in an email and replied with an email confirmation before she arrived. The hostel temperature was never lower than 63 degrees during the day when this guest was staying at the hostel.

80%

I had a great stay there. I was there during some remodeling but didn't really affect my stay as I was just needing a place to sleep for the night.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Amazing location. Very sweet owner. Clean and cute. Would stay here again.


100%

Newport is a must see for all sailors. This Hostel is in a perfect location. It's just like being home.


100%

Great warm atmosphere for the only hostel in Rhode Island! The landlady is passionnate about her beautiful town and is full of tips for travellers and historical facts. At first, I chose Newport by default, because there was no hostel in the capitol city, Providence. I ended up spending only a couple of hours in Providence and most of my time in Newport, partly thanks to this comfy and very well located hostel. Highly recommended for any backpacker like me, or just anyone!


100%

One of best hostels I have ever stayed at.


100%

Merrilee who owns the hostel could not have been nicer and the location cannot be beat, highly recommended!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is located right in downtown Newport, near the water and the downtown area and walkable to everything. It has everything you need - including common kitchen, maps and books about Newport and the area, and outdoor space on the porch and backyard. Due to the smaller and homey feeling of the hostel, it's definitely best for respectful and laid-back travelers.


77%

Newport Hostel was good: our host gave us all kind of information about what to visit in Newport, where to eat etc There wasn't any breakfast though. We met other people and we enjoyed talking to them. In term of cleaness it was okay. I think it's one of the cheapest option in Newport.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A self-serve breakfast including coffee is available to all guests. Guests are shown location of this food in hostel kitchen at check-in. Location of this free breakfast food is well labeled.

91%

Beds & pillow not comfortable. Noise outside well after midnight made it impossible to sleep. Hostels usually have a continental breakfast in the morning. Must provide at least coffee.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All hostel beds are relatively new. Extra pillows are available to all in guest closets. At 1am when the bars close, the downtown streets of Newport where the hostel is located get their share of the noise as people head home for the night. This often continues for about a half hour. A self-serve breakfast including coffee is available to all guests. Guests are shown location of this food in hostel kitchen at check-in. Location of this free breakfast food is well labeled.

97%

1st time at a Hostel and I picked the best! Terrific location, very safe and the Owner is an Amazing Woman who wants to make your visit to Newport special ~ you can even enjoy a walking tour around Newport each night! Do not hesitate to book ~ Newport is beautiful, any time of year. Take it from Camille ~ it's the best deal in town ~

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It's like staying in your own home. Nice and quiet and clean. Staff caters to your every need.


91%

Felt like a bed and breakfast! Merrilee is a gracious host and really makes her guests feel at home! Loved the night walking tours. It was a great way to explore the town!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay at the Newport International Hostel. Merrilee did everything to make us enjoy Newport. Definitely a great hostel!!


100%

This was my 2nd visit with Merrilee. She is wonderful and so are the accommodations she offers. I will be back at least 2 more times this summer and into the fall.


94%

Merrilee was very helpful and welcoming; lots of good advice and recommendations.Covered all the bases and more!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Newport RI Hostels

Please give us your feedback