X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Newport International Hostel Reviews

16 Howard Street, Newport RI, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
232 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel is located right in downtown Newport, near the water and the downtown area and walkable to everything. It has everything you need - including common kitchen, maps and books about Newport and the area, and outdoor space on the porch and backyard. Due to the smaller and homey feeling of the hostel, it's definitely best for respectful and laid-back travelers.


77%

Newport Hostel was good: our host gave us all kind of information about what to visit in Newport, where to eat etc There wasn't any breakfast though. We met other people and we enjoyed talking to them. In term of cleaness it was okay. I think it's one of the cheapest option in Newport.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A self-serve breakfast including coffee is available to all guests. Guests are shown location of this food in hostel kitchen at check-in. Location of this free breakfast food is well labeled.

91%

Beds & pillow not comfortable. Noise outside well after midnight made it impossible to sleep. Hostels usually have a continental breakfast in the morning. Must provide at least coffee.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All hostel beds are relatively new. Extra pillows are available to all in guest closets. At 1am when the bars close, the downtown streets of Newport where the hostel is located get their share of the noise as people head home for the night. This often continues for about a half hour. A self-serve breakfast including coffee is available to all guests. Guests are shown location of this food in hostel kitchen at check-in. Location of this free breakfast food is well labeled.

97%

1st time at a Hostel and I picked the best! Terrific location, very safe and the Owner is an Amazing Woman who wants to make your visit to Newport special ~ you can even enjoy a walking tour around Newport each night! Do not hesitate to book ~ Newport is beautiful, any time of year. Take it from Camille ~ it's the best deal in town ~

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It's like staying in your own home. Nice and quiet and clean. Staff caters to your every need.


91%

Felt like a bed and breakfast! Merrilee is a gracious host and really makes her guests feel at home! Loved the night walking tours. It was a great way to explore the town!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay at the Newport International Hostel. Merrilee did everything to make us enjoy Newport. Definitely a great hostel!!


100%

This was my 2nd visit with Merrilee. She is wonderful and so are the accommodations she offers. I will be back at least 2 more times this summer and into the fall.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Merrilee was very helpful and welcoming; lots of good advice and recommendations.Covered all the bases and more!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

i stayed there for 2 night, the hostel was clean, location was convenient, the runner Merrilee was quite warm hearty to guide and help guests.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The place is very nice and Merrilee, the host, just great. She will take you for a walking tour around town. Don't miss her hints for cheap lobster places!


97%

Our stay in this hostel was awesome. I highly recommend to stay at least 1 Night in Newport in your Way from New York to Boston.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Cutest hostel youll ever find, but Newport itseld probably is only an exciting place in summer... But we still had a good time there in spring and felt just like at home! To walk its 15 min from the bus station, not the closest but its ok. Also is the host Marrilee extremly helpful with really any problem!

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

I really enjoyed my stay here. This isn't as large as some hostels, and for that you get a single bed, plus the use of a full kitchen and commons area. Everything was clean (bed bug covers on the bed) and in good repair for an older home. The host is very friendly and will tell you everything you need to know and even show you around the area. The location is very close to downtown so you can walk most places you need to be, even to the mansions and cliff walk.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Merrilee is an amazing host. Her guest house is well run, clean, safe, and in an amazing location. She genuinely cares that you have a great time visiting Newport and I am already looking forward to booking a room to come back and visit!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is more of a guest house than a hostel. It's very clean, nice and cozy. The owner is friendly and helpful, though she can be a bit picky and in your business. Still a great place worth staying for a few nights for a budget in Newport.


100%

Probably the smallest but also nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended!! Thanks to Merrilee who has been a great host!


100%

Merrillee was very warm and welcoming and made me feel at home. She gave us a nice walking tour around town which was an a nice touch!

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location! Home-like atmosphere. No breakfast. The hostel has just gone through a renovation. Clean and comfortable. Easy to rent a bike from here.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A light self-serve breakfast is provided.

100%

Absolutely enjoyed my stay, thanks for your wonderful service.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(173 results)


View all Newport RI Hostels

Please give us your feedback