Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Newport International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Newport International Hostel Located at 16 Howard Street, , Newport RI.
Newport International Hostel
USA
Newport RI Rhode Island Rhode Island/02 16 Howard Street
92% 292
41.4812386 -71.3138008
Newport International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Nov 2016
6.9

Newport is extremely expensive and this hostel was clean, affordable and well-located. However expect meagre breakfast provisions, basic ablutions and unironed linen. Also the cost-conscious owner allows her guests to freeze rather than activating the heating. She needs to work in her 'welcome'... She seemed to be in a ridiculous hurry, rattling off instructions as if the world were about to end... And I was one of just two guests. I would hate to see what she is like when busy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

In our confirmation of this guest's booking, which she acknowledged, it stated that we keep the temperature in the hostel in the 60's this time of year. The hostel temperature reflected this during her stay. We have many extra blankets, should our guests desire them. This guest never mentioned to us that she was cold. As advertised, we offer a light breakfast. This includes cold cereal, juice, toast & jam. This guest seemed very responsive to my presentation of the comprehensive information we provide.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
10.0

The host (Merrilee) was very nice personal and informative. She was everything you want in a great host. The location of the hostel was central and right in the heart of the action. I really enjoyed my short stay there. I'll have to go back when I have more time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2016
8.6

Merillee was a fantastic host and the place is right in the heart of newport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.7

Sensational. Merrilee was the perfect host - takes interest in her guests and wants to ensure they enjoy her city. Lots of local knowledge. Guests are quartered on the 1st floor - stairs are a little steep.... just take your time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.7

Merillee is a wonderful host - she is very keen for her guests to enjoy their time in Newport. She lives onsite and takes a great interest in her guests. Spotless rooms; well equipped kitchen; good wifi. Hostel is on the first floor and the stairs are a little steep. Lots of things within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Great place to stay and incredibly helpful staff! Would stay again in future :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Great location in Newport near the harbor. I was there in the shoulder season, so the cost was very reasonable. I could not have done the trip otherwise. Newport is very historic and beautiful. Merilee (the owner) gave an enjoyable evening tour of the port area which helped me get my bearings for the following few days. I had a chance to talk with people from Florida, Korea, Australia and Germany which is a great part of the hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
10.0

I am so glad that I had my first hostel experience of any kind here. I could not afford my usual newport/middletown hotel on a weekend night. I parked at this hostel for free and saved $25 during the secret garden tours. Kitchen facilities were more than adequate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.