Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Newport International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.7

A little gem of a hostel! Really welcoming and helpful staff, they have so many suggestions and resources on what to do in the area, I just had to stay longer. Really convenient location, within walking (/biking) distance of everywhere I wanted to go. 3 (/4) to a room and plenty of space for your stuff, plus no bunks, what a treat! A really lovely place to stay, I'd recommend it to any traveller going to Newport, but definitely book ahead in the summer months, it's a busy place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
10.0

The host was very eager to be helpful, and the place was very clean. They had a garage for me to lock my bicycle. It fit my needs nicely,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
9.4

This hostel is located in a lovely old home literally just a stone's throw away from Thames St, Newport's main place to be. Merrilee is a wonderful host and can give you tips that you wouldn't even find in a guidebook (I got to see luxury and racing yachts!). The hostel is really clean, and has a cozy old-American decor. The free coffee is nice, as are the freshly-washed sheets and towel. Complaints: it is pricey (even considering Newport is in general), and the room temperature is really cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments. Regarding the price - this guest stayed on a Saturday, a peak night of the week. Prices of other accommodations in Newport on Saturdays in May are at least three times our price. The windows may have been open slightly in the room this guest was in as we try to get fresh air in the hostel during the month of May because of being closed up all winter.

12th May 2017
8.9

We had a great stay here. Our host was very helpful, giving us tips for local restaurants and things to do, as well as accommodating of travel timing. The location was great, right in town near shopping, restaurants and nightlife, as well as a good location for exploring Newport. Would definitely recommend a stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.