Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Newton Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • OliviaVeiga
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.4

Don't be put off by bad reviews. Your stay will be what you make of it, if your expecting hotel standards then your looking at the wrong site. The location is great so close to the city. The bathroom is clean and the communal and rooms are dependant on who's there. If you're open to talk to people you'll find they know a lot, as many stay long term. At the end of the day it's a cheap hostel that is clean, great location, and is flexible. Small locker, nice place to crash at for a couple of days

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

First look hostel seemed to be little bit shady but quickly turned out to be really nice. Good facilities, clean kitchen, showers and toilets, quiet and overall worth of money! Lots of permanent residents but still find a good conversation. Most of rooms doors were open, but you had own locker. Further from cbd but area was quiet and peaceful, no noise of traffic or other hostels etc. Defenitly would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.0

I really enjoyed the service, the internet and great. I just found the kitchen a little messy, so you can find space for your things and very difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
6.6

Fairly easy to ind and handy location for central Auckland. Kitchen was large with plenty of whiteware. Was a little dirty but think mainly due to other residents. Tv in kitchen with plenty of channels. Managed to get to watch news in morning. Free wi fi was fast and easy to access. Bedroom was quite little and storage space limited. Was woken several times by other residents coming and going. Bed comfy with linen provided. Was handy having plenty of plugs to charge personal devices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.7

I really enjoyed my stay here. I even booked it again when I returned to Auckland. It is one of the cheapest hostels in the city in a different area near cultural and historic areas. Great for exploring and near enough to centre. No alcohol allowed in the building keeping it a nice, quiet ato sphere enjoyable for all. Those who want to drink had a great time out in town. The long stay residents are dotted throughout the different rooms and very friendly. Laundry access is also cheaper here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
8.0

Nice staff, free good wifi, good worth for money.. Good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
9.7

not best location but otherwise good. nothing to complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
6.9

Good: Free unlimited wifi. Connection was pretty strong and fast. Toilets were really clean and showers were big and water pressure was good. Individual lockers with key provided to store belongings. Bad: Kitchen is very cramped and quite dirty. Rooms have no windows and get very very stuffy. Only two fans in the entire room, which wasn't enough to circulate air. Lots of long-termers so there wasn't much atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
6.0

Friendly/helpful staff who let you leave luggage there before check-in. Bedding was clean but bunk beds are flimsy, any kind of movement from your bunkmate shakes the whole thing. The ventilation is poor, it gets very hot in the rooms and common areas. It was often warmer inside than outside. Because of the permanent residents there isn't enough space for your stuff or any room in the refrigerator for your food. Not a very welcoming atmosphere for solo travelers. Clean bathrooms, dirty kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
7.7

Nice and helpful staff, allowed me to leave my luggage there before and after check in/check out. Clean bedding and fairly comfortable bed. Not much of an atmosphere so uf you're solo it might not be your cup of tea. Kitchen not clean at all when ever I went it. Bathrooms are good and pretty clean, saw them been cleared every morning, however with the amount of people there, nit sure once a day is enough. Good location, not in the thick of the bars but close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.