Hostelworld.com

Newton Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Newton Lodge Located at 27 Cross Street, Newton, PO BOX 68571, Newton, Auckland.
Newton Lodge
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 27 Cross Street, Newton, PO BOX 68571, Newton
73% 149
-36.8586433 174.7605541
Newton Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • paytontiffanynicole5831
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Mar 2016
7.1

The staff were able to let me do a self check-in at 1 am, which was great as I was worried about checking in so late. The best thing about this hostel is the bathroom area. Plenty of showers, toilets and sinks. However, it is all coed, if that bothers you. I did not like that they were no windows in my room. There were 2 small sky lights, but they do nothing to brighten the room up. No windows in the room is just weird to me, but I know many people are fine with this. Free wifi though!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Mar 2016
4.9

Average. Does the job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
5.7

Mostly long stay tenants who work in the city, dark room no natural light.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
6.0

Fairly average place. Nothing good to say about the place but nothing particularly bad to say about the place. There is a lot of potential for this to be a good hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Feb 2016
7.1

Had a quick one night stopover in Auckland- was a perfect quiet and clean place. I found the lady at the desk (sorry I have forgotten your name) to be informative an helpful. Cheap and cheerful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2016
9.1

Newton Lodge is so much more than a hostel, it's really a family. After just one day of staying here I already felt like it was home. It's a mixture of people just passing through (like any hostel) and people staying more long term (like an apartment) so it's pretty unique to most hostels I've stayed at. It is cleaned very regularly and the bathroom facilities are really nice! Poor ventilation so it can get pretty hot, but free Wifi is a huge plus and the kitchen is well kept. 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccahayes
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
1st Jan 2016
7.1

Hostel seems to mainly host long term guests so the hostel is fairly quiet. Room are a little small but the kitchen is well supplied. Wifi and TV both work well. Nice clean and spacious bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Nov 2015
4.9

The hostel smelled like dirty clothes and sweat. The beds are too small, they shake/are not stable and the mattrass was so old that the metal almost came through. My bed did not smell clean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.