Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nid's Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
6.0

This is a very 'you get what you pay for' hostel. Had a standard room but walls and floor don't feel very strong. Nid the owner was quite a grumpy person but the Thai people who live and work there were so helpful and nice. We packed a lot in to our stay here but had to get taxis and peds everywhere. It is a bit of a walk anywhere. Overall I'd say for the price we paid, we can't really complain but their our things that could be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
3.4

The place looks perfect for couples traveling on a budget. We stayed in a standard AC bungalow. The walls were paper thin and there's animals making noise all of the time. Aside from that the bed in the bungalow was shambolic, must've been atleast 30 years old or else some heavy lad was nose diving into it previously as there was a massive back busting dip on one side. Nid didn't appreciate the complaints, he also tried rip us off with bike fuel and tried hustle us for another groups deposit. No

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review guys and apologies for the bed. Too often polite guests do not complain, and we may be unaware of a particular problem. Clearly, your group does not fall in this category and, in relation to the bed, the sorts of activities in which your group obviously indulged, put unreasonable demands on furniture, far beyond that for which it is designed. You omitted to mention the Dormitory bench table, badly damaged during early morning drunken activities, and the cans, cigarette butts, packets and other rubbish strewn around the pool deck by your group, not to mention the state in which the Dorm was left for our Housekeepers. Several of our other guests expressed to us the relief they felt to see the departing backsides of this, and the other group of Brits, who stayed in the Mixed Dormitory from 18-22 June. For your next trip, please spare us the misery, and go to Magaluf, Majorca where they know full well what to expect! Nid's Bungalows

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jun 2017
2.0

Place is nice, however Nid the owner isn't. Tried not giving us back our deposits, everyone else that works there is lovely. Place is a bit out from the town and beach.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We would like to thank anonymous for her review. This woman completes the trilogy of whingeing Brits who kindly posted reviews after staying in our Mixed Dormitory from 18-22 June. Staying with us for 4 days, she was clearly enjoying all our facilities with not a complaint of any kind. However, at check-out she became insistent, to the point of hysteria, that she was owed 500THB deposit for a motorbike that had been rented out, not under her name, but under the name of one of the other group of Brits in the Dorm, and to whom we had refunded the deposit upon their earlier check-out. It was well worth the 500THB we finally gave her to quell the disgusting hysterical display performed by this woman in Reception at check-out, and we, and our other guests alike, breathed a sigh of relief to see her backside finally depart. Nid's Bungalows

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Great place to stay in Koh Samui. Nearby restaurants, bars, convenience stores, the beach and a mall. A peaceful little property tucked away just a walk away from the action. Comfortable, clean, and be great value accommodation. Just remember to bring earplugs as the animals on site might awaken you in the morning if you plan on sleeping in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
7.4

On the whole we enjoyed our stay at nids, the only reason for the lower rating was the pool was unusable and we thought this should have entilted us to some money back as it waste main reason we booked this place. It's really nice being around all the animals but some of them are very ill or caged which was sad. If you're looking for atmosphere this isn't the place as we rarely saw any other guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mirzim
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th May 2017
6.9

ned's bungalow is one of a kind. it is clean, and food there is great and the animals are adorable. i would give this hostel a great review, but the owner was a little moody. he expected everyone to buy and eat from his restaurant. even passive aggressively told us that's why the pool table is free - twice. i would've bought more from them if i didn't have to track down a staff member every time i wanted a beer. just seemed like a very controlling, hard to please type.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved our stay here! Staff were lovely, food was great, room and bathroom were clean. Was perfect! And there are so many cute animals we absolutely loved it! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.4

Nice pool, good room but not much atmosphere. Resteraunt serves a great pad Thai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
6.6

Our stay at Nid's Bungalows was ok. The air con worked well and it had everything we wanted. However, it's super noisy as the Bungalows backs onto nightlife, so sleeping was an issue. The animals were also very noisy awakening us early in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We would like to thank our anonymous guests for their review. However, in future, they really need to first work out what sort of holiday they want before making a reservation. They have booked into Nid's Bungalows, knowing full well that it is in the heart of the Chaweng Beach tourist precinct, the major Thai tourist destination on Koh Samui, yet they want total peace and quiet at night! Nid's Bungalows is close enough to the main nightclub area on Beach Road for convenience, but far enough away for most guests to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. For comparison purposes, we suggest our over-sensitive guests book a room, at any price, in the nightclub area in Chaweng Beach Road where, until 5 o'clock in the morning, they will really find out what noise is all about! For their next holiday stopover, we recommend these super-sensitive guests look for solid brick accommodation in the middle of nowhere, away from all man-made developments and animal habitats, and where the only nocturnal noises to be heard will be their own. Nid's Bungalows

11th Mar 2017
7.1

Locationwise a bit on the interior, approach road not very good,hostel rooms are old but clean, swimming pool is excellent, cottages are good but doors and lock are outdated,need improvement on above aspects but still a good value for money.Good to see different types of pets around the bungalow,all are very cute and nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.