Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2017
6.9

Nightingale Hostel was okay. We had a few issues such as the tiny electric stove not working , the bathrooms opposite our room being cleaned quite loudly at 5am and the cold water not working in the shower of our private room making it too hot use. However the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a lot of fun here. P.s. You have to pay a 20 lev deposite when you check in and if you don't keep your receipt, you won't get back your deposite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
7.1

Good place, an old building in the center. Into a "mess" attitude but you always take what you give. Dar in reception was friendly and helpfull.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

The owner, Mihail, is a great guy and a great host. He is eager to show off his beautiful home city. Theo, working the front desk, is helpful and kind. The facilities are great, great breakfast, great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel is in a good central location and has plenty of room. The kitchen has plenty of space and the showers are lovely and powerful. When I arrived I was shown around and given a city tourist map. I Was accommodate really well even when asking to stay an extra night. Thank you very much!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
5.4

The night porter was blaring out music all throughout the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Affordable, clean and right in the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

Nice hostel helpful staff, suggesting greatbars and restaurants. Rooms are decorated nice & cozy, very comfy and easy to sleep. Great location, 10 min walk (if that) so the city centre, serdika station. Free breakfast is basic but can't complain - bread, ham, cheese, free coffee. My only negative is that the showers were often poor, water temperature goes very cold very fast, but maybe we were using at busy times? Overall very good hostel, would stay again anytime!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.7

We were a group of 43, so basically had the hostel to ourselves. However, one other guest, who was known well by the hostel workers and has stayed at the hostel for a long time, was the main negative of the hostel. He followed us around all day stealing alcoholic drinks - once accidentally stealing the phone of one of our members. The hostel were unable to control him, this was a real disappointment. Other than this our stay was pleasant and staff were very friendly and were helpful throughout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
4.3

This place should be avoided at all costs. We booked a private 5 person room only to be informed that they overbooked upon arrival. We were placed in a 12 person mixed dorm and told we would get a discount once the owner returned. We went out for dinner and came back to find that 3 out of our 5 beds were occupied by new guests. The hostel clerk spoke ZERO English and then kicked out the 3 guests (it was 2am). The place was FILTHY (rooms smelled, showers were DISGUSTING). Don't stay here!!!!!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guys, come on don't lie - You were 2 people and no way to book 5 Bed private room at all! The receptionist speaks Your German language so go next time in 4 Seasons 5 star for 7 euros :) ...or come again in Nightingale for fun and party! Be happy!

11th Mar 2017
7.7

It's a reasonable hostel. Adequate bathroom and kitchen facilities. The free breakfast is great, it's in a great location, and there are common areas making it super easy to hang out with new people. Not going to win any cleanliness awards but they try and it's not nasty or anything. The top floor dorm (16 bed?) is not great- the ten bed is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.