Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
7.7

We were a group of 43, so basically had the hostel to ourselves. However, one other guest, who was known well by the hostel workers and has stayed at the hostel for a long time, was the main negative of the hostel. He followed us around all day stealing alcoholic drinks - once accidentally stealing the phone of one of our members. The hostel were unable to control him, this was a real disappointment. Other than this our stay was pleasant and staff were very friendly and were helpful throughout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
4.3

This place should be avoided at all costs. We booked a private 5 person room only to be informed that they overbooked upon arrival. We were placed in a 12 person mixed dorm and told we would get a discount once the owner returned. We went out for dinner and came back to find that 3 out of our 5 beds were occupied by new guests. The hostel clerk spoke ZERO English and then kicked out the 3 guests (it was 2am). The place was FILTHY (rooms smelled, showers were DISGUSTING). Don't stay here!!!!!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guys, come on don't lie - You were 2 people and no way to book 5 Bed private room at all! The receptionist speaks Your German language so go next time in 4 Seasons 5 star for 7 euros :) ...or come again in Nightingale for fun and party! Be happy!

11th Mar 2017
7.7

It's a reasonable hostel. Adequate bathroom and kitchen facilities. The free breakfast is great, it's in a great location, and there are common areas making it super easy to hang out with new people. Not going to win any cleanliness awards but they try and it's not nasty or anything. The top floor dorm (16 bed?) is not great- the ten bed is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Nightingale Hostel is a very good hostel which is in a safe and convenient area of Sofia easy to find just a short walk from Serdika metro station from where the metro to the train station takes about 10 minutes or about 30 minutes to the airport. The hostel price also includes breakfast of a choice of cereal, tea or coffee and toast with jam or cheese. There is a nice lounge area to socialise and good showers with hot water. When I'm next in Sofia I'll definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
3.7

The staff ( composed by MAYBE 3 or 4 guys ) doesn't really know what is going on in their hostel. The position is OK, but all the rest? there's much to say. 1 bathroom and 1 shower for the entire hostel, i haven't seen someone cleaning during my whole stay (3 nights ), in the shower there were condoms and other LIQUIDS, in my room there was a horrible smell ( of chemicals, paint and dirty from a homeless(?) ). Furthermore, i waited 4-5 hours to check-in and check-out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
8.0

cheap good location nice common room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
7.7

A nice place in a good location and the staffs were friendly. One main problem is that the Internet connection sucks, even at the main lobby. Where my bed was, there is no socket to charge my phone. Overall a decent place to spend a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
6.3

Good location but erratic management and sub-par cleanliness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.1

This is where I always go in Sofia, convenient, cheap, clean, and the owner is a mine of information about Bulgaria and other places. I've been treated very well there and even got an upgrade from dorm to private room :) sorry for late review and still don't know how to send photos to your Facebook page - tell me how!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.4

This place is a total value for money. The host was really very welcoming and nice. The hostel was clean and had homely atmosphere. It is well located near to all places to visit and eat. We enjoyed our stay here. I would like to stay here again next time if I visit Sofia. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.