Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 522 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 522 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
16th Sep 2017
9.1

Perfect location. Right on the heart of the action in Sofia. Great and helpful international staff. Equiped kitchen with everything to cook your own meal. Room basic, with comfy beds. Only downside were when a guest got bedbug's bites, but right after they closed the hostel for some hours to fumigate it. Further no problems, fantastic atmosphere and great fun. Security is fine but better if you give your valuables to the reception guys and they will store them in a safe or keep them with you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
8.9

Please dont mind the bad reviews, the place is great and the staff is cool. Don't come here if you are a light sleeper, but I really recommend it if you wanna have a great time with people from all around the world. Really nice staff that know the city, and are chill and friendly. Have a nice time in Sofia c:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
4.9

Avoid this flea bag of a hostel at any cost. Dirty, unkempt, pathetic free breakfast, mosquito infested, loud music and screaming until early morning hours. I've stayed at cleaner hostels for less money than I paid here. Yes, the location and staff are great, but it stops there. Don't be wooed by the attractive low price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2017
8.9

Great Location! - Top preis - I stayed in the biggest room ... there were few people at this time ... I felt very comfortable! - I could have not choose better ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2017
2.0

Dirtiest hostel I've ever seen. Bedbugplague in all the rooms. Worst. Breakfast. Ever. There was even mold on the white bread. Manager couldn't manage his own administration, the second night when we came back in our dorm other people were sleeping in our bed. The room was overbooked and the owner started yelling that we didn't pay yet (which was not true). Save yourself trouble and DONT GO HERE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
3.4

We were supposed to stay in a three beds private room, finally we had a six beds room and we had to pay the same price. Our room was just next to the common area, it was so noisy, by the way the noisest was to hear the staff s members talking behind our door. Thks to them we barely slept at night. The bathroom was dirty, we could see the electronic wires on the ceiling. The only advantage of this hostel is the location. I Obviously do not recommand this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
5.7

Not clean. Bathrooms always had puddles of dirty water on floor, moldy shower area, toilets seemed constantly clogged. Bathroom right next to kitchen, and a crack where the door closes which means anyone in the kitchen can see inside a bit. Sheets on bed smelled musty. The 'dorm' was a bunch of beds in the addict, and the door was constantly left open all day/night. Because the staff/guests drink and party downstairs with music, it was noisy at 3 AM! Upside: great location, and decent staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Aug 2017
7.7

Great location, nice social common area and dorms were much cooler than expected even without air con. Really fab free breakfast, with Nicky making fresh American pancakes and breakfast muffins - best free hostel breakfast we've ever had!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.1

Nice hostel with good location and great staff. Always nice people about and good atmosphere. Good hostel would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Aug 2017
2.6

While the staff were friendly and welcoming, the hostel is pretty unorganised, they didn't know much about Sofia. The hostel was extremely dirty. We know we weren't paying a lot so what can you expect but we had to ask twice to change our bedding once we had arrived at the hostel, in the end we striped the beds ourselves and took them to reception. The bathrooms were not clean and the place looks pretty run down. These weren't isolated thoughts it was a general feeling of many of the guests.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×