Hostelworld.com

Nikko Guesthouse Sumica

  • 5-12 Aioi-cho, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Japan, Nikko, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Nikko Guesthouse Sumica Located at 5-12 Aioi-cho, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Japan, , Nikko.
Nikko Guesthouse Sumica
Japan
Nikko 321-1413 5-12 Aioi-cho, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Japan
92% 475
36.7472922 139.6203383
Nikko Guesthouse Sumica
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

The friendliest hostel I have ever visited! I was invited to join their hanami (cherry blossom party) and we all had a great time getting to know each other and eating delicious Japanese food! The all-female dorm room was very clean, warm, and peaceful. I was able to lock my baggage securely for a few hours after I had checked out. Such warm and kind people - I would definitely visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aprilodetteparker6615
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.9

Sumica was very cute and a great experience staying in an old Japanese house. When we arrived we got upgraded to a tatami room for an extra ¥2000 a night. Unfortunately we just didn't enjoy Nikkō that much, going out to Lake Chūzenji and Kaegon Falls was really worth it about an hour on the bus but unless you're doing a temple and shrine tour of Japan the town itself can be a bit boring. Sumica was great though, a beautiful building, super helpful staff and a warm kotatsu in the common area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Such an amazing place. Very cozy small place, right next to the train station. The people working there really make an efford to make you feel welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2016
9.1

The staff are extremely friendly and my time with them was a highlight of my trip. It was lovely to hear the owner constructed the building himself & the location is perfect- mind the steep stairs though. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, warm and cosy but small room, traditional and quite beautiful interior, clean, well equipped kitchen, close to station, cafes and restaurants, quite expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
9.4

Nice hostel very close from the JR station. Friendly Staff that welcome you warmly and try to help you as much as they can. I couldn't have a better stay in Nikko.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
9.1

I dont ever write reviews, but this location was great. The staff was helpful and gave me great advice on where to eat and visit. The staff was super friendly, but they also gave me space when I wanted it after a ling day. Its small but cozy, and had its own kitchen which was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2016
10.0

Sumica guesthouse is a charming place. The decor inside reminds one of being in a wooden cabin ( wooden floors, stairs ). When i arrived i was the only guest for the night and they were generous enough to upgrade my booking to a tatami room. They even invited me to join them for a ride out of town to have a sushi dinner ( dutch, of course!). Sato-san and Kumiko-San and staff were very warm and jovial people and i was made to feel like old friends. I will be back to Nikko someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.6

Friendly staff and will give a lot of suggestion and advise to customer. Location is super, just less than 5mins walking distance from Tobu Railways station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2016
10.0

The staff at the guesthouse were amazing, they gave us a lot of useful information and annotated maps which was great. The guesthouse itself is very cute, very clean and tatami rooms which was nice. The 11pm curfew generally isn't a problem as everything in Nikko is closed by then anyway. 10/10 would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.