Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nikko Park Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
Nikko Park Lodge Located at 2828-5 Tokorono, , Nikko.
Nikko Park Lodge
Japan
Nikko Tochigi Prefecture Tochigi/321-142 2828-5 Tokorono
76% 467
36.7565762 139.6160387
Nikko Park Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Staff is as friendly as ever, and security simply isn't much of an issue (it's Japan). While the location is pretty, just as the walk towards it, it is far from anything really, with no public transport connection. This is made up though, by the shuttle service provided by the hostel's staff, and the option of leaving your luggage at their second downtown hotel-café location right next to the station. As I only stayed for one night this was actually more convenient than a hotel closer to town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
6.9

The place was quite far from the station with some uphill journey better flooring with less noise in dormitory room cause when you walk it makes very sound noise and disturbs people early in the morning should have a private shower room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
4.3

This place wasn't for me. The dorm is cramped when it is full, with no place for anyone to put their luggage. All of the beds are quite creaky and shake when someone moves, making it difficult to get a good nights sleep if you're a light sleeper. The bathrooms (at least the men's) is quite small and very cold. The location isn't great, but I knew that before I booked, so it's not really fair to list that. I'm sure Nikko has something better to offer, but if you're stuck it's a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
10.0

A great place to stay even though a short walk from the centre of the town. Host was most helpful in advise on places to visit and local transports arrangements. Provided a good dinner and breakfast. Very friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
8.0

Great off the beaten path location at a reasonable price, the staff was a little bit of a mystery as we only saw one memeber for the first 20 minutes of our stay and we never saw anyone working after that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.1

Great as always. Lovely place, with friendly staff. Just around the corner from the wood work centre and a not too long walk to Toshogu shrine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.9

Liked this hostel a lot because the staff were really nice. They invited us to drink under the porch just out of the hostel and we enjoyed an international night with the young stuff and some other guests. its a pretty place especially if you wish to enjoy some nature and some relaxation from the stress of Tokyo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.6

Whilst a little far out, Nikko Park Lodge was a brilliant hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming - even going out to buy antiseptic for a guest who'd hurt his leg. I would highly recommend it. P.s. There's a wood carving museum further up the road that lets you carve your own plate/mirror, as well as make the traditional sandals - geta.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.