Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nimmos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 1799 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 1799 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2017
5.4

The fire dept. shut down the hostel while we stayed there.... need I say more?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
6.0

The Location of this hostel is perfect. Very central. This does mean noise from the street outside. The staff were extremely helpful in my dealings with them. Overall though, the hostel was not in great condition, the carpet and floors were in disrepair and not very clean, there were numerous doorhandles and other fittings broken, including in the bathroom, which was also somewhat unclean. The beds were perfect, but windows etc. in the rooms were very dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.9

Lads, its grand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
5.7

The place smelt bad (stairs smelt like urine), there was minimal security to the rooms. The only lock was on the outside door (pin, so anyone could enter if they knew it), and none on the door of the room. Wifi was poor, only worked occasionally. There is a nightclub next door so very hard to get to sleep. Was the cheapest accommodation in Galway by far for the period of the Galway races, so still recommend if on a strict budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
4.6

Very dirty. Owner was very kind !!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jul 2017
3.1

Where should I start? Security doesn't exist. No room key, no locker and everyone can come inside the hostel. The hostel looks like falling apart. The kitchen, the bathrooms and the rooms in general are disgusting and dirty. There is a night club just next to the hostel so you can't sleep at all because the windows don't really close. It is cheap but still not worth it. So rely on the comments and do yourself a favor and don't book at Nimmos Hostel!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
5.7

Jim the owner is lovely and the location is right in the middle of everything, but you are definitely getting what you pay for as far as cleanliness, facilities, and security. This is a good place to stay if you just need a bed to sleep in and don't need/care about much else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
2.0

Don't book Nimmo's without first visiting the rooms! The level of cleanliness is poor and the location is directly opposite a VERY loud night club and casino! I hardly slept and couldn't wait to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
9.4

I only stayed for one night but it was perfect for what I needed, cheap and cheerful and the host was a very pleasant man. I had read reviews about cleanliness issues before I arrived but I really didn't see it, the building is a little run down but the rooms were very clean. The location is as good as it gets.. all round very happy for the money I paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
2.6

The worst hostel I ever stayed in my life, super dirty, no security and with a weird atmosphere.. the location is good BUT there's plenty of pubs around which makes it impossible to sleep. I would never recommend the this place to anyone. It was only one night and it felt like paying to suffer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×