X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nimmos Hostel Reviews

1 Upper Dominick Street, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1132 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm with no locks on the door. The only locks were on the front door. Quite a chilly building. Shared bathroom for each floor with frosted glass shower doors and no where to put your clothes.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was great fun, but a little old and out of date. Especially since none of the rooms had a key for you to get in your room. You had to knock on the door and hope someone was in there to let you in. The front desk is also in the kitchen, but there is rarely someone sitting there to help you check in or out. I would for sure stay there again though.


86%

The owner is really helpful and always up for a chat. The hostel has a huge lounge with cooking facilities where all people are meeting. Easy to make new friends and enjoy a beer in one of the pubs out in the streets. The only problem was that we couldnt open the window at all and the heating was fully running.It was way too hot. Bathrooms are shared, males and females. All in all it was a really nice stay, depends on your standards.


94%

The hostel is almost surrounded by bars so you won't get much sleep till they all close down which is around 3 am.Overall the hostel has everything you need clean bed ,nice showers and self catering kitchen.I will definitely recommend this hostel and I'll stay there again.


60%

You get what you pay for. Security was pretty rubbish, I don' think we had to use the access code once during our stay as the door was always open. I wouldn't stay as a lone traveler. Staff were friendly and quite accommodating, happy to add an extra mattress to our dorm so nobody had to stay alone. It was noisy, bring earplugs if you want to sleep. The location was excellent if you wanted to be in the middle of the city though. It wasn't particularly clean.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Apart from the weather conditions, we had a great time!! Thank you Nimo for a lovely welcome!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Very loud with street noise. The place was... Dingy, I guess would be a good way of putting it. Cheap, but not really worth it.


66%

Nimmos is the cheapest place to stay in Galway. I have to say it is one of the least good hostels i have stayed in, though the owner/manager is a nice chap. It's probably not to place to go if one is looking for a good night's sleep. The hostel is located near two of Galway's premier live music venues so there was a lot of noise. Other guests were rowdy and uncontrolled.


57%

Nimmos is in a very loud location. Expect excessive noise from outside between 11pm and 4am (rock bands, yelling, taxis honking). The staff was very friendly. The beds were okay, but the bathrooms were less than satisfactory--expect unclean showers and no hand soap at the sink.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Not sure what all the negative reviews are for in particular. It's a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for! Clean bed, cooking facilities, decent bathrooms. It's certainly not amazing, but the guy that runs it is lovely, and it's in a good location with a good atmosphere. I was nervous after reading the reviews, but was happily surprised that it was as expected for such a cheap room. As mentioned, there are no lockers, or locks on doors, but if you pack accordingly that's no issue.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

good location, nice owner, good price! not top of the range, and no lockers for those travelling and wanna look up their valuables, but other then that its fine

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Note that the hostel is the building BEHIND the stone building. And the TV and DVDs were not there when I visited. However, it was cheap.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The place is very near to the center, the staff is nice. The only problem for me are the bathrooms and the showers. The prices are cheap.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Highly overpriced and there should be some sort of curfew so the lights go off the guests that were in our bedroom kept the lights on all night and set the fire alarm off so no sleep was gotten.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Jim and Charles were both great craic. Thanks for getting us into the extra room for the night.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

We didn't even stay in this hostel. I have stayed in some pretty bad places but this place was the worst. Nobody even answered the door when we tried to check in. A guest walking out let us in. The staff wasn't there and a guest suggested we leave our things by the trash. The entire place was filthy and it looked like it was out of a horror movie. It's certainly the cheapest place in Galway but it is worth the extra money to book a place you can actually stay in.


51%

Very dirty, uncomfortable beds, cramped conditions, heater was broken, toilets were an absolute state wasn't great overall but it was cheap so what was I expecting

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

There was no manager present to check us in at our check-in time. We waited for a half an hour until someone finally came. When we were checked in, we were not given a key and they kept the door to our room unlocked. The place was also a mess! Very filthy! Trash everywhere going up the stairs. Not recommended!!!


100%

Good hostel.


40%

Occasional bathroom cleaning would be appreciated as well as doors on the showers.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback