X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nimmos Hostel Reviews

1 Upper Dominick Street, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1296 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 56%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

It was quite disgusting. The owner(?) most of the time isn't there when you need him. The beds weren't made. The shower-doors are made of glass which means everyone can see you take a shower. Also there's no place to put your clothes while in the shower. The garbage is just put in the kitchen everywhere. It's been the worst hostel I've been to for sure.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice hostel very nice people just a walk away from bars and bus/train station. Breakfast was only jams and toast but we didn't mind. Showers worked great beds were clean and comfortable. We could hear noises from bars outside but ear plugs worked great

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is very old. There are few bathrooms and shower. It is very well locatedlocated and so there is a lot of noise. The bedrooms are much better than the other places, confortable beds.


77%

The whole place has to be cleaned much better in the lines at least and the fridge

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Its one of the cheapest hostels we stayed in but also the dirtiest place in the world. The toilets were horrible and with the beds we weren't sure if they got changed everytime a new guest arrived..the announced breakfast did not exist and the kitchen was ugly and dirty.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very basic. Lockers in rooms would be good


57%

It's a budget hostel. Good for one nights stay, Galway is overpriced so this is the basic.


34%

Probably one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived we were shocked at the state of the outside of the building and thought things couldn't get worse, but they did. It was filthy. Rooms, toilets everything was filthy. We ended up just sleeping on top of the beds as there was no way we would get inside.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

internet didn't work, key to room didn't lock


60%

Great location in relation to Galway main St and good value for money! Mixed Bathrooms weren't to impressive with no shower rooms to change and only two toilets for a whole floor, however for only one or two nights it was good enough.


77%

I don't know what everyone is complaining about. It's by far the cheapest hostel in Galway, the beds are comfortable, clean sheets, it has a common room that's easy to meet everyone, and has a functioning kitchen. The only possible bad things about it are there is only one staff member at a time who often isn't at reception if you need something but he's usually cleaning up the rooms or bathrooms. There basically is NO security, but you're also allowed to bring friends who aren't staying!


71%

Unfortunately, the night club nearby was so loud that almost none of us (12-bed dorm) was able to get to sleep before the music stopped playing.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The staff is so rude

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Ok if travelling with friends as it is cheap and 5 min walk from town. Not very clean and one of the two showers was broken. No lockers and room doors aren't locked. Expected with the price.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved that place! Good location and really nice staff! :)


26%

Incredibly dirty, noisy. There are no locks for luggage. I wouldn't have given more than 7 € a night and instead I paid them more than 25 € to "sleep" (music from the nearest pub went on very loudly until 4am and windows are absolutely no soundproof) in a 10 people mixed dorm. I did not dare taking a shower and luckily enough I left at 5.30 am. The worse hostel I've ever been to.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Friendly host and very helpfully cheap bed for the night in central city .Clean it up a bit would help a lot


63%

Jim running day reception is a ledge. Rooms were spotless, sink in the room eased my before-bed routine. Beds are incredibly comfy. Shower situation was terrible though. Only 2 for the floor, one of the showers was missing a glass panel on the door, deeming it unusable by anyone. Caused a little queue for the showers. 15-20 minute walk away from town, but close to the canal which is gorgeous. Free toast and spreads for breakfast. No lockers. Terrible wifi.


80%

Although it's not the cleanest and the security is not very good (no locks) it's not really that big of a deal ! The host is a character and there's a really good athmosphere! I didn't have any problems and there is a breakfast in the morning ! Also the showers are awesome at the last floor.


80%

Cool place to stay, central and nice staff, Jim is some guy!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback