Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nimmos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 6.0
Nimmos Hostel Located at 1 Upper Dominick Street, , Galway.
Nimmos Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 1 Upper Dominick Street
68% 1531
53.2700944 -9.0577011
Nimmos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Georgiapipino
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.4

The hostel is very dirty and messy. Everyone has the password to come in the hostel and the keys for each room is in each door. This is not safe, because everybody can come in in the rooms. The bathroom is shared between man and woman and very small. The hostel is very near many pubs, so it's very noisy. I couldn't sleep all night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sammyiam5187
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.4

Don't stay here unless you can sleep through a frat party. The bar next door was carrying on until 2:30 in the morning (even though drinking up time on Thursdays is 1am). It was so loud we may as well have been at the bar ourselves. No soundproofing whatsoever and no sleep either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
7.4

Given the price, overall it is the most optimal option. You got great location and atmosphere and the kitchen is complete though the cleanliness is acceptable. Negative point would be the noise outside coming from a pub (if you are very tired you'll just fall asleep and that's it) and if you are very delicate and refined you'll notice the dirt, however as we said it's acceptable. Staff is friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
6.6

It was ok. If you stay on weekends be aware that it is preatty loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
4.6

When I stay in hostels I always chose mixed dorm, but the bathroom is always for woman or man or mixed if it is private (if you can lock the door and stay alone). In Nimmos hostel the bathroom was "public" (for all customers), they didn't have a proper shower the water comes straight from the pipe. The wifi doesn't work well in the room. The hostel is dirty but I booked knowing this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ambradipiano951
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Great place. The windows and bathrooms could be fixed but really the place is grant. Perfect, and the best kitchen of all the hostels we hit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
3.1

Dirty, rundown, noisy. Kitchen apparently renovated, but completely dirty and in unacceptable conditions, we didn't even go to have breakfast. Too many beds and people in one cramped room and difficulty accessing the bathroom. No division between gents and ladies toilets. Outside extremely noisy due to a bar next door, even inside bad atmosphere and loud at all times. A "Transporting style" hostel. Keep off!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
4.3

Hostel is messy and not clean, no lockers or anything, sheets weren't clean, it's really loud as a club is next to the hostel BUT really cheap and staff was nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
7.4

This place is weird. I can't tell if it's nice or not. It looks like garbage in the common room but the free breakfast and the showers are decent. Not a lot of outlets in the room and my room was across from what sounded like a hoard of drunk girls at ALL times. All bathrooms/showers are unisex. 10-15 minute walk to town but I'm sure there's plenty of bars just around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

It was ok hostel, but it needs some renovations on stairs, kitchen and common room. Rooms are ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.