Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nimmos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1,483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1,483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
Nimmos Hostel Located at 1 Upper Dominick Street, , Galway.
Nimmos Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 1 Upper Dominick Street
69% 1483
53.2700944 -9.0577011
Nimmos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
4.6

Bad Points: - No sound proof at all, I could not sleep because the noise right by our window. It is located in front of a night club so if you do not have problems sleeping with noise of people talking, screaming, music, etc, it might not be a problem. - The staff was now friendly. - There are no lockers in the room, no shelves, Good points: - very well located, you are minutes walking from almost everywhere in the town - the mattress is really comfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.9

My sheets were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was kept very clean. While the carpet had holes and the building was overall pretty run down, the linen, bathrooms and kitchen were all in perfectly fine condition. The shower took a short time to heat up and once it did it stayed nice and hot! Good place to lay your head. Gave security a low rating because anyone could sneak in during the day. Noise at night, bring earplugs if you need! Met new friends :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Decent but old place just across the river from the city centre. the bathrooms were messy and the toilets never seemed to be flushing properly. WiFi was terrible and kept on cutting out for everyone including the owner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.4

Nimmos is a fair hostel for the price you pay. It's a little run-down and dirty looking, the showers are a bit awkward to use (no shelves inside the cubicles), and their is a pub somewhere nearby that can make sleeping a bit difficult. However, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the people staying there actually wanted to have conversations and get to know people. You won't be left out or lonely here! Overall, if you don't mind the quaintly dingy environs, it's great fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • giorgia95nb4877
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
4.3

The hostel was totally unclean, the linen were dirty and the toilets too. The price was really cheap but a minimum of quality should be reached. The staff was totally absent, and the old man at the "reception" was not so helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.6

The owner it is really friendly and the atmosphere is quite nice. However it gets really noise at night due to the night club just across the streets and everybody goes there once all the pubs are closed and drink inf front of the club (on the street) so it is really hard to sleep. There aren't lockers at the rooms and three people had their belongs stolen when I was there. If you are going to stay there bring ear plugs with you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Although not the cleanest or quietest hostel, it's centrally located and a great place to meet new people. One thing to note is that there are no lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
5.4

-No Lockers/Storage Pros: -Great Location -Jim was pleasant -Hot showers Cons: -No Security: Someone was robbed during our stay -Cash Only -Free Breakfast=bread -Very dirty, Never cleaned, garbage smelly, stained sheets -Broken Toilets -Small coed bathrooms -EXTREMELY noisy bar next door (loud until 3am) -Only one key given to our group of three -Wi-fi connection nearly non-existent -Don't expect a knock from the owner before entering the rooms -Permanent resident living in hostel roo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
6.0

Kind of a weird place. The carpet on the stairs is ragged and dirty, but the bathrooms are brand new and squeaky clean. The room I stayed in had electricity strips at each bed to plug in your phone and turn on a reading light, which was very nice. Decent, comfy beds. The only staff I could tell was there was Jim, who runs the place. Jim is pretty chill. There's a bar next door that was crackin all night, which wasn't great for sleeping but great for partying. Overall I would stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maggieheard
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.9

This has been our groups favorite hostel! The atmosphere is great for young travelers and the hostel really feels like a home. Jim, the singular staff member is great! If you're looking for a more hotel-like atmosphere this place probably isn't for you, but if you're looking for a fun, social time Nimmo's can't be beat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.