Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nimmos Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1,571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1,571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.8
Nimmos Hostel Located at 1 Upper Dominick Street, , Galway.
Nimmos Hostel
Ireland
Galway Galway 1 Upper Dominick Street
66% 1571
53.2700944 -9.0577011
Nimmos Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alanespada
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
3.7

Did the Check-in and paid for the night but after seing the room, WC and common areas, was unable to sleep there. Everything was really dirty, smelly, it almost seemed abandoned. I can't, in my honest opinion, recommend it to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
4.0

The bedroom and the linen was clean but there is no isolement against the noise. The kitchen, the bathroom and toilets are not very clean. It's fine for 1 night because it's cheap but not more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
5.4

There's virtually no security as the front padlock is broken, and the staff doesn't have enough keys for everyone in the dorm-style rooms. There were no clean towels left when we checked in, and then one of the staff members came into our room at 2:00 in the morning to change one of the beds' linen. The walls of the hostel were very thin, and this made for a very loud night as it's right next door to a pretty popular club. But you're simply looking for a bed and nothing else, this is it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dymphigoesglobal
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.0

The rooms were okay, not too dirty but not very clean either. The bathroom was clean. Sometimes it took a while for toiletpaper to be refilled. The hallways were really dirty and old, and there was always an indistinct smell present. The kitchen was not very clean. Maybe that was because other people weren't very clean, I don't know. And the wifi was really bad. We needed it to sort out a part of our journey, but if more than one person was using it, it stopped working. All in all, it was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
4.0

This a rather unplesant place to stay. The hostel is not very clean, but very old and run down. The first impression when entering the staircase was shocking, it looked rather like a squat for some homless people then a hostel... There is no reception, jus a laptop placed on a kitchen countertop, the door cannot be opened, as the code doesn't work - you need to bang the door till somebody opens. The "receptionist" didn't give me any room keys until I explicitly asked about them. Room was okyaish

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Sep 2016
4.6

The hostel wasn't really clean, a lot of people complained also about the shower and the broken toilet For me, for 1 night it was ok, but wouldn't stay longer. Positive point was the breakfast which I didn't expected included ;)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
5.4

The service was poor, with dirty common areas, you needed a key to enter the bedroom or just push the door to open it; the windows were broken, so the cold wind blew from outside, horrible; when you wanted to go to the toilet (not ensuited) you had to make sure you left the door opened so that you could enter again to the bedroom, unless there was someone inside that could open it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
4.3

If the cleanliness improved majorly, the hostel would be so much more appreciated

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
6.3

Worth what is payed for. There is no lockers! If someone shuts the bedroom's door, you have to go after the staff to open it, what it really disturbing because he is not at the reception all the time. (The "reception" is in the kitchen). I left without checking out because there was nobody there. Bathrooms are not that clean but you can use it if you are not fancy. Not a new place and not conserved at all. Central located, what make life easy !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
6.3

Staff were nice and the location was good. Hostel was messy and the room was really cold. There was also problem to use shower 'cause there wasn't any area where you can take off your clothes without anyone sees it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.