X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nimmos Hostel Reviews

1 Upper Dominick Street, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1020 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 57%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The most disgusting place I have ever stayed ! It was dirty and smelly and cramped . Also our door didn't close and therefore the lock didn't work . It was aweful

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel itself was fine. It look like it was falling apart a bit in the hallways, but it was still good and it was clean. Bring soap-- there was none in the bathrooms. I have one complaint: the location was right in front of the back of some kind of night club. Loud music, drunk people, crashing bottles, and other LOUD noises went on until about 3 am. If your goal is to sleep, you might want to consider that.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The rooms had no keys so everyone could enter any room. The whole hostel was dirty. Breakfast very modest.


83%

Nice place and great staff!


37%

TEverything was broken. The shower didn't work, the electricity as well (I cannot charged my phone). The room was definitly dirty. I found hair and spots on my bed and the sink was full of old toothpaste. Nobody cleaned it. not recommended

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

We were in a dirty and dilapidated room and had no room key. The staff were nice, and I suppose the facilities were ok, but I would probably not stay again.


94%

From the outside we were very worried about what the inside might be like but it was perfect. We were a group of 12 boys in Galway for the weekend and it was perfect for us. Location wise we couldn't ask for any better and the staff were very friendly. Would certainly stay here again.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the nice feedback :)

80%

Very good value for money. Recently refurbished. Good location in the city centre.


71%

Other comments on here say that security is a problem, but we didn't find it to be one. Sure, the front door doesn't lock, but upon request we received a key to our room... so you don't really have to worry about stuff being stolen. The bathrooms are coed, not super clean but not the worst. There is no soap though, so make sure to bring your own. It is pretty noisy at night, with pubs across the street and traffic, so be sure to bring ear plugs as well!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a very good time while staying at Nimmos Hostel. It was inexpensive and I always felt welcome by the staff and other travellers. Bathrooms were very clean and modern.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are delighted you enjoyed your stay hopefully you'll be back soon :)

49%

I think that is should be noted that they are located above a strip club and across the street from a casino. It was very noisy and very difficult to sleep. There was gum on all of the bed posts, which should be cleaned off. There was also lots of hair on beds and pillows.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The ceiling leaked on one of the girls in our group (on the 1st floor which means it came from the bathroom not from rain) , the beds were not clean there were hairs in them and such. Not a fun experience at all.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i went to nimmos 3 years ago and things are definitely changing for the good much better rooms cleaner better showers.a group of ten us stayed and we all had a brilliant time!! the location is so handy for nights out but if you want a quiet nimmos is not the place to stay ill definitely be staying again. perfect place for large young groups.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
it was great seeing you again and it's lovely to hear positive feedback from repeat guests. maybe I'll see you next year ;)

91%

Excellent location. Jimmy is a hero. Great party atmosphere. Plenty happening.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is very good, the kitchen is a good place to meet people, and breakfast (toast) was fine. Showers and toilets were clean most of the time, all looked very new. At night very noisy, it felt like the party was next to my bed. It was of course Galway during the weekend, so I guess that's ok (but bring some earplugs!). Owner is a very nice guy, and if you want to keep your bag somewhere safe you can ask him. Good to know: you can't use your (credit)card here, cash only.


74%

Staff friendly, though slightly disorganized. It was pretty noisy. Location is good.


83%

It's the cheapest place in Galway. It's got a nice meeting area, if you're not expecting anything fancy. It's small enough that its very easy to make friends. Nowhere to lock up your valuables, though. Mine were fine anyway but just to be safe. Breakfast is minimal (toast) but there. Staff are friendly. Quintisential old Irish man will greet you lol.


49%

Nimmos Hostel is not clean and damaged. If it was better maintained, it could be nice because this situation on the town is easy, and the beds are goods.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice hostel, nothing to complain about. Good location, nice owner.


77%

Clean rooms and common areas, most likely improved from other reviews. Free breakfast (toasts) included. Would have enjoyed more bathrooms/showers and safe storage. The Jim guy is as nice as the other reviews say.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(59 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback