X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Nimmos Hostel Reviews

1 Upper Dominick Street, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
998 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The ceiling leaked on one of the girls in our group (on the 1st floor which means it came from the bathroom not from rain) , the beds were not clean there were hairs in them and such. Not a fun experience at all.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i went to nimmos 3 years ago and things are definitely changing for the good much better rooms cleaner better showers.a group of ten us stayed and we all had a brilliant time!! the location is so handy for nights out but if you want a quiet nimmos is not the place to stay ill definitely be staying again. perfect place for large young groups.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
it was great seeing you again and it's lovely to hear positive feedback from repeat guests. maybe I'll see you next year ;)

91%

Excellent location. Jimmy is a hero. Great party atmosphere. Plenty happening.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is very good, the kitchen is a good place to meet people, and breakfast (toast) was fine. Showers and toilets were clean most of the time, all looked very new. At night very noisy, it felt like the party was next to my bed. It was of course Galway during the weekend, so I guess that's ok (but bring some earplugs!). Owner is a very nice guy, and if you want to keep your bag somewhere safe you can ask him. Good to know: you can't use your (credit)card here, cash only.


74%

Staff friendly, though slightly disorganized. It was pretty noisy. Location is good.


83%

It's the cheapest place in Galway. It's got a nice meeting area, if you're not expecting anything fancy. It's small enough that its very easy to make friends. Nowhere to lock up your valuables, though. Mine were fine anyway but just to be safe. Breakfast is minimal (toast) but there. Staff are friendly. Quintisential old Irish man will greet you lol.


49%

Nimmos Hostel is not clean and damaged. If it was better maintained, it could be nice because this situation on the town is easy, and the beds are goods.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice hostel, nothing to complain about. Good location, nice owner.


77%

Clean rooms and common areas, most likely improved from other reviews. Free breakfast (toasts) included. Would have enjoyed more bathrooms/showers and safe storage. The Jim guy is as nice as the other reviews say.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostels was perfect, good situation, very clean. Staff was very kind. Bed confortable for a very good price.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

What I liked most was the atmosphere, since there were very friendly people, so that I was talking and meeting with them all the time. However, the place in general was so dirty, especially the Kitchen, where I did not feel comfortable: there was a pan with food for some days, the hobs were pretty sticky, and the clean clothes were disgusting... In short, I really think that Nimmos was expensive if you take into account the conditions. However, the atmosphere made me to have a good time.


86%

In general, sleeping there it was excellent! Little noisy during the night (it was friday night... and in Galway...) Nice people there !


80%

Good to stay a few days.


89%

At first sight, the hostel did not look really good, but it wasn't the first time that I had such impression, so I decided to give a try anyway. The location was good, near the river, close to the pedestrian zone, perfect for me. The room was clean, even if not really quiet because of the pub near, it was still a good place to sleep, and confortable. A really good kitchen and free small breakfast. And the owner, was definately the nicest I've ever met in an hostel. It was really worth it.


54%

The room was dirty and it was very cold. The heating didn't work. The window didn't close. The bathroom was dirty.


83%

We had a very welcome on a clean place!


80%

all it was perfect


71%

Not such a bad hostel.. Security is pretty terrible (front door open so anyone can walk in, room doors not locked through the day, no lockers) but I got around that by padlocking my locked bag to the bottom of my bunk :D very cheap for a weekend night, and fabulous location. Man who runs it is pretty funny and has good stories! Was my 2nd stay and would come again, cheapness makes it worth it!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Too much work for Jim on his own! Contactability easily to improve.


49%

Really noisy place, people screaming and drinking all night long, doors slapping. Really dirty, I even think that the bed sheets were already used by someone else. The only good point is the location.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(51 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback