X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Niriis Hotel Reviews

Agii Apostoli, Herakleous St, Kato Daratso, Chania, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
309 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great location near Hania without all the noise and on a lovely strand of beaches. They also help organize tours to some of the nearby destination like Elafonisi and Samaria Gorge. There were quite a few items in the kitchen and bathroom left by previous guests that made it a little cluttered, but other than that it was very nice and affordable. Also there's a dog that will steal your shoes if you leave them outside to dry. I definitely would stay here again.


91%

the staff was very friendly and explained everything about the island, places to visit, to eat and drink, about prices and facilities of town! there are many shops and restaurants and they're open until late (around 12am)


100%

Excellent hostel! Excellent location! The 6 bedroom dorm has lots of space, big comfy beds, well equiped kitchen and clean areas!!! Huge underbed lockers!!!


86%

All members of staff were very friendly and willing to help at all times. Some even went the extra mile and did things you wouldn't normally expect (e.g. hanging washed clothes for us or driving us to the central bus station in exchange for unused bus tickets). The location is very good and is reachable via two buses (journey time is about 15min). There are four strips of beaches within a 10min walk. Room has everything you could need including a mini-kitchen. Would def. recommend.


83%

Helpful, friendly staff! Right by the beach and only a short bus ride to the city centre. Downside is you also have to take a bus to the grocery store. Very quiet area and would definitely go again!


94%

Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff. Near a lot of markets and restaurants, ATM, bus stop to Chania or the beach. The room was very big and with everything we needed, the kitchen was great! Very clean and comfortable, would definitely stay again.


83%

We were 5 students doing a road trip around Creta. We had a very good welcome at Niriis with a lot of advices and good adress. The dorm was clean but small, equiped with cooking devices and dishes. The AC is not free, and it was a little bit hot at night, moreover we had no upper bed sheets (!)


100%

You can tell that George works really hard to make his hotel a great place to stay for his guests. He gives great information about events in Chania during your stay and how to get around as well. My stay was much better and more fun because of this information!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It's really close to the beach, which is excellent. The staff is nice and that's pretty much all. The rest is just average, you basically pay for what you get. If you are on a budget, I think this is a ok place to stay.


77%

The facilities were very satisfying. But there was air conditioner. For using that you must pay money. And there is no fan. So i guess you are must going to use that. In that case be careful. You could pay lots of money Except the matter of air conditioner everything was wonderful!!


69%

The facilities were ok but the weather was in the upper 80's and Niiris does not have AC unless you are willing to pay extra for it by the kilowatt.


86%

Lovely location and a good mix of guests. Reception seems a little disjointed on weekends but nothing major... there was always a phone number to call in case you needed them.


91%

We had a great stay at Niriis! Location is great, really close to a bunch of beautiful beaches and there are buses that take you anywhere else you want to go. Staff was really friendly and the owner was nice enough to give us a ride to the bus station at 5am. We left our bags there all day on the day we arrived before checkin with no issues. You have to pay for air conditioning but it only ended up being about 3.50 euros for 2 nights of AC. All in all, a great, inexpensive place to stay in Crete


26%

The worst experience of my life. Atmosphere: I shared a 6 doorm with 4 other weird guys (1of them an italian old guy who likes to sleep naked). Cleanliness: totally dirty, the bathroom was never cleaned, and smelled a lot! Facilities: they only provide you with a blanket (old one). If you need something else it will be 2 more euros. Security: the door of my room was in front of the street and was never closed!! so i had to rent a lock and a watch people looking at me when they passed by

Owner Comment (Hide)
It would be easier if you told us the things you were not happy about so we could resolve them. In the website it is stated that extra linen are 2 euros, and towels are included in normal rooms, not the dorm! About the locked door, it is up to the residents of the room to lock the door (like all hotels).

83%

I had a great time staying here but only because I had a fun dorm! From staff George is extremely helpful and this curly hair girl who doesn't work often. The short hair girl was very firm and not friendly. The biggest issue is that for 12E they don't include 2 sheets but only one so u have to choose will u cover urself when u sleep or will u put it on the bed so u have a clean place to sleep on! That was SO STUPID! And no towel included which for a cheap country like Greece is not seen often...


83%

We very much enjoyed our stay in one of the private rooms with a balcony and lovely view. Great location near the beach and bus station. Our only complaint was that the shower tended to flood the bathroom a bit, and we had a minor ant problem. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place. Big, clean rooms. Staff is nice and informative. It is far from the city centre but surrounded by beaches. Close to super markets.


94%

Rare clean washroom and beautiful hot showers~~~ Excellent staff who are very helpful with any issues. Ran into wifi issues unfortunately but otherwise a wonderful stay close to a beautiful warm beach!


100%

I strongly recommend staying at the hotel Niriis, staff always nice and helpful, George helped us to plan our trips to do in Crete. The hotel is only 3 minutes walking from the beach, many convinience stores and restaurants around.. that's a great place to relax! The rooms are very nice and clean, great value for money.


91%

Great Hostel, close to the beach, the staff are very kindy and helpeful. Esay to get in, and also you can use public transport between airport to it. Very quiet place. For sure I recommend!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Chania Hotels

Please give us your feedback