X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No 26D Reviews

26D Cyril Jayasundara Mawatha (Lane), Kandy, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
129 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This is a family owned hostel. The owner (there in evening and night) is very friendly and speaks English perfectly . The rooms are clean, nice and there is warm water. You are very close to the lake, and next to the expensive suisse hotel. Recommended place .

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed at this pleasant home and felt very welcome. The owner was a very nice host. Our room was clean and neat with access to the roof terrace. We were welcomed with tea and traditional sweats. The breakfast was also nice. I would recommend anyone staying in Kandy to book this room :)


100%

This is a great hostel. The owners are very nice and helpful. We liked to sit on the terrace in the sun, surrounded with flowers. And it is just a few minutes walk to the citycenter.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic stay during our 2-weeks trip around Sri Lanka. We will always remember about as this is not a simple hostel or guesthouse, but a private house of very kind, polite and open-mided local family, that rent rooms. Some of them are on the top floor - amazing terrace with a view on the lake and the surrounding hills/mountains! :D The other rooms are on the ground level, where is darker, but nevertheless spacious, cosy and stylish designed personally by the owner:)


89%

Very kind people, you really get something for your money. Nice rooftop!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed at the guesthouse for a night and had a good time there. It's run by a local Sri Lankan family, and offers a clean and quite place to stay in Kandy. Very comfortable and recommended for those who would like to take a rest from all the noises. It takes approx. 15 mins to walk there from the central bus station, and approx. 5 mins from the town centre.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The host is really nice. The house is close to the lake and to the city center. The bedroom and the bathroom were big and clean.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wonderful host that provided us with a great first night in Kandy. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Room was clean with mosquito net and had hot water. Very private and family did not disturb you. The house had a rooftop patio for us to use. Lovely view. The house itself was a 15 min walk from downtown or a short Tuk Tuk ride costing ~200rupees. Staff let us keep our bags in the house after check out when we went exploring the next day. Definitely recommend. Breakfast was extra but delicious!


100%

Really nice family hotel in Kandy whose owner is a lovely family. It has great location near the Kandy Lake and a good view from its terrace. My mom and I had a perfect experience living there.


94%

I enjoyed my stay at No 26D. And my hosts were very kind and friendly.Nilanthi introduced me to some delicious homecooking and I was very comfortable and secure in a friendly environment

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent two nights here and found the owner to be very welcoming and friendly. The location is great and the room and bathroom was very clean and tidy. Good value for money. Would certainly stay here again. Ideal for budget travellers. Loved it.


89%

Don't be mistaken: this isn't a hostel, but a private house with two rooms. Thus you probably won't meet any fellow travellers. That being said, the location is pretty good (about 15 min walk from city), room is very nice, everything is very clean, and it is cheap. The owners are very nice, and if on a budget this can be a silent retreat on your trip.


83%

Our hosts were most welcoming and very kind and helpful. The location next to Suisse Hotel was good. We had a room at the bottom floor which we felt was very damp and moist with a hint of mould smell. So go for the upper rooms if you can choose!


100%

This guesthouse was perfect! It was the nicest one and the cleanest one we've stayed in Sri Lanka. The owners are very nice people and nice to talk to.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Hard to find as they have attorney on the door and it looks all shut up. I asked How much to pay tuk tuk driver, from the station, as he had said it was 300 and considering I paid 400 for train ticket from colombo...but she said 300 so I paid. The next day when I asked a Sri Lankan friend, it was 100-150. The room was damp and cold. Terrible smell. No effort made. Just wanted to charge money for their spare rooms. There was hot water and you could walk to town, but Kandy is bit of dump.


91%

Beautiful place, lovely people, best stay.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely owner, great location by the lake and comfortable room. Close to a school and temple so morning prayers and singing are your morning wake up call :)


100%

This is a bungalow house located in the center of the city just beside Kandy Lake. The owners are a local couple who are very polite and well-educated. They live in one room and rent out all the other rooms to their guests. The whole property is very comfortable and clean, which makes guests feel at home. There are nice paintings on the walls that reflect a good tast of art of the owners.


89%

Pretty nice place to stay. Got the room with bathroom and a really nice terrace. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Gave us a lot of information where to go and what to do. The only negative thing was the toilet, was not proper cleaned, still some hairs. But other than that we really can recommend this place. Fran and matt


74%

clean and decent rooms, nice stay near the lake so 10 mins from centre. would recommend staying here as everything was just as we wanted. although don't walk around the lake at night!


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Kandy Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback