X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No 26D Reviews

26D Cyril Jayasundara Mawatha (Lane), Kandy, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
121 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very kind people, you really get something for your money. Nice rooftop!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed at the guesthouse for a night and had a good time there. It's run by a local Sri Lankan family, and offers a clean and quite place to stay in Kandy. Very comfortable and recommended for those who would like to take a rest from all the noises. It takes approx. 15 mins to walk there from the central bus station, and approx. 5 mins from the town centre.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The host is really nice. The house is close to the lake and to the city center. The bedroom and the bathroom were big and clean.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wonderful host that provided us with a great first night in Kandy. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Room was clean with mosquito net and had hot water. Very private and family did not disturb you. The house had a rooftop patio for us to use. Lovely view. The house itself was a 15 min walk from downtown or a short Tuk Tuk ride costing ~200rupees. Staff let us keep our bags in the house after check out when we went exploring the next day. Definitely recommend. Breakfast was extra but delicious!


100%

Really nice family hotel in Kandy whose owner is a lovely family. It has great location near the Kandy Lake and a good view from its terrace. My mom and I had a perfect experience living there.


94%

I enjoyed my stay at No 26D. And my hosts were very kind and friendly.Nilanthi introduced me to some delicious homecooking and I was very comfortable and secure in a friendly environment

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Don't be mistaken: this isn't a hostel, but a private house with two rooms. Thus you probably won't meet any fellow travellers. That being said, the location is pretty good (about 15 min walk from city), room is very nice, everything is very clean, and it is cheap. The owners are very nice, and if on a budget this can be a silent retreat on your trip.


83%

Our hosts were most welcoming and very kind and helpful. The location next to Suisse Hotel was good. We had a room at the bottom floor which we felt was very damp and moist with a hint of mould smell. So go for the upper rooms if you can choose!


100%

This guesthouse was perfect! It was the nicest one and the cleanest one we've stayed in Sri Lanka. The owners are very nice people and nice to talk to.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Hard to find as they have attorney on the door and it looks all shut up. I asked How much to pay tuk tuk driver, from the station, as he had said it was 300 and considering I paid 400 for train ticket from colombo...but she said 300 so I paid. The next day when I asked a Sri Lankan friend, it was 100-150. The room was damp and cold. Terrible smell. No effort made. Just wanted to charge money for their spare rooms. There was hot water and you could walk to town, but Kandy is bit of dump.


91%

Beautiful place, lovely people, best stay.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely owner, great location by the lake and comfortable room. Close to a school and temple so morning prayers and singing are your morning wake up call :)


100%

This is a bungalow house located in the center of the city just beside Kandy Lake. The owners are a local couple who are very polite and well-educated. They live in one room and rent out all the other rooms to their guests. The whole property is very comfortable and clean, which makes guests feel at home. There are nice paintings on the walls that reflect a good tast of art of the owners.


89%

Pretty nice place to stay. Got the room with bathroom and a really nice terrace. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Gave us a lot of information where to go and what to do. The only negative thing was the toilet, was not proper cleaned, still some hairs. But other than that we really can recommend this place. Fran and matt


74%

clean and decent rooms, nice stay near the lake so 10 mins from centre. would recommend staying here as everything was just as we wanted. although don't walk around the lake at night!


94%

Fantastic location, clean rooms, kind staff, good value!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed here 2 nights and i loved this place. Its not close to the train station and bus terminal but its walkable (15-20min walk). The house is cute and clean and the owner is really friendly and helpful.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It's a nice place run by a lawyer and his wife. They don't know much about the travel/lodging business, so the best they can do is call a reliable driver for you. Don't expect them to know prices or many details about the sights. They are very nice, but they tried to hide the fact that they could not understand my West Coast USA accent. The place is super clean and cared for. Some of the spaces are small, i.e. bathroom, but it's really charming. Great for couples, but not singles.


100%

The best place to stay in kandy. Householder is very kind, i will recomend all chinese friends to come here~


97%

One of the best places we have stayed at not only in Sri Lanka, but anywhere. The owner is fabulous, very (genuinely) friendly, helpful and hospitable (thank you for your tea with sweets!). The hostel consists of a few room remade into hostel rooms in his own house - very new, very clean and beautiful, with hand-picked furniture, hot water, etc. The place is not very far from the centre (south side of the lake, middle part), very quiet, and you don't have to climb up into the hills. Recommended!


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Kandy Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback