X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No 26D Reviews

26D Cyril Jayasundara Mawatha (Lane), Kandy, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
211 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 99%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We felt really comfortable, the breakfast was great and we got many good ideas and advices on what to do in Kandy.


97%

It was a nice first accommodation in Sri Lanka. Very silent and clean. Thank you for your hospitality.


100%

We loved staying here, the family were so nice. And we enjoyed the little boy doing his route practice I be evening. Great location near Kandy lake. We shall definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location. Right next to Kandy Lake and 5 minutes walking to the market. The rooms are big and clean. Jagath and his wife are gracious hosts and helpful. Definitely recommended!


91%

We had an absolutely lovely stay at guesthouse No26D! The family is very friendly and helpfull and the location is very nice close to the lake. Clean and spacious rooms. We absolutely recommend staying here!

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Helpful and friendly family - thanks for having us stay! Light, decent sized room, comfortable place to start our holiday (and get over jet lag!).

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The family and staff were all absolutely lovely. They were helpful with advice and recommendations and made you feel part of their family. Nothing was too much hassle for them and the home itself is gorgeous. The owner said he had done all the designs for the rooms and each one was homely, spacious and very clean. Mosquito nets and fans were great and the bathrooms had hot water and were clean. The little veranda was lovely in the evening for reading and chilling. Wonderful breakfast too!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place, great location! Nice and helpful hosts. Room is cleanand comfortable.


77%

There's a misunderstanding. This is suppose to be a bed and breakfast but its not. No breakfast was served. The owner was nice and warm and the place is a bit away from the lake but I got a family room which have a glim of the lake. Overall it is value for money.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved this homestay, the owner is so friendly and helpfull. The rooms are downstairs, which helps to keep them somewhat cool in the sri lankan heat. The rooms were clean and spacious. Security is excellent, you have ring the bell and they will personally let you in. Location is excellent, a pleasant 10 minute walk along the lake to get to the main street with restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here again.


97%

I have a hard time imagining a better place I could have stayed in Kandy -- No 26D homestay was absolutely fantastic! It's a pleasant 15-minute walk in the shade along the central lake to the downtown area and the tooth temple. The room I stayed in was spotless and super comfortable. The good quality ceiling fan keeps you cool in the inherent humidity of the region. The breakfast was nice, the shower water was warm, the wifi was decent, loved the terrace. This family-run homestay is a real gem!

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I had been spending about 1,000-1,500 SRP per night in other parts of the country and decided to spend a bit more for my last nights in Kandy. The slight increase in price made a huge difference! This guesthouse was really lovely with very well kept rooms and a warm welcome tea upon arrival. Do note that from the street it isn't obviously a guesthouse and the sign reads that it is a law firm. Anyways, just ring the bell and the family running the place will greet you straight away!


77%

Kind staff who tended to our needs.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely place. Would recommend.


97%

We was there at the end of october 2015, sadly just for 3 nights. We had an awesome stay there, the family is so nice, we felt like we were a part of the family. The room was perfect, we had our own bathroom inside. It was clean. We get a delicious breakfast every morning, we felt like king and queen. He also give us some good tipps and he cared about us. We are very thankful that we stayed there. We wish you all the best, maybe we come back some day.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

What a fantastic house, and such a warm welcome. The place has an air of calm and peace and we felt at home straight away. Brilliant value, and great location right next to the lake. Thank you for a very memorable stay.


100%

Best Hostel wie had, best Breakfast, very friendly and clean

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Our hosts were super friendly and very welcoming! The room and the roof terrace and very comfy and clean!


100%

A home away from home. Absolutely beautiful home and guest room. Large and clean room with comfortable bed and mosquitoe net (not that it was needed). Hosts are lovely and very helpful. Tea and biscuits on arrival is a welcoming and appreciated touch. Fabulous breakfast definitely worth paying a little extra for. Vegetable omlete, yogurt, fresh fruit and toast with tea/coffee. Tuk Tuk from bus station or railway station is 200 rupees. Our favourite accomodation in Sri Lanka so far. Thank you


60%

The host is very nice, we got delicious tea as a welcome drink. We chose this hostel due to its good reviews and, probably, the upstairs rooms are fine. However, we got a room downstairs, next to breakfast area, which makes it impossible to sleep when breakfast is served. The biggest problem is mould on all (!) the walls in this room- making it a smelly and unhealthy choice to stay. They also charged the second cup of tea for breakfast extra. Laundry is extremely overpriced.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Kandy Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback