X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No 26D Reviews

26D Cyril Jayasundara Mawatha (Lane), Kandy, Sri Lanka

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
173 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The host is very nice, we got delicious tea as a welcome drink. We chose this hostel due to its good reviews and, probably, the upstairs rooms are fine. However, we got a room downstairs, next to breakfast area, which makes it impossible to sleep when breakfast is served. The biggest problem is mould on all (!) the walls in this room- making it a smelly and unhealthy choice to stay. They also charged the second cup of tea for breakfast extra. Laundry is extremely overpriced.


97%

Really nice guest house. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of the guest house is quiet and peaceful. And also the welcoming treat was delicious. Would come back again if visit Kandy next time!


91%

We had a lovely stay at 26D. The owners were absolutely delightful and couldn't have done more to welcome us into their home. The room was spotless and breakfast was served at a time to suit us if ordered the night before. Don't be put off by the entrance, ring the bell and they'll greet you with a smile.I would definitely stay here again.


97%

Excellent guesthouse, extra clean, very welcoming guests! The breakfast is delicious, too bad they don't serve dinner! They helped us organize the trip and our stay in Kandy. They have a rooftop terrace, very cosy :)


86%

A very nice guesthouse!


97%

The hosts are really nice people, taking an interest in our plans and provide advice. The property is right beside the lake. Lots of tuc tucs available nearby. If you fancy a spot of luxury visit the Ozo hotel which is very close. Great rooftop terrace, cocktails and good food.


83%

Family were really friendly and helpful during my stay 😊

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hosts are very warm and welcoming. The location is right next to the lake and a walking distance from the city bus / train stations / Temple. Would highly recommend to stay at 26D.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic manager. Convenient location to the lake and restaurants.


89%

We both felt very welcome, it was a pleasure to be able to stay the night. Thank you very much

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent location, close to the city centre. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Very clean rooms and good wifi.


94%

Super friendly and helpful staff who were all very kind. After staying in cheap hostels and then paying just a bit extra for this place was well worth it. Strong shower! Super clean rooms. Location was ideal. Highly recommend

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Charming house with lovely hosts. Just cool enough overnight with the fans on and windows open (in the deluxe room). Bed comfortable, excellent sleep. Hot water reliable. Everything meticulously clean. Roof terrace is a lovely spot for relaxing. Wifi reliable.


100%

The owners are very friendly and will do anything to give you help and advice. Great location in Kandy not far from anything.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a really pleasant stay at No 26D! The staff was very friendy - the room was nice and clean! The hostel has a beautiful terrace from where you can see the lake. Additionally, in the ground floor, there is a common room. I can defiitely recommend this hostel!


86%

The hosts were very welcoming people. I was traveling alone and lucky enough there was another girl my age that was there alone also, so I hung out with her for a night. I would say it is not the best place to meet people if that is what you are looking for. I also tried to get the breakfast but I was leaving too early so they were not able to accommodate for that. Overall though, other than some ants, it was a nice stay and great location.


91%

I spent two nights here and I enjoy chatting with the friendly owners. Nice room and facilities 10 minutes from bus stop/ train station


100%

Very good location. Warm and welcoming hosts. Very clean and cozy place. Quiet and comfortable

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

we had a very great time in kandy and had a very nice stay in No 26D! the guesthouse is very clean and the rooms are big with a very comfortable private bathroom. there is wifi availiable and the location is only a 1 minute walk to the Kandy Lake and a 15-20 minutes walk to the city center and the temple of the tooth. the guesthouse owners are very friendly and they answered all our questions and helped us with planning our activities in Kandy. we would definitely come back again!

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed only one night there but we definitely could have stayed way longer! They had the friendliest owners we met in Sri Lanka! They helped us with everything and were really interested that we have a great stay at their Hostel! Our room and the bathroom were totally clean and looked nice as well. Our bed was the most comfortable bed we slept in here in Sri Lanka! All in all we had a great stay there and we can really recommend it!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Kandy Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback