X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
2727 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Worse hostel!!! Not ike photos

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Easy to get around close to the subway and buses. Bathroom is constantly wet on te floor which is a pain, a person should stand with a mop and quickly mop the floor for people in the morning or at least provide bath mats for a small fee. The place is secure though I did not like the night at the hostel it just looks really dodgy outside and there are a few regular customers at the pub downstairs who are shady characters. This didnt put me off overall was a good place to stay briefly.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This was the cheapest hostel I had found, although surprisingly good. I stayed in a female dorm with only 4 beds, the room was clean, the toilets / showers were sometimes clean and sometimes not. For my purposes, transport to central London was excellent (direct bus to Marble Arch / Oxford Street / Russell Square).

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

We booked a twin room. The beds are bunk type, with old and dirty mattresses. There was no TV and poor internt connection. During the night we could hear the music coming from the bar, it was difficult to fall asleep. The bathrooms were disgusting, it seems that was never been properply cleaned. I don't recommend. The price don't justifies the quality you'll found.


63%

Not too bed hostel in the end of second zone. Of course as this was No8 hostel, they have not too much bathrooms for all the people. So prepare for standing in line for 15 mins. Apart from that hostel is ok. Just remember you need to give 20 GBP deposit for key, which they will return after checkout ( if you don't hand back key till 10 am you will pay 5GBP fee)


49%

Honestly, this place isn't great. But you get what you pay for here. It's safe enough, clean enough and good enough so if you're looking to go cheap in London then this place is ideal. The fact that the underground system is so good means that the location doesn't feel as horrible as it actually is.


43%

The place was so dirty and some of the facilities were broken. Impossible to get a hot shower at any time of the day. Place always smelt as well


54%

The bathrooms are disgusting (and there's way way too few of them)


74%

Nothing special but a decent hostel. I enjoyed my time here. Cheap, fine beds, clean enough and good security. If you are looking for luxury don't stay here but if you are on a budget you will have no problems with the hostel.


20%

I stayed for about one hour before I changed hostel. I didn't feel safe as a solo female traveller. The staff spoke poor English and the whole neighbourhood felt shady. Bad enviroment and a smell from the night before as it is connected to a bar. The Wi-Fi didn't work and the beds felt like they were about to break down at any moment. It looks good on the website but it is really different up front. I lost 23 pund, but it was worth it.


54%

I stayed at this hostel for a week. Granted, I only paid £9.95 per night for a female dorm, but I don't feel it was even worth that. There were security passes to give entry to the hostel section but anyone could seemingly get in as twice someone was found squatting and sleeping in the toilets rendering them useless for people who wanted to shower. Too far out of the way for central London and felt uncomfortable around the locals. Staff were almost never to be found. Never staying again.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

No wifi except in bar, low cell signal in the back dorm, but every bed had an outlet. The bar played really loud music but was mostly full of hostel stayers on their laptops and phones. Whole place smelled damp, bathrooms smelled worse. Two employees (in a relationship I guess) had a huge row for hours (on and off) in the common areas. There's a large variety of very cheap places to eat nearby b/c its so far from the city center. So some good, lots of bad, but the hostel is very cheap for London


54%

Despite a very good emplacement for this establishment, this hostel is not the top quality! You should pay attention to the matresses you have, my friend still have the print of the spring in her back... The good point is that I noticed that somebody did clean the bathrooms twice or third time per day! Disappointed by the amount of the deposit for the key, 20£ is very expensive for just one key and a key-card...

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Because it was so cheap to stay in the hostel i did not know what to expect, but i was positvely surprised how good it was! I stayed in a four female dorm and the room was clean and rest of the hostel was okay as well. The staff was friendly and the location was good! A very cheap and good hostel to stay at if you are just looking for a place to sleep in and have a shower!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good environment, great location and good services. For a short period I would recommend this hostel.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I love the no. 8 Willesden Hostel London


31%

Wifi doesn't reach bedrooms; there aren't any mugs or glasses at the kitchen, just plastic stuff; staff have a really bad accent; but the bathrooms are clean.


40%

beds were the most unconfortable place i've ever slept.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel was basically just a room for all the drunk people at the bar in the same building to pass out in. You could always hear drinks shouting in the bar and they were stunning into the room at like 5am. A lot of shady figures staying there as well. Location was about 20min from the city by underground. Not terrible but for as far out as it was, it was a lot sketchier than I expected


94%

Amazing experience. Loved it!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback