X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2417 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staff were very helpful. Bathrooms cleaned regularly. Beds changed regularly. Great place to stay.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

If you're looking for cheap, clean accommodation this is good. It's close to a tube station and not too far from the city centre (about 15 minutes) buses are right out the front too. The showers are clean and so are the rooms, cleaned daily. The only thing I didn't like as a female traveler, on her own, was the amount of older men who live at the hostel permantly and act quite intrusively. I often avoided the kitchen and bar areas where they all constantly retire.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

To start with the good things: it was pretty clean and the staff was nice and helpful. But that's it . The toilets did not work, and not the showers either. There was one toilet and one shower for the whole hostel - not enough. Also, the toilet and the shower was in the same booth. The neighborhood didn't feel safe. Wifi didn't work in the rooms. Lights didn't work in some halls which made it very dark. I would not live there again.


20%

This hostel is at an awful localization, the attendance is bad and it does not accept any kind of cards, you should carry cash with you or you will not enter.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

a great place to spend a few nights, night buses, good connections. the area is not very popular and a little frightening after midnight but in 20 minutes you can reach downtown and that's good.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Enjoyed staying here very much. Everyone very nice. Just need to get a bit more on top of maintenance. Some leaking in roof and out of order bathrooms, but apart from this very good.


71%

Pros: cheap, spacious rooms, good facilities, good wifi, room we stayed in and bathrooms were quite clean (can't complain) Cons: Felt a bit dodgy at times, not the cleanest and didn't feel the safest (though nothing bad happened so it's just a gut feel). Staff did not look/feel very professional though they were perfectly pleasant.


74%

The reception staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful with the check in and check out. We stayed there for the Carl Froch v George Groves fight at Wembley. Great location to get to Wembley quickly. Basic room which was clean and proved ideal for the trip we were on.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Has had some bad reviews on here but for a hostel closest to Wembley Stadium


51%

Kitchen didn't have much in it to be able to use at all and it really needs to be re done. Bathrooms were gross and there wasn't enough. The room was pretty good, there was good storage and two PowerPoints next to everyone's bed with easy accessibility, however near my bed it smelt it was disgusting. The room was the best part about the hostel although the staff who checked me in was good.


49%

It's a cheap place and that's probably what you get for that... but problematic is their key policy: If you leave early next morning, you have to return the key the day before - which means you cannot lock your room when you use the rest room, kitchen etc... The area is very sketchy!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staying at no 8 willesden was a great experience. I met some amazing people, and the staff were truly friendly and helpful. The kitchens are good, and lockers are very large. Iron available. Buy a padlock at the store across the street if you don't already have one. This place is not for everyone, however. Cleanliness of toilets/showers was not always good. There were some thefts of electronics (which were in the open on peoples' beds, so keep stuff locked up!), location is not central london.


86%

Friendly stuff, clean and renovated places. Mattresses were not so good, but for a few days was fine. Bathroom was often busy in the morning and evening, so you just had to adapt and use bathrooms in other floors. Internet access (wi-fi) only in the computer room. Definitely a good stay for such a low price.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, close to the tube station. Spacious rooms with lockers and shelves, kind staff. No problems with early arriving and leaving your stuff before check in time. Good Wi-Fi. Cleanliness is average but not the worst place I've seen. Generally good for that price.


77%

nice place, very recommendable but you should bring your own bedlines

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is the third year in a row I have stayed here, and since my last visit last summer they have redone the bathrooms, showers, kitchen, bedroom layouts. It is MUCH better than before. I would recommend staying here if your after a more community and friendly feel than a posh hotel for the upper class. In this hostel there's a bar downstairs, and on my last evening I had some dinner with room mates in the bar and we were all in our PJ's! Fabulous time! Thanks and cya again next year!

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

You created a very reasonable place to stay. I would only suggest for your own benefit to allow people to check in 24hrs - this shouldn't be a problem and can easily generate another 1K a week.


66%

The Location of No.* Willesden Hostel was good for us, located near Cricklewood in north london, it isnt far from a line into central london. At £15pp it was good value for money. There were many facilities avaialble, including a bar, fully fitted kitchen area, pool table. However, of the 4 showeres available only 1 was working. We had no complaints about the staff who were accomodating to us.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Much more a long term stay place with long term stay dwellers. Affordable hostel located in zone 3 for the tube. Staff is comprehensive, but long term stayers are wierd and too inquisive more than usualy. The smaller rooms are recomended, bigger rooms lack of air flowing and it can be smelly, dirty and wet atmosphere. They have enough lockers.


49%

Much more a long term stay place with long term stay dwellers. Affordable hostel located in zone 3 for the tube. Staff is comprehensive, but long term stayers are wierd and too inquisive more than usualy. The smaller rooms are recomended, bigger rooms lack of air flowing and it can be smelly, dirty and wet atmosphere. They have enough lockers.


(77 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback