X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2436 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely excellent. Free good computers. Free gym. Clean showers. Very pleasant atmosphere.


77%

We enjoyed our stay, and we will be back! The place is a bit far from the center, but a day pass was making up for the higher prices that you would pay closer to town. Stuff was friendly and helpful.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The cleanliness is poor and the facilities are always with faulty / broken down My room was very noisy as it is close to main road, bus stop, junctions...can't sleep until 3am every single night for the whole week!!!!!!!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very helpful Gentleman in reception - the English one.One of the most convenient places to stay. Thanks for your hospitality.


80%

Nice staff. Near the bus station and the tube station. It has a pub downstairs which is great!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The biggest plus is that the hostel is located close to the Jubelee tube line and there are plenty of buses 24/7. The location in itself is worth the price. The are is really multi-culti, which we liked a lot, but if you expect the whole London to be like Soho... then just don´t book a room here. The facility is a little run down, even if they are doing their best to fix everything up and they regularly clean lavatories. Might be loud during the night due to the pub. We had a double room.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

It could of just slept in my car that night, and pee against a wall if needed!


89%

Really enjoyed my time at the hostel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Place was clean and felt very safe. Really good price too.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were very helpful. Bathrooms cleaned regularly. Beds changed regularly. Great place to stay.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

If you're looking for cheap, clean accommodation this is good. It's close to a tube station and not too far from the city centre (about 15 minutes) buses are right out the front too. The showers are clean and so are the rooms, cleaned daily. The only thing I didn't like as a female traveler, on her own, was the amount of older men who live at the hostel permantly and act quite intrusively. I often avoided the kitchen and bar areas where they all constantly retire.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

To start with the good things: it was pretty clean and the staff was nice and helpful. But that's it . The toilets did not work, and not the showers either. There was one toilet and one shower for the whole hostel - not enough. Also, the toilet and the shower was in the same booth. The neighborhood didn't feel safe. Wifi didn't work in the rooms. Lights didn't work in some halls which made it very dark. I would not live there again.


20%

This hostel is at an awful localization, the attendance is bad and it does not accept any kind of cards, you should carry cash with you or you will not enter.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

a great place to spend a few nights, night buses, good connections. the area is not very popular and a little frightening after midnight but in 20 minutes you can reach downtown and that's good.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Enjoyed staying here very much. Everyone very nice. Just need to get a bit more on top of maintenance. Some leaking in roof and out of order bathrooms, but apart from this very good.


71%

Pros: cheap, spacious rooms, good facilities, good wifi, room we stayed in and bathrooms were quite clean (can't complain) Cons: Felt a bit dodgy at times, not the cleanest and didn't feel the safest (though nothing bad happened so it's just a gut feel). Staff did not look/feel very professional though they were perfectly pleasant.


74%

The reception staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful with the check in and check out. We stayed there for the Carl Froch v George Groves fight at Wembley. Great location to get to Wembley quickly. Basic room which was clean and proved ideal for the trip we were on.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Has had some bad reviews on here but for a hostel closest to Wembley Stadium


51%

Kitchen didn't have much in it to be able to use at all and it really needs to be re done. Bathrooms were gross and there wasn't enough. The room was pretty good, there was good storage and two PowerPoints next to everyone's bed with easy accessibility, however near my bed it smelt it was disgusting. The room was the best part about the hostel although the staff who checked me in was good.


49%

It's a cheap place and that's probably what you get for that... but problematic is their key policy: If you leave early next morning, you have to return the key the day before - which means you cannot lock your room when you use the rest room, kitchen etc... The area is very sketchy!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staying at no 8 willesden was a great experience. I met some amazing people, and the staff were truly friendly and helpful. The kitchens are good, and lockers are very large. Iron available. Buy a padlock at the store across the street if you don't already have one. This place is not for everyone, however. Cleanliness of toilets/showers was not always good. There were some thefts of electronics (which were in the open on peoples' beds, so keep stuff locked up!), location is not central london.


(1533 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback