X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
2727 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The dorm are awefull. They smell alot. I even think homeless people live there, so I had to take a double bed room, with shared toilet. The toilet took years of waiting if you wanted to go in the afternoon. Also I was scared to leave my stuff in my room, because doorlock was just ridiculous and windows were right next to the street where the 2 story busses could see in my room.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

not clean.


71%

The room has big space and kitchen is wide. The reception area needs to be more hostel like. I was disappointed when I enter the venue. Central heating wasn't working.


57%

Very noisy as above a bar and the music played into the night, also no sound proofing so you can hear everything from the street where there are sirens all night to the people in the nearby rooms and the music from the bar below. The bunks squeaked really badly couldn't even breathe without them squeaking. But the staff were helpful and quite friendly. Only a 5 minute walk from a metro so easy to get around London. The shared bathrooms weren't great, the water wasn't hot and the pressure was bad


77%

Excellent sports coverage

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It is Very good From Michael


100%

nice place. friendly and helpful staff. thanks guys


51%

The hostel was incredibly cheap for a stay in a 4beds female dorm, as i paid 20£ for two nights. And the room was big enough. But it stips here for the advantages! Regarding the price i didn t expect too much though. But the bedroom was full, the bathroom was always dirty with water, hair and hairs...disgusting! The kitchen was dirty as well as some people didn t clean their dishes and let them in the sink... And as a solo traveller girl i felt vert unsafe in the neighborhood during the night.


71%

If you don't want to spend too much money, come here, but... - don't choose 16 beds room, because there aren't windows; - be careful to your food, the fridges are in common in the kitchen, sometimes a Robin Hood can steel your food; - this place is cheap, that's mean that could be bad people, be careful to you phone, pc and others. Someone stolen my friend's phone and one more from another guy. For finish: this is a good place, with good staff and for most good customers, but be careful.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Small rooms and only very limited facilities. No towels to hire as stated on Hostelworld.com - towels were only for sale for 8 Pounds each.


49%

Someone was quarreling when I got back to the hostel at night at the reception.


31%

worst flee ridden place ive stayed in .disgusting is the only way i can discribe the dirty walls dirty toilets the place stunk .my skin was itching in the bed .i saw black small flies .

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Perfect if you just need a bed and shower.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The room itself was ok and clean. Bathrooms are a problem: There are only 2 showers/toilets on the floor. The staff tries to keep them clean but it's impossible regarding the number of people using them. They are defenitely in need for a renovation (moldy). Since the hostel is inside a pub it got quite loud and drunk customers were lingering in the corridors at night. Regarding the price you can't expect very much but we will have to take a more expensive hostel next time.


66%

Location near Dollis Hill station is good and staff was nice. The place was not very clean, especially the bathrooms sometimes... Also, the pub downstairs is quite noisy on weekends. However, affordable price, so you get what you pay for.


60%

The gentleman manning the reception was great, very much on top of things, helpful and accommodating. The young girl however was completely and utterly incompetent and with a bad attitude to boot. She near-lost my laundry and handed out my room key to a complete stranger who barged in after midnight as I was sleeping. Overall, the hostel seems to mainly cater to a male clientele who are either looking for work or are somewhat in transition in their lives - wouldn't recommend for female traveller


57%

The people cleaning the facilities did an excellent job - though patrons did their best to leave toilets and showers in the most desolate condition after each use. 4 toilets/showers are way too few, one toilet and shower was temporarily broken, on top. Trying to sleep in room next to bathroom was imposible at times as shutting doors was extremely loud. Room doors were not lockable. Sheets fresh and tidy - same could not be said for matresses/ blankets. Overall less than standard.staff great,tho

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

-It says no.8 willesden hostel and then the taxi dropped us off at the wrong place seeming its actually 305 or something? -Music very loud all day/ all night. It is an ideal place to stay but the music levels are crazy tbh. I heard other users of the hostel complaining too. -Besides them 2 points, it was a perfect plan to stay. The staff were lovely and got on very well with them.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

You have a very warm place to sleep but the bed is noisy. If you go a weekend prepare to have music coming from the bar until midnight. people are polite and the owner is a nice fella. ask him for good stuff to visit. he will give you good advice


74%

It was fine; obviously no frills at all, but it was clean, didn't smell and I felt safe. What more can you ask for twenty-three quid in central(ish) London?

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(82 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback