X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2418 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

When we came inside, it smelled like beer. We booked a room for 4 girls in 1 room. This is the reason why we booked this hostel. Because all the other hostels said we couldn't sleep together in 1 room. But when we arrived, 2 of us had to sleep in a room for 2, and 2 of us had to sleep with 2 other girls. We weren't very happy about that. Also the bin wasn't empty and there were no sheets on the bed. 1 night a boy was very noisy, and the security didn't do anything.


57%

The hostel was quite dirty, we were obliged to rewash everything before using it. Bathrooms weren't that clean...People were really noisy talking really loudly no matter the hour of the night. One night a boy almost kick down the door of his room because he couldn't get in, and hit ours just beacause he've seen one of us going in the bathroom. It was between 5 and 6 am....and in a way it was really scary. Nobody from the staff has taken part to stop it.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The place is not clean, half of the lights of the first floor were not working which made us use only one bathroom for a big number of rooms. The atmosphere does not make us want to stay in the hostel to have a drink. However, it is good enough for a short stay, to have a cheap place to sleep in London. The location is fine even if the neighbourhood is not actractive at all.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Dark, bad facilities, dirty, expensive and without breakfast.


69%

Remember that you get what you pay for. The place was definitely not very clean, and while we were there the bathrooms on one of the floors wasn't working so there was always a line to use the bathroom/shower. They're also co-ed. I had heard of bedbug problems, but thankfully my room didn't have any. The staff is very friendly though, and very wiling to answer any questions or help you out. We also got free drinks, which is always a plus. Also, free bbq on Friday.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There are some problems with this Hostel, especialy quantity of bathrooms is to small - there were always queue. The biggest room on the ground floor, doesn`t have windows and there is really hot, even in october. Building is quite old, so lights and taps are broken. You can find mice in rooms, but finally value for money.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Hello! The Hostel was OK, but i need to complain about the toilets which wasnt working good, there was no toilet paper, lights in some toilets and to small number of toilets for so many people in hostel. There was no hairdryer too!

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome place to stay or just hang out! Only issue we had was with the yale locks being a bit funny but not too major a problem, as long as we can get in. Hostel was cleaner than some "hotels" in the Euston area!

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i am so proud of Alice, Franchesca, michelle, and Trevor. they are making my stay very peaceful and enjoyable


80%

really good hostel, nice common area to watch movies and meet fellow travelers, Great value for money, would reccommend


66%

What you'd expect for that price, basically. Nice and helpful staff.


71%

The hostel, is in a good location on 10 mins walk from Dollis Hill tube station (Jubilee Line) Tube zone 3. However the hostel is not too clean. If you need internet a lot of the time the internet connection there is abysmal especially at night. The kitchen area was disgusting and the shower pressure is not good. However the atmosphere is great, staff and guests are a friendly bunch, there was karaoke, also free bbq on fridays, I'd stay for the atmosphere not the facilities.


57%

Generally it was a pleasant stay. I've managed to loose an entry door card, which was given to me in a broken cardholder, to which staff member stated that I have broken it myself and therefore they have to charge me my deposit for the lost card. Generally ok location and facilities, but there is a scope for more. The place is not very clean.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Wanted somewhere to rest my head and knew from the price it wasn't going to be great but it was really dirty.It looked like the room had not been cleaned since the last person was in there & the toilet looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. Wanted a towel but the man at reception advised me not to which is never good. There was also building work going on,the whole place needs a serious renovation and a good clean. Just pay the extra 10 pound and get a nicer place in a better side of town


40%

Blaring uk garage music playing late. Don't accept card, only cash for some reason. Take £20 cash deposit for v. basic key which can only be returned during an inconvenient 1-hour timeslot (9-10am). Must be making a killing on non-returned keys! Definitely seems dodgy...

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! The music we play is Kiss FM radio, not a garage playing radio station. No cards because we do not have a credit card machine, hence the cash. Guests can return the key when they checkout from 8am the following day. There is not a 1 hour time slot. Please come again!

43%

stuff i read about bed bugs seemed to be true,would not go there as it is very noisy at nights,strangers walking in the halls in hostel,very dirty bathrooms,not worth it at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your comments we will look into this situation. It is the first we have heard of this. Please come again!

57%

The staff was friendly but it far away from the city so if you go sightseeing and then something happens with the underground (as it is to be expected) you ar kind of stuck in the middle of nowhere. We had to change keys for the room two times because they didn't work and then it still was only with some talent that you could open the door. There was mold in our room at the ceiling so my brother felt rather uncomfortable being directly beneath it. Other than that the cleanlness was ok.


51%

Dirty sheets, dirty facilities, understaffed, overpriced, utter rubbish..


94%

Great staff and great people staying there to meet. I read some bad reviews for this place before I went, these must be the kind of people that are never happy with anything. For the price in zone 2 you can't go wrong here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the feedback. We aim to please and try to give all customers value for money. Please come again!

71%

OK, apart from having to checkout between 9-10am, no sooner, no later. Extremely inconvenient and pretty lazy tbh.


(1525 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback