X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

No.8 Willesden Hostel London Reviews

305 High Rd, Willesden, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2490 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

For me has been very well . The personal very friendly and helpful. The cleaner girl was very friendly. In general my days in this hostel I have liked. Congratulations!!!!

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

the cheapest hostel in near city center of London !!!!

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel is like psychiatric hospital . Most people are Italians who living in hostel . Many people sleeping in kitchen.


74%

Positive: good ambience, staff helpful! Negative: bedbugs


54%

Hostel No. 8 was our second hostel in London. The staff of the hostel was friendly and rooms were clean. We didn't appreciate the atmosphere, there were a lot of black walls, there was no real lounge (the pub was the lounge) and there was a different atmosphere than our previous one because there were a lot of elder people (>35). There was internet but it was very slow,opening your email on your laptop took almost 10 minutes. Internet on their own computers was better. Value for price is OK.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a great stay at this hostel and the value for money is incredible. Don't expect frills and luxury. For the price however, what more do you need? All was good....However,, the next morning was a huge disappointment! After the staff had made such a fuss of explaining the rules of the establishment, one of which was the checking out times, I was astounded to see that when it came to checking out the next morning no staff were there! They were 1.5 hours late in coming.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Dont expect the Ritz but friendly and warm. Toilets and shower was clean and fellow guests friendly.


60%

It is really annoying they ask to pay for all the stay beforehand, it is not reasonable as when you depart it is really the most convenient time because there are maybe changes in the length of the stay, longer or shorter. The staff and managers do not appreciate regular customers as they put a lot of pressure and do not have much consideration with regular customers in the hostel as I already lived nearly four months, they did not rely or appreciate me for that.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Really enjoyed our stay. Bar downstairs is excellent.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I spent a fortnight in the Hostel N°8 in Willesden and enjoyed my stay. The staff work long hours to keep the place pleasant in spite of bad manners and ignorance. The cleaning girls sort out and make bathrooms and bedrooms neat everyday and are always kind to everybody, they work so hard that I didn't need to wear slippers and spray disinfectant as usual when I had a shower. The receptionists are always polite and helpful and so are the workers who are refurbishing some areas of the hostel.


54%

When we came inside, it smelled like beer. We booked a room for 4 girls in 1 room. This is the reason why we booked this hostel. Because all the other hostels said we couldn't sleep together in 1 room. But when we arrived, 2 of us had to sleep in a room for 2, and 2 of us had to sleep with 2 other girls. We weren't very happy about that. Also the bin wasn't empty and there were no sheets on the bed. 1 night a boy was very noisy, and the security didn't do anything.


57%

The hostel was quite dirty, we were obliged to rewash everything before using it. Bathrooms weren't that clean...People were really noisy talking really loudly no matter the hour of the night. One night a boy almost kick down the door of his room because he couldn't get in, and hit ours just beacause he've seen one of us going in the bathroom. It was between 5 and 6 am....and in a way it was really scary. Nobody from the staff has taken part to stop it.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The place is not clean, half of the lights of the first floor were not working which made us use only one bathroom for a big number of rooms. The atmosphere does not make us want to stay in the hostel to have a drink. However, it is good enough for a short stay, to have a cheap place to sleep in London. The location is fine even if the neighbourhood is not actractive at all.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Dark, bad facilities, dirty, expensive and without breakfast.


69%

Remember that you get what you pay for. The place was definitely not very clean, and while we were there the bathrooms on one of the floors wasn't working so there was always a line to use the bathroom/shower. They're also co-ed. I had heard of bedbug problems, but thankfully my room didn't have any. The staff is very friendly though, and very wiling to answer any questions or help you out. We also got free drinks, which is always a plus. Also, free bbq on Friday.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There are some problems with this Hostel, especialy quantity of bathrooms is to small - there were always queue. The biggest room on the ground floor, doesn`t have windows and there is really hot, even in october. Building is quite old, so lights and taps are broken. You can find mice in rooms, but finally value for money.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Hello! The Hostel was OK, but i need to complain about the toilets which wasnt working good, there was no toilet paper, lights in some toilets and to small number of toilets for so many people in hostel. There was no hairdryer too!

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome place to stay or just hang out! Only issue we had was with the yale locks being a bit funny but not too major a problem, as long as we can get in. Hostel was cleaner than some "hotels" in the Euston area!

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i am so proud of Alice, Franchesca, michelle, and Trevor. they are making my stay very peaceful and enjoyable


80%

really good hostel, nice common area to watch movies and meet fellow travelers, Great value for money, would reccommend


(1555 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback