Hostelworld.com

Noah's Ark Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Noah's Ark Backpackers Located at 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth, Greymouth.
Noah's Ark Backpackers
New Zealand
Greymouth 7805 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth
87% 258
-42.4507263 171.2122464
Noah's Ark Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.4

Reception was often left unattended, I waited for 15mins to hire towels and kept calling them as per instructions at the reception desk but to no success. We stayed in a double room which was quite small and a bit damp, also the sheets were stained. Good kitchen facilities and good location. Free breakfast (toast& cereal).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Worst bunk beds ever!!! I had the top bunk and the whole thing would wobble if I even moved a leg. If I tried to get down the whole things would shake! I felt so bad for the girl sleeping below me because I kept getting up to use the washrooms and I must have woken her up every time. Not to mention the mattress sunk in the middle as if I was about to go through. And very poor Wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Beautiful themed rooms. Free bike rentals. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.6

Only stayed there for a short night but it seemed nice, really near the Main Street of greymouth, near the railway station (great if you're taking the tranzalpine), nice rooms, nice kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Would highly recommend. Owner was great and honest with his recommendations. The setup downstairs makes for a social environment and the place has character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.4

We had a great double room, spotlessly clean and really big. The building is really interesting. It has a lovely balcony overlooking the town and where you can watch the sunrise/sunset. The staff are really friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.9

Within an easy reach of the train station, this beautiful old monastery is a true gem. The lovely host of the hostel and the easy-going vibe in the hostel made me feel at home right away. There's not that much to do in Greymouth itself, but it's a perfect place to charge up your batteries in one of the hammocks so you can fully enjoy the beautiful train ride to Christchurch. Thanks for having me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.9

I love animals so how could I not love a place that loves animals? The dorm beds were small, as if they were intended for children, so i couldnt sit on the edge of my bunk to pack my bag or anything. They are also very squeaky. Otherwise, the hostel is big, the kitchen was clean, the price was right, the showers were available & the door locks at 830pm for safety. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.6

Very good hostel. Confortable, clean and nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
5.1

The overall review for this place service, facility, and atmosphere is below average. Will not go there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.