Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Noah's Ark Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Noah's Ark Backpackers Located at 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth, Greymouth.
Noah's Ark Backpackers
New Zealand
Greymouth 7805 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth
84% 276
-42.4507263 171.2122464
Noah's Ark Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
3.1

Staff treat you like children, extremely cold building, no heating, locks on rooms didn't work, staff always turning the heating off in communal areas. They are very stingy, not a cheap place. You have to pay for things extra: $2 for a smelly towel. No luggage storage (probably the only hostel I have stayed in that kicks you out at 10am & wont let you leave your bags because of 'cleaning' - huge building, makes no sense. They direct you to the I-Site which doesn't open until 9am & costs $5.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
10.0

The best hostel in New Zealand! It is well done. I had the feeling to be at home. It was very clean and the staff members were very kind ! Thank you for the two lovely days in your hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Booked a private room for me and three compadres. Got a private room for me and three compadres. A sweet little room at that - ours was tiger themed which was just great. Good facilities and helpful staff, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.4

Reception was often left unattended, I waited for 15mins to hire towels and kept calling them as per instructions at the reception desk but to no success. We stayed in a double room which was quite small and a bit damp, also the sheets were stained. Good kitchen facilities and good location. Free breakfast (toast& cereal).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Worst bunk beds ever!!! I had the top bunk and the whole thing would wobble if I even moved a leg. If I tried to get down the whole things would shake! I felt so bad for the girl sleeping below me because I kept getting up to use the washrooms and I must have woken her up every time. Not to mention the mattress sunk in the middle as if I was about to go through. And very poor Wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Beautiful themed rooms. Free bike rentals. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.6

Only stayed there for a short night but it seemed nice, really near the Main Street of greymouth, near the railway station (great if you're taking the tranzalpine), nice rooms, nice kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
8.0

Pretty neutral hostel. The kitchen is nice. Wi-Fi signal did not permeate the building. There are no lockers in the rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Would highly recommend. Owner was great and honest with his recommendations. The setup downstairs makes for a social environment and the place has character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.4

We had a great double room, spotlessly clean and really big. The building is really interesting. It has a lovely balcony overlooking the town and where you can watch the sunrise/sunset. The staff are really friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.