Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Noah's Ark Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.9

The hostel is quite cool. The couple that run it are really nice and friendly. The showers and toilets were good. The room was very big and spacious. The kitchen was very small and cramped, and we had a room next to the balcony, so was nice during the day but a bit loud at night- but that just depends on the other guests staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, it was clean and the staff and other guests were friendly. The beds were very saggy when you laid in them, but I'd still stay again if I was in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Lovely hostel, friendly staff. Balcony great for a relaxing beer. Only downside was Kitchen was slightly small and crowded. But in general highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Excellent location, sheets felt clean and the showers were great. The kitchen was never too busy. Great group of people, welcoming common room to meet new people. Thumbs up experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.6

Good location but staff were a bit weird, a little unhelpful and the toilet shower and kitchen facilities were a little unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jan 2017
7.7

We only stayed for one night. It was a good hostel. Not super clean, but it was ok. The dining area was nice to sit at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • VTWIN10002065
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.6

This hostel is in a massive old house that apparently used to be a monastery. Rooms are big and not overcrowded. Beds are comfortable and warm. There is a big veranda and balcony to sit and relax on. It's a short walk from the main street and various pubs, restaurants and cafes. More toilets would be good, but otherwise there are very few complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.0

Supper friendly and welcoming staff. The free Wifi worked remarkably well having that this nz where of such is not common

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.7

Big hostel always full of people with a great location in the city center. Unfortunately there is not a possibility for parking, internet is paid between 7PM and 7AM and the shared bathrooms are always full in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for giving your feedback. I was not sure what you meant by 'internet is paid between 7pm and 7am' as we have completely upgraded our wifi system and it is free of charge. We give out the password to everyone who comes. With regard to the bathrooms being full in the morning, Sometimes people are not aware that they can use bathrooms on the other floors. I now provide this information at check in. With regard to parking, there is plenty of free parking outside on the street and a generous sized free Car Park opposite our hostel that is primarily used by our customers.

  • jorgehuysmans4374
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Although Greymouth wasn't really that interesting, the stay in this hostel was really nice. The staff is really friendly and very helpful, everything was clean and I loved the atmosphere at the hostel. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.