Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Noah's Ark Backpackers Reviews

16 Chapel Street, Greymouth, Greymouth, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


200 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Second time I stay at Noah's Ark. I love the atmosphere. It is a warm and welcoming hostel. Met so many nice people there.


Gorgeous place with excellent staff. No in-room lockers nor luggage storage (although being allowed to leave our larger bags in a commons room after checking out was greatly appreciated), but this is basically a non-issue for travelers with lockable luggage. Very happy with our stay here, highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're really happy you enjoyed the stay and we appreciate the feedback.


I've stayed in 6 hostels in the last ten days and this was by far the worst. It was very cold and uninviting. It's an old building that needs updating. The biggest downfall was that there was on one toilet and shower that we could find. Staff was friendly enough. On a good note: the hostel dog was precious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have six showers and five toilets that are well sign-posted. We also have a a log fire that was burning all day in August and a large heat pump newly installed to keep the lounge cozy. We had some American students staying about this time and we had to kick out their friends who were freedom camping in the street outside and using all the facilities. I hope this is not a vindictive review, it's certainly not accurate.


I stayed in a double room. Basic but enough for what I needed. Quiet and only a few other guests when I was there, which was fine as I was only staying one night. Helpful and friendly staff. Room and bathroom clean and tidy but bath towel frayed and clearly previously white now grey in colour. Pillows and linen also smelled old/dirty. Basic breakfast included, well stocked kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. All used linen is changed and washed every day. If we are not sure if a dorm bed has been used we change it. We do take on board your feedback and partly as a result of these comments, we have replaced all hand towels, most bath mats and a large proportion of the sheets and towels in the last month. We have tried to replace anything that could have been considered old or worn. This is not a one-off, it is part of ongoing and regular upkeep.


All round a good stay for a 1 night stop over but found it strange that there was no one available for check-in between 2pm-4pm as we arrived at 2pm.....

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We do close from 2-4pm. We are owner-operated and this allows us to take a short break and for example, to get to the shops and pick up supplies. Our opening hours were shown on Hostelworld when you booked, but we're sorry if you were inconvenienced. Guests are welcome to make yourself at home and make use of the facilities if you arrive between 2-4pm. Tea and coffee is provided free so you can have a cuppa too.


The heating was totally inadequate, making for a very cold stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. You were staying in the Sheep room - our female dorm. This room has TWO heaters - a bar heater on the wall and an additional column heater. These do not produce instant heat, like a fan heater, but they are quiet and they are very safe. If you close the windows and have curtains drawn after dark the two heaters are more than enough. We have gone in this room after check out on many cold winter mornings and when the heaters have been left on it is very warm.


homely feeling hostel. 100mgb datta per night is a bit annoying though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We have finally been able to upgrade our internet to a fibre optic connection. We're now providing 300mb a night free and additional vouchers for 300mb for only $2. We think that limited but fast internet is better for most people than unlimited but sometimes very slow internet.


Such a cool hostel! Loved the themed rooms, the fire, the funky kitchen! Lovely, thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback! We're happy you enjoyed your stay.


A cool concept for a hostel. The building is definitely old and the floors creak when people walk by but it was adequate. The free bikes for rent are great, but very small and uncomfortable, especially for tall people haha.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. The bikes have adjustable seats but the frames probably are a bit small for the taller amongst us. We'll see about getting something bigger when we are next replacing one.


Nice hostel, Bez the resident dog was particularly worth the visit. Make sure you take him for a walk! Greymouth itself isn't much to write home about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback, it's much appreciated and we're glad you enjoyed taking Bez for a walk.


Great hostel, friendly staff. Good facilities, clean and loved that all the room were animal themed! close to the monteiths factory and town

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the brilliant feedback! We're glad you had a great time and liked our central location.


We enjoyed staying in Noah's Ark and playing with the dog. All the rooms are animal thema and look beautiful! Close to The supermarket and shops in Greymouth. The showers are big and clean. Kitchen is also big with free coffee and tea. Only negative: no lockers in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great feedback! We are happy to lock laptops or other valuables in our office if you have concerns.

View all Greymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback