X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Noah's Ark Backpackers Reviews

16 Chapel Street, Greymouth, Greymouth, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
224 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of the loveliest hostels I've stayed in. An old converted monastery, the interior is grand, beautiful, as well as being maintained and kept extremely clean by the wonderfully helpful staff. They've gone all out with the Noah's Ark theme, too. I was in the penguin room: wall paintings, posters, toy and model penguins, a penguin hat you could wear, even the blankets were penguin-patterened! The rooms (communal & dorm) were all high-ceilinged, brightly lit and lovely. A++

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great and nice staff, big dining area, a little bit to small kitchen though and could have been more free wi-fi. Very clean and close to the centre. Comfortable beds


94%

We loved our stay at Noah's Backpackers. The hosts were kind and welcoming. Would definitely recommend a stay there!

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best stay, great people, awsome vibe!


74%

-for NZ conditions good WiFi -kitchen well equipped -could use more showers


94%

A place with great atmosphere! The rooms are categorized by animals and it's fun to walk into. The staff was very helpfull and nice. The facilities were clean and neat. Definitely a nice place! Would recommend it for sure :)

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful building with cozy rooms and an wonderful outside area. Allround a great atmosphere, great hosts, great value for money, and a great sleep. I would highly recommend this hostel.


91%

Nice place. Clean and well located.


94%

I stayed here one night. It was a pleasant stay. Hot tub isn't free, but oh well.


97%

Staff member who was on last Sunday evening was top shelf.


91%

Second time I stay at Noah's Ark. I love the atmosphere. It is a warm and welcoming hostel. Met so many nice people there.


91%

Gorgeous place with excellent staff. No in-room lockers nor luggage storage (although being allowed to leave our larger bags in a commons room after checking out was greatly appreciated), but this is basically a non-issue for travelers with lockable luggage. Very happy with our stay here, highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're really happy you enjoyed the stay and we appreciate the feedback.

51%

I've stayed in 6 hostels in the last ten days and this was by far the worst. It was very cold and uninviting. It's an old building that needs updating. The biggest downfall was that there was on one toilet and shower that we could find. Staff was friendly enough. On a good note: the hostel dog was precious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have six showers and five toilets that are well sign-posted. We also have a a log fire that was burning all day in August and a large heat pump newly installed to keep the lounge cozy. We had some American students staying about this time and we had to kick out their friends who were freedom camping in the street outside and using all the facilities. I hope this is not a vindictive review, it's certainly not accurate.



View all Greymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback