X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nola Jazz House Reviews

3414 Canal St, Downtown, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
205 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff was incredibly helpful and the rooms and facilities were very clean.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean and nice hostel in New Orleans. Not exactly in the center, but you can take the street car. If you are coming from the airport, just take a cab, since it's a flat rate of $33 (don't try to take the shuttle bus as suggested, cause it doesn't go there)! I would stay here again.


89%

Me and my friend stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time at the Nola Jazz! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly which made our stay extra pleasant. The hostel was clean and had a welcoming vibe to it which made us feel very at home and comfortable.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The location of the hostel was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was great having a breakfast (pancakes/waffles, fruit pots, oatmeal and coffee) available and there were some nice common areas. The room was basic but fit for purpose and secured with an electronic card to get in. The area we were staying in only had one bathroom shared between quite a few people but this didn't seem too problematic. The streetcar was out of action when we went but the replacement bus worked well.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my time there. the perfect place for an amazing city.


100%

Conveniently located across the street from the streetcar which made getting to the French Quarter and Magazine Street easy and cheap. Amenities included linens, towel, breakfast bar (pancakes, waffles, fruit cups, coffee), passcode keypad security, etc. Staff was friendly and accessible -- especially David who provided us with lots of recommendations on local restaurants and bars. As two 20-something females, my friend and I felt safe in the area. Highly recommended!


77%

Nola Jazz House is a nice and clean hostel! It's pretty close to the french quarter and the street car is right in front of it. The staff was very nice and helpful! I would stay there again.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Need to clean the bathrooms.. Shower curtain smelled like mold and the drains were in a poor state. Keys should have worked better if we didn't get back before the staff left we would have been locked out for sure.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice place! very clean, comfortable beds. Location in itself not spectacular but super close to tram which takes you wherever you'd like. Staff was extremely helpful. Only thing that could be improved is the breakfasts...


71%

Living rooms are too small, breakfast could be better by far in comparison with other youth hostels in the USA

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

was clean and tidy. Turned up early and let us leave our bags until check in time, and when it came to leave we could leave our bags past check out and collect them later in the day. Very close to the streetcar which takes you around straight to bourbon street and the French quarter and is only $3 a day

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had an amazing welcome from David when I arrived and he kindly helped me with my (quite) overweight bag up the stairs. Location is really convenient for access to airport and via streetcar to the French Quarter in New Orleans, also pharmacy, bars, restaurants, post office and supermarket within walking distance. Only gripe was it was double the price to stay on Friday night compared to Thursday but this is normal across hotels. All in all I met some great people, it was worth it!


86%

This hostel was great! David at the front desk was especially helpful with everything! We couldn't have asked for a more friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming staff member - his recommendations were always perfect and he had an answer for every single question. Would recommend this hostel to friends going to Nola

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The security was better than any hostel I've been to. The rooms have keypad locks and anyone staying in a larger room with strangers can use lockers in the hallway. The location is right next to the tramcar line so it only takes about 10 minutes or so to get back to the heart of the city. There are also complimentary pancakes every morning. All that considered, it's definitely worth the price.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We seek out hostels so we can cook for ourselves and enjoy the atmosphere with other travelers. Was happy to find this was a family friendly place close to downtown and easy to access with the streetcar.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great great great place! Clean, organized, the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful and the location was great! Had a marvelous time there!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not a bad hostel at all. Location is good and right next to the tram system of NOLA that you can take easily to the French Quarter. They try to keep it clean but it is an old house. However, it sure does have great charm. Its on the pricey side but that may have been because I was there during Memorial Day weekend.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is only a block from the tram which made our lives so insanely easy. Everything was clean and even the atmosphere came off as a little bit sterile but the staff definitely made up for it with their friendliness. Pancake breakfast was clutch though. Pancakes all day erry day - except after 11.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

HI Alan! Remember me? Had a great time at both hostels! Looking forward to visiting again (just

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

one of my favourite hostels Ive stayed in! all the staff were extremely helpful and all staff and guests made you feel very welcome on your first day. very easy to get into the French quarter/ wherever you wanted to go in New Orleans with street car stop right out the front. a little tight on room and could probably use an extra shower


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback