X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nola Jazz House Reviews

3414 Canal St, Downtown, New Orleans, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
42 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The hostel is brand new so there is still some sawdust around from construction...on the plus side though, everything is brand new! It is on the trolly line on Canal St so getting downtown was incredibly easy. I only stayed for one night. The biggest problem was the noise coming from the common room at 2am. Breakfast was great and very generous. Everything else was great.


100%

Great place in a good location. Staff are really friendly and helpful and rooms and facilities are good. The atmosphere here was great with a good group of other travelers. Location is good with the streetcars just outside and frequent to go to the French Quarter or anywhere else. Would definitely stay here again.


94%

Great hostel with very friendly staff who were always eager to help,Sarah was awesome. Rooms were really clean and comfortable. The hostel is about 15 minutes from down town, but is really easy to get around using the street cars. Would definately recommend this hostel.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was so nice. He introduced many things such as way to go to French Quarter, and how to use the facilities when I arrived at Nola Jazz. The location is close to French Quarter if you have a plan to take streetcar. And it was a chance to meet friends around world. The most surprising experience was to meet Singaporean who had visited to South Korea.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The NOLA Jazz House was a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and the hostel is located right on Canal Street so the streetcar will take you to Bourbon street and the French Quarter in less than 10 minutes. There's a kitchen, wifi, and an outdoor patio to enjoy a beer and a chat with the other hostel guests. It was a bit more expensive than most hostels (note: I stayed there in the 4th of July weekend), but the cleanliness and overall quality was also better than most hostels.


100%

Had a great time. The Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Very close to downtown and in a safe area of New Orleans. One of my better hostel experiences.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very helpful staff, they'll direct you to the best food, best music, all the fun. Simple affair but does well for a hostel. You'll enjoy your time here.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

located in mid town, a great part of town. a short ride from everything, and has nearby bars and stores if you don't want to go to any big scene. a coded card is needed to just enter the building and a code is needed to get in the rooms, with lockers for locking up things in the dorms, security is great. the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, they were able to answer every question i had for an hour straight. the only downside to the place is the showers don't drain the best.


97%

The Hostel is in a really good area. Everything is super easy to reach with the incredible cheap street cars (1.25$ per ride or 3$ for a day card). I met lots of really nice people there and we hung out together in the patio of the hostel on a Saturday night till about midnight. Even the staff joined us later. It is clean and has a really creative design :)


80%

The staff at Nola know what they are talking about. There is a great atmosphere at this Hostel. Unfortunately, the bedsheets were not washed and stained and there were bugs in the washrooms.


80%

Nice place, have to take trolley to get to French Quarter. My room was by the office, so it was noisy - nothing that an $8 pair of headphones didn't cure. Sarah was really helpful with information and advice. Please keep ion mind that at the time of this review, it is a work in progress; some of the rooms (mine) were hot because of being on the old house AC system. They were putting in a new bathroom when I was there as well... I think this place is going to get even better with time!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were extremely helpful and full of ideas for the best stuff to do and best gigs to go to every night. It was super helpful in a city that is all about the awesome music! Social and fun hostel, for the low price I paid it was really good value! The only negative was a shortage of bathrooms, but a couple extra opened the day I left so I doubt that would be a issue for future guests! I would recommend this one to other travellers!

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It was a great experience it turned out to be my favorite part of the entire trip! the staff is awesome and the place is very clean and everything is new! I highly recommend it!!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really stellar place to stay in NOLA. Clean, cool, and well-equipped, and at very reasonable rates. The staff is super friendly. The location is a little bit away from the French Quarter, but it's relatively quick to take the tram down, and there are ample amenities and free parking around the hostel.


91%

It was a fantastic hostel and stay. The hostel itself is very secure, there is no way in except you are checked-in or someone opens the door. Not directly in the French Quarter, but via 1 min walk and then 10-15 min tram you'll be there or in the City Park. A few blocks away are supermarkets, restaurants, bars. The staff is super friendly and knows a lot about whats going on and is chiming in with people, so great atmosphere, also great original wall pictures. It was mostly very clean.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic Hostel, the staff were all super friendly, helpful and great to chat to. Really clean facilities, good breakfast and perfect location. Would highly recommend this hostel!


91%

Really need to get the WiFi working in the lower level dorms, it's not that hard! You just need to buy something like this: http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-N300-Wi-Fi-Range-Extender/dp/B004YAYM06 . Also, make sure you clean out your fridge regularly. I had some groceries one day and there wasn't any room in either refrigerator - it wasn't til later when I looked closer and saw that half of the stuff was moldy and old. Would definitely recommend you guys to someone looking for a budget stay in Nola


100%

the staff were just the best you could ask for the art on all the walls was most original and made the place really chill and with the deck on the back gave good atmosphere. free breakfast waffles and oatmeal a plus after a hangover... good city recommendations and easy to get to the french quarter with streetcar right in front of the building

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great new hostel in Nola. Located right next to the streetcar stop so getting to the French Quarter is easy any time of day. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hostel has a great kitchen, bathrooms, wifi and even an extra fridge for booze. Looking forward to coming back soon.


91%

Really really enjoyed my stay at the NOLA Jazz House - it's only just opened its doors and is bound to get more awesome as it establishes itself properly over the coming months. The staff in the hostel could not have been better, more helpful or accommodating. Genuinely great bunch of people working there who want you to experience the best New Orleans has to offer. My time there would have been all the poorer without the brilliant recommendations I got on a daily basis. Highly recommended.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all New Orleans Hostels

Please give us your feedback