Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomad

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Nomad Located at 11, Howard Gardens, Cardiff.
Nomad
Wales
Cardiff cf24 0ef 11, Howard Gardens
80% 1932
51.4833873 -3.1653070
Nomad
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.3

Great value for money here- not perfect, no bathroom on the level of a lot of the rooms (just have to go down or just stairs) and a bunch of the people staying there are long term, so they have taken over quite a bit of the limited space in dorms. The communal areas are a lot better- pool and plenty of tables to sit at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2017
4.0

The beds at nomads are bad. The springs feel like they're about to burst through if you move to quickly. The bed was filthy and I found old tissues under my blanket. Bathrooms are disgusting not sure if they were cleaned. Staff were very hit and miss, the lady who checked me in tried to charge me extra and I had to insist on the right price. I booked at £7.50 per bed but it has recently increased to £9. For £7.50 it is hardly worth it, the place is a dump. Location is good though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • emimartinezespinosa4248
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

This hostel was a really good option for a stop at Cardiff. We really enjoyed the beds and the breakfast. Wi fi was a bit of a pain but then the rest was good. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Nomad is good value for the price with breakfast included, a lounge room, pool table, and several common rooms. It's slightly out of the center of town but still just about a 10 minute walk to the center. The biggest con are the beds. I'm not fussy about hostel beds but the beds were so awful that me (and my 2 friends) all had trouble sleeping because you could literally feel every mattress spring, probably some of the most uncomfortable hostel beds I've ever experienced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
7.4

If you are going to visit Cardiff and you dont have much money, Nomad will be a good option for you. However, there's only one condition you need to endure which is the bed and quilt. They are a bit old and you might get disturbed by others easily. Nomad, it even provides cereal and toast for breakfast without extra charging. And the many places with TV where you can relax yourelf.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.3

Honestly, the price is almost unbeatable anywhere in Europe. Very good value for money, especially since breakfast is included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Its super cheap, and you get what you pay for, but they've definitely done a good job of it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.0

It's in a great location, only 5 minutes walk from the high street. The hostel itself is alright, beds are comfy enough and rooms are warm. However, they have a lot of people living there or staying for long periods of time and it gives a very weird vibe to the place. We were also put in a room with a man who snored so terribly (I'm normally okay with snoring but this was next level) and once we moved rooms, a guy we spoke to said we were about the 6th person who has had a problem with that man.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Did the job and got a great price in advance. Very happy they did breakfast as well although before 9am. The rooms were very hot, Windows could be opened though, save a bit on heating!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
5.7

Less than welcoming staff member on arival, there was mould on the walls and bed. The room stank of body odour. Spend a bit extra and stay somewhere that is less likely to be dangerous to your health.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.