X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomad Reviews

11, Howard Gardens, Cardiff, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1469 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Staff was very friendly and helpful with a few issues (completely out of their control) that arose during our stay. The facilities were all clean and well maintained. Would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel close to the city center! Everything was great. No complaints here.


100%

First room was cold but once we said something they immediately put us into a different room. Place was clean and tidy ot too far from town and had a good atmosphere!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

DIRTY!!! Dirty bathrooms, toilet, halls, rooms. Old bedding left in the corridors and manky old sheets to sleep with. Plastic mattresses make for a slippery nights sleep. Not worth the money spent. Scummy.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

for some reason our room wasn't getting the wifi. we could only get it downstairs in the lobby. It is in a great location close to the busy streets with lots to do, just not in the center of it which is nice to be a couple blocks down.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

great hostel to stay at. Except the bloke who works the night shift on reception is a nightmare to deal with. all other staff were helpful and friendly

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was surprised by what they provided at such a low price.. It might be the best hostel I stayed in 2014.


100%

I have to say it was definitely worthy of staying at Nomad, in particular considering that the the price is attractive...


31%

The hostel is not so far from the city, but the crow was very rude and there was even a guy that was playing same online game and didn't give attention to us. The cleanness is bad and they let the door of the rooms open during the day, despite the fact that we lock the room and afyet in the night was totally open. I won't go anymore to this hostel, I recomend you to avoid this hostel too.


46%

the only one good thing is the staffs they are really nice, the hostel is so small, and narrow, the toilet is sooooooo discussing, facilities are so old and u can see the nasty trash, even the bathroom is submerged, the reality of toilets and bathroom are totally different as the pictures shown.i even dont want to use it, and the badroom! there is no befsheet!, and the bed seems fragile when u lie on it the bed will make a noise, one of my friend even get bite by worms or sth??


91%

Wish I had stayed longer! Beds were very comfortable, people were very nice and friendly, shower was excellent. I'd definitely recommend it.


94%

Extremely nice hostel. Even though not so near the Cardiff Bay, it is a walkable distance and easy to get there by bus or train. Maybe just need some refurbishment in the bathrooms, which were clean, but they look a little bit old. Staff very friendly, good facilities as TV room, pool table and sofas. Simple but very good breakfast and with very good places around, being possible to visit the main places of Cardiff by foot. Extremely recommended.


71%

Really cold room without any option of heating up.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A great little find tucked away in Cardiff. Its the only place that would take us for just a night and it was a great place. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Its not a far walk from the train station and the place is on a quiet street.


86%

I was further walking than expected, but the hostel itself was very good. Good breakfast facilities, good showers, very clean.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Well recommend. Very cheap and very clean. Nice vibe. Tidy

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was good accommodation for backpackers. Not bad price, service etc...


74%

room quiet beds ok breakfast - not really there, but at least something very nice and helpful staff no towels??


80%

Friendly and helpful staff, great location.


51%

Relatively pricey for the bare basics. Fine if you literally want someone to crash. Otherwise tiny space and incredibly uncomfortable beds. Definitely won't be returning.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Cardiff Hostels

Please give us your feedback