Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Airlie Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th May 2017
6.6

Demand on the staff is too high. Understandable as reception is checking in for 2 hostels: Base and Nomads. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are clean. The shed bar as well is lively but the staff weren't the friendliest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.6

Honestly , I was really excited to stay here. However, the cyclone has seriously destroyed the property which is not stated in the hostel world add. There is only one kitchen for the combined ( nomads and base ) hostels. Which means everything is filthy and you have to wait 30 minutes for a pot. Overall feel abit lied too..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st May 2017
9.7

Great hostel! Would recommend to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • domeniquesilverstolpe
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.6

Very clean and nice rooms! Pretty calm-

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
7.1

A good hostel. However, check in takes forever and the staff don't seem to enjoy their job. Luggage storage you have to pay for, but don't get a receipt and it's just left in an open room that anyone can access. Pool area is nice and the hostel generally has a good vibe. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your review. We apologise for the time it took you to check in, due to the Nomads reception being closed due to damage caused by the cyclone, and having to combine Nomads and Base check ins it is unfortunately a slower process than we would like but we are trying out new procedures to improve this! In regards to luggage storage as a policy we label each bag for overnight storage and they are stored in a locked room, we are shocked that this didn't happen for you! Please feel free to contact us directly so we can look into this! We are glad you enjoyed the Vibe of the hostel, we agree that the pool area is fantastic! We hope you had an amazing time here in the Whitsundays. Best Wishes Hannah

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
7.1

The kitchen is tiny! One fridge to support all the guests from Nomads and Base is ridiculous. Have to hire plates therefore reception is also packed and understaffed! Rooms are decent size and clean and the en-suite is nice. Expect you to pay an excessive amount for wifi! Overall for the size of the hostel it is not brilliantly run.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your review. We love the size of the rooms here and our housekeeping team are great! We agree the kitchen isn't ideal for Base and Nomads guests combined, but unfortunately due to cyclone damage, Nomads kitchen has had to be closed to guests for the time being. We are working as quickly as we can to improve these facilities for you all! We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the WiFi, unfortunately it is controlled by an outside provider so it is hard for us to dictate the pricing for this. I hope you had an amazing time here in the Whitsundays and on the rest of your travels. Best wishes Hannah

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
5.7

To be honest our stay wasnt to pleasent. First of all the reception is closed after the storm and the alternative is hard to find - especially when you check in after hours. That being said there is no internet, the kitchen space is limited and the cleaning wasnt to good (we stayed for 3 nights and they didnt even empty the bin)! That being said the rooms are big and beds good, but they do not get a lot of points on service and hospitality in general!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to the cyclone we have had to close the Nomads reception because of damage, however we do have signs up on the reception directing you to check in at Base Backpackers 100m up the road. We are very sorry if this wasn't very clear! We are very sorry that the internet wasn't working during your stay, unfortunately the internet connection was also severely damaged however, is now up and running again. We hope you had an amazing time here in the Whitsundays. Best Wishes Hannah

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Apr 2017
6.6

Overall an OK place to stay but if your looking for somewhere to store your luggage walk down the road to Magnum's. Not only is it cheaper there ($2 for a day, compared with $6) but its much safe. When I asked to put my luggage in to storage they said yeah not a problem someone must already be over there as the key isn't here. I walked over to find the key in the lock and no one around. Just not good enough!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.1

Easy enough to stay in. Sharing a kitchen with base x wasn't ideal though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

Sadly, due to the cyclone, we understand there as a bit of disruption due to the damage. We had booked a dorm of 6, however were put in different rooms all around. The staff weren't very helping in assisting us. Overall ,however good facilities and amazing location. Thank you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.