X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads All Nations Reviews

2 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1082 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

It was dirty, we left after one night even though we paid for three nights. very different from the photos. The only upside was that the staff was friendly, but might be alittle unprofessional.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Very noisy and cold, I was frozen trying to sleep.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi C Thanks for your comments. We are more than happy to handle some extra duvets and covers or whatever is need for your well being. We hope to see you again for a better experience. cheers Nomads Management

63%

It would be nice if you provide free wifi in the bedroom and thoroughly clean the pillow sheet and blanket between the clients.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi T Thanks for your comments. We do clean all our bed sheets when people check out or even on request. Come to reception and try to ask if you have any issues like this. Cheers and safe journey Nomads All Nations

77%

Staff, Atmosphere and the location are amazing! I ve been in one of the "better" rooms which was pretty big and yeah it is true the building is cold, as it is kinda old (makes it look vintagestyle which is nice) but it is winter guys ;) All in all a very nice hostel and recommendable! I was traveling by myself and as the hostel has a big room with kitchen it is easy to meet people!The only thing I really disliked was the WIF,that did not work in my room..makes you go to the kitchen (-->people!)

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! Happy you had a great time! Yes Free WiFi can work a bit funny but it's free! :D cheers Nomads Management

71%

Nice big place to eat and kitchen, good location and great bathrooms but crammed rooms and not the friendliest staff, also if you're not into partying this is not the place for you - very loud

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Nice to have you around. We are glad you enjoyed your time. Our Bar is on but in a different part of the building. Let us know at the reception and we can work on the noise part. Cheers, Nomads Management

31%

I would never recommend this hostel to anyone. The building is extremely cold, there is no heating anywhere and I was shivering all night. Also the showers were terribly cold. The staff was indifferent, the longtermers were unfriendly and there was a horrible smell everywhere - mostly cigarette smoke, but also the kitchen smelled really bad and the toilets stank. It was a terrible first time in the city. There are much better, friendlier hostels in better neighbourhoods of the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry for your experience. we are an awesome hostel and we are ready to help. Hope to see you another time to improve! Cheers Nomads Management

91%

Hotels good, iv'e stayed here before. the kitchen is a bit of a hot mess though. Ive done work for accommodation in a few countires and my advice would be if you have wfa's on all day they should be responsible for the kitchen. People never put the dishese away so If they have a 3 hour shift they should look after it for the 3 hours to keep it tidy enough. Put away the dishes wipe the surfaces. The basics because it was never tidy when i went in.


31%

The whole building is damp, so there is always mosquitos around even in the winter months.I never felt safe leaving any valuables in my room. The wifi was terrible and pretty much non existence. The security of the whole hostel didn't feel very safe, we had someone open our door while we were in our room then didn't even say anything and we didn't see who opened it before they closed it again. That happened a few times while we were in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi S, We're really sorry to here that you didn't have the stay that we usually expect our guests to have. If you're ever in Melbourne, please come back in to say hello. We'd love to say sorry face to face All Nations Crew

74%

This hostel was conveniently located next to the train station, had lots of common space and food storage, had free wi-fi, and was clean. I was a little disappointed that the "free pancakes" for breakfast was actually just a dry mix. It was loud in the evenings from the bar downstairs, but the noise didn't carry to my room. Some of the showers were out of order, but the bathrooms were generally nice. There seemed to be a lot of renovations going on. Good value for Melbourne!


71%

Average budget hostel environment :) my 16 yo daughter loved the atmosphere and all the diverse pple around. We took earplugs as we always do when staying in melbourne they worked great to drown out the voices and pple coming and going all night. The room was extremely plain and linen wasn't the 'newest'. All facility's were good we were opposite the unisex bathroom so it was constant traffic all night but earplugs worked. Great atmosphere and perfect location . Just like camping but indoor !

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Follow blog link below for full review. Loud and underwhelming. Wouldn't go back .They say they have WiFi, but it's in the travel shop downstairs. Super close to the transit center (5 minute walk). They say they have free pancakes. What they have is a few bowls in the kitchen - one with pancake mix, rice, pasta, coffee, sugar. Who has ever eaten a dry pancake? Well, me. Talk about false advertising (and Flinder's has an amazing free brekky, so Nomad's was such a joke). http://wp.me/p6eWQf-2o


60%

Location is great; just opposite Southern Cross station and the staff are very nice but rooms were grubby and smelled unpleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi S, We're really glad to hear you loved our staff, however we're not so glad to hear you weren't a fan of our rooms. We have just hired a load of new cleaners to make sure the hostel is kept up to our usual standard. Cheers All Nations Crew

57%

There weren't enough showers on each floor and when I stayed the shower on our floor was out of order so had to go to another floor, also the rooms didn't have curtains and there was a street light that shone in, also it is quite noisy as trams and trains go passed all night, but otherwise it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi V, We're really sorry about the shower situation. We are going through a toilet revamp at the moment so a few of our bathrooms are locked down at the moment. If you're ever in Melbourne city again, please come in and see us Cheers All Nations

57%

The cleanliness of the toilets and shower rooms are far beyond people expectations. Very limited shower rooms available for use.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi W, Thank you for you positive comment about our showers. We are trying our best to keep them up to a very high standard. We are going through a refurb at the moment which means some our toilets are out of use. This will be completed any day now! Cheers All Nations

54%

The staff were lovely and the room itself was fine, but the bathrooms were the filthiest I have ever encountered in a hostel. The same dirt was on the bathroom floor on my last day that was there on the first. The nearest shower cubicle had a stench of urine despite not being near a toilet. There were globules of salvia around the sink. There was removed body hair in a sink for days. I did not appreciate the fact that the bathrooms were unisex. The kitchen made my eyes water it was so repulsive.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi R, First of all, thank you for staying at All Nations. We're really disappointed that our bathrooms weren't kept to our usual standard. We're having a big refurbishment at the moment which means there are less bathrooms available and they get dirtier quicker. We've recently acquired more cleaners to deal with this. If you're ever in the city again, please come in and see us Cheers All Nations Crew

60%

Really good location, however I felt the hostel wasn't very clean and outdated.


54%

I booked 3 beds in a 4bed mixed dorm. On arrival there was one of the bed sheets stained with what looked like blood. And also there was a terrible smell of body odour in the room.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi C Thanks for your comments. I'm a bit surprised for your comments. If something like that happened, please, let us know at the reception and we sort it out on the spot. Cheers and safe travels. Nomads All Nations

77%

Nice hostel in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff, facilities OK and some free stuff in the kitchen (pasta, rice, tea, coffee, sugar, flour) oh and free WiFi. Altogether a good place for a reasonable price. Would come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi R We hope to see you again soon! Cheers and safe travels Nomads All Nations

83%

I had a one night stay at the hostel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There's a place to store luggage and there are security cameras in the hostel so it felt safe. There was free wifi which is always a plus point, and you could have free tea/coffee too.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi N Thanks for your comments. Also we have free pasta, rice and pancake mix. As well as you can have Meal for free in the weekly rates. We hope to see you again soon! Nomads All Nations

74%

Great staff on this centrally located hostel. Kitchen is small and untidy, but I enjoyed my stay very much. Weekly deals are great and you get free meals with that. Also free food is always welcome (free pasta, rice and pancake mixture all the time available in the kitchen). Nice events on bar downstairs. If you're not too fussy about cleaniness, you'll enjoy your stay for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi A. Thanks for your great comments. We are working on our cleanliness to improve that section of the hostel to have a perfect hostel. We hope to see you again soon

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback