Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nomads Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 2185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 2185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Apr 2017
6.9

Stayed here for 2 nights, it is in a great location and decent showering facilities, room basic but pretty good for a dorm. Not a lot of atmosphere but bar crawl was fun would probably stay again if in Auckland

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.4

I just loved the Hostel! Front desk staff was informative and friendly. I only wish there was a computer I could have used. I can't wait to stay there again! Patrick O'Connor USA

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Patrick, thank you so much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologise that we didn't have a computer handy for you to use. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.4

Positive: Busy place where you can meet a lot of people, well-located in almost the heart of Auckland. Has what it needs: Chill-out area, laundry (4+2 NZD), free coffee, friendly staff. Negative: No free WiFi (4 NZD a day, good speed then), not the newest place, a lot of carpet that looks a little messy. My private room had water leaking from the ceiling in a corner due to the rain. Remember it's a dry hostel, no alcohol is allowed on the premises, but plenty of bars around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience with us and hope you were also able to make use of our free daily activities like the walking tour and the BBQ?! We are very sorry that you were affected by the leak in your room and we hope this didn't cause too much disruption. Please let us know if you are back in Auckland at any time soon so we can give you a little upgrade in return. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2017
5.4

Rooms and floors smelled terrible, the bathrooms on the second floor couldn't be used. The beds were highly uncomfortable but when I told the staff I was just told that they were "standard hostel matrasses" which is definitely not true. I've stayed at a lot of hostels before and hardly got such bad matrasses. Bathrooms and toilets could have been cleaner. Overall a very unpleasant stay. NOT reccomended to anyone!!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that our renovations disrupted your stay with us. We are in the process of undergoing them level by level to always keep 3 bathrooms open for use. We have given you a free upgrade from a booked 12 shared dorm to a 8 bed room dorm which indeed has new inner-sprung mattresses. Our bathrooms and communal areas get serviced numerous times a day and on request if needed when our 24/7 reception is getting notified. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
5.7

Rip off for no wifi, small kitchen, stinky room

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, thank you very much for your review. We apologise if you thought our wifi is a rip off. We advertise free WiFi in our travel shop only during their opening hours and have paid WiFi for $4/day. We appreciate your feedback on our kitchen size we try and utilize our outside roof top area as much as possible. We hope you enjoyed the free upgrade we gave you from a 12 bed dorm to a 8 bed dorm and hope you brought any dissatisfaction with your room to our reception's attention as we are operating 24/7 we can attend any issues immediately. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

1st Apr 2017
8.6

Bunk beds were very squeaky and creaky. Any motion in the bed would create noise. Okay for a short stay but not if you need a good night's sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that the beds were a little squeaky we will get our maintenance team to fix this asap! All the best on your future travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

1st Apr 2017
2.9

Extremely loud all night, right next to a Pub. Beds creaked and were uncomfortable. Bathrooms were not clean. Overall I would not stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that the noise from surrounding bars/night clubs kept you from a good night's sleep. We give out free ear plugs on reception and if the noise persists our staff when notified will contact the local council to get somebody out to stop the noise. Our communal areas are getting serviced numerous times a day and also on request when our 24/7 reception staff is notified. All the best, Nomads Auckland Management

31st Mar 2017
10.0

Great staff. Cool little hang out area/lounge that I was still able to use after checking out. Mixed shared bathrooms that were kept very clean. Old building but is right in the city. Ideal spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.7

Staff were amazing! You get lockers under your bed which were amazing and fit my entire backpack and gear in. The room I stayed in was a bit smelly as the windows were a little mouldy. The atmosphere at the time I stayed wasn't the best either but there wasn't many English speaking guests at the time so not much you can do about that. The kitchen had a good selection of equipment however it didn't have an oven.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.0

The hostel was centrally located, so made getting around the city really easy. The rooms were clean and tidy, as were the bathrooms in the besuited rooms. The kitchen was fully of amenities, but they could have had more cupboard space for people's shopping, as multiple people were sharing one. The staff at the desk and at the travel shop downstairs were all really helpful and made my stay much easier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.