Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1,846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1,846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
Nomads Auckland Located at 16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland.
Nomads Auckland
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 16-20 Fort St, Auckland
69% 1846
-36.8459718 174.7673723
Nomads Auckland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
2.0

I Was not told I needed to bring a passport I had a drivers licence an credit card I booked the room with but upon check in was told my booking number was invalid an was unable to stay I had to find another place to stay Not happy with this booking site will not be using this website again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you weren't given the correct information. Most international backpackers require a valid passport upon check in. We hope you will have more luck in the future. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.1

Well done guys. Great value for the money. Cheers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much! Enjoy the rest of your trip! Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.1

A nice place. Prepare to pay for your WiFi in 24 hour blocks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear you enjoyed your time and hope you were able to use our free hour WiFi in our Mad Travel Shop? If you are staying more than one night we recommend the weekly rate of $12. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel location is great! Just next to Queen Street where you can get anything you need, and New World is just over the street for your grocery needs. The sky bus stop is just behind the street too. The toilet and shower room is clean, the bed is clean too however I feel the carpet in room is dirty and sticky (you won want to step on it with your bare foot >.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your latest review. We appreciate your feedback and we will get onto that carpet asap. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
4.0

The travel shop have lied to me charging me extra for tickets to black water rafting and not informing me about the cost of accomodation. Additionally I was not informed of the $400 deposit I would need to put down at car rental pick up point when this was organised by nomads staff. Aside from three staff members, the staff were unhelpful and rude to not just myself but other guests at the hostel. Bathrooms broken with leaky taps and wet floors, wifi $4 a day. Will never use nomads again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, thanks for your feedback. I just had a look at your travel bookings and just went through them with our travel manager. You booked your car rental with us and paid the full rate and insurance with us therefore the car rental place shouldn't have charged you anything extra upon pick up. Have they since returned this deposit to you?Please let us know via email so we can make sure they did:nadine@nomadsworld.com In regards to your other bookings we have given you a total of $10 discount for your 3 activities you booked with us - there was no accommodation purchased through our travel desk so I am not sure what costs you are enquiring about. We have fixed our leaky taps and the floors are getting dried a few times a day due to constant usage. We hope you made use of our hour free WiFi in our travel desk during your stay? Nomads Auckland Management

1st Jul 2016
9.1

This is a great hostel with a great location. The skybus takes you nearly to the doorstep from the airport. The staff was great; super friendly , helpful, and happy (which really spreads the joy). The rooms are a good size and I met very interesting people there. The showers are wonderfully hot and there wasn't much noise. I was really cold and the hostel was really nice about bringing a blanket. You might want to have a couple of extra if you are from a warmer climate. I give this hostel an A+.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

22nd Jun 2016
6.3

I was in a dorm and my bed wasn't comfy, I could feel the bedsprings, lucky I just booked for one night.... Btw I went to the bar next to the hostel and I had the worst attention ever!! I would not recommend to anyone!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are surprised and sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable sleep during your stay with us. We have only purchased those inner sprung mattresses in the last year and therefore still pretty new. We will check this out and hope you past this information on to our desk at the time so they were able to help you out with a new mattress/room? Unfortunately the bar always gets associated with us but it is actually a totally separate business to ours - anyway we are sorry that your customer service expectations weren't met there. Hopefully you enjoy the rest of your trip. Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.6

Nomads was the best hostel we found in Auckland by far! Very clean rooms, bathrooms, and showers, and relatively quiet for its downtown location (which is perfect). Friendly and accommodating staff and planned social activities every day of the week for those interested. We'll definitely be staying at Nomads next time we make the trip to Auckland!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • lebell086163
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.0

Located in a great part of Auckland, close to the ferry, Queen St, etc. Security is good with key entry onto each floor and each room, with large lockers under each bunk, plenty big for a travel pack. Large bathrooms with a large number of toilets and showers, so you aren't likely to have to wait for a shower, although there's always lots of water on the floor. Only negative is my key kept erasing / I had to go to the front desk every other time I tried to enter my room to have it re-magnetized.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you had a pleasant time with us and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with our key cards. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.0

Average, 8 bed dorms are the best value/ comfort I found

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best on your future travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.