X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1262 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We arrived late and went out straight after so haven't spend too much time in a hostel but from what I've seen it's a good enough place to stay. Bar in the facilities is definitely a big bonus.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It's in the City Center and everything is easy commutable from here. Rooms are good and staff is helpful. Really liked this place.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Clean but very very small.. Ok for short stay. Great location.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Everything works as it should. Somewhat boring though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are glad you thought everything worked well for your stay but are disappointed that we gave you a boring feel. We offer daily guided walking tours and offer free daily WiFi as well as participate in weekly pub crawls and sausage sizzles. Maybe you weren't aware of these things? We would love to see and have you stay with us again to show you a more fun time. Please contact us!! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

66%

My main problem with this hostel is that it's usually pretty cold, particularly in the rooms (in the winter that is). I thought the atmosphere wasn't that great, but it could have been bad luck. The location is excellent though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that you didn't think our atmosphere was great?! We are a big hostel but try to have a relationship with our guests! We offer free daily guided walking tours as well as free daily Wifi in our Travel shop! Unfortunately not every room has heaters but if needed we will make it happen! We would love to have you stay with us again to show you a better time! Please contact me nadine@nomadsworld.com Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

I don't really understand how this Nomads is so bad, when the Wellington and Qtown ones are so good! This place feels really run down, and nothing is being done about it- the beds were old and near falling apart, the common room is a sticky mess, and the bathrooms were dirty most of the time (not to mention an entire big window missing) and why must the hallway windows be open ALL the time? It's winter!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review!Our hostel is a lot older than the other hostels but you will be please to hear that we will undergo renovations in our bathrooms & purchasing new matrasses.Our cleaning team services our common areas and bathrooms 4x/day which we will re-look as all areas are in use 24/7. To ensure fresh air throughout we need to have windows open - the reason they are locked half way is that no one falls out!We hope you enjoyed your free upgrade to an 8SH! Thanks Nomads AKL

57%

Kitchen was dirty, bathrooms were dirty. Had a shared room that looked like it hadn't been vacuumed ever. Not sure if the other occupants showered or did laundry on a regular basis, could have contributed to the smell... Said free wifi, only between certain hours and at the travel shop next door. Bit disappointed really.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found our facilities not up to our standards upon your stay. Our kitchen, bathrooms and common areas get cleaned up to 4 times daily by our staff and all rooms get serviced daily. All facilities are open 24/7 but we will follow up on this with our cleaning team. The Travel shop is open from 8am-6pm and Wifi is open during those hours & $4 for 24hrs WiFi or $12/1 week are the charges during your stay. Thanks Nomads Auckland

86%

Bit on big side regards rooms and could do with another kitchen as current one bit small and not always clean. But other than that a good hostel and would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your thoughts on our kitchen and room sizes. We offer all different sizes for all likes (from 4SH-12SH). The kitchen facilities are constantly getting updated and topped up due to guests leaving with them. We have our staff clean the kitchen 4 times a day but with guests constantly using it - it might still look messy at times. We try our best though! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

Stayd here after I got of the Kiwibus and don't like Auckland but this hostel was great! Nice staff, clean and didn't seem as big as it was

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you were able to make use of our free 30min daily WiFi as well as our free daily guided walking tours to explore Auckland? Maybe we see you again soon or in our other Nomads hostels in Wellington and Queenstown. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

I stayed in the king size ensuite room on 3 separate nights. I was really impressed each time with the rooms. My room was spacious, very clean, towels were provided, it had a TV and was very comfortable. The hostel itself is set in a fabulous location and has great facilities as well as really nice helpful staff. I was very impressed with this accommodation and would highly recommend it. Would definately stay there again!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, great value. Rooms are noisy but who goes to a hostel just to sleep?! Really easy to meet people, cheap drinks next door, nice atmosphere, even though wifi isn't free it's very cheap, $4 a day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with even though it can get noisy at times ;) We offer 30mins free daily WiFi in our travel shop as well as free daily walking tours around Auckland. We hope you were able to make use of those? Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

I stayed here one night and didnt really do much. But my room was big and clean..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you were able to make use of our free 30mins daily WiFi in our Travel shop as well as our free facilities on the roof top (Sauna & Spa)? We hope to see you again soon or in our other Nomads hostels in Wellington or Queenstown. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

60%

Good points: staff were all helpful and friendly, reliable wifi ($12 dollar for a week which is good compared to other places) and it is very centrally located. Bad Points: In a room of 6 we only had 2 plug sockets (my friends had 4 plugs between 12). The bathroom sinks were always full of hair - the rest of the bathroom was cleaned really well. The kitchen was completely inadequate - not enough room, no mugs, everything was dirty and there were not enough cleaning materials or tea towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you received great customer service from our staff & hope you were also able to make use of our 30mins. daily WiFi in our travel shop!? We have our cleaning team work on a strict schedule & they attend the common areas and bathrooms, kitchen every 4 hours to keep up a high standard for cleanliness. We do have to re-stock our kitchen every few weeks due to guests taking them with them. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

97%

One of the better hostels in Auckland, everything was perfect, the kitchen was quite small but when you have a jacuzzi, great chill out areas and a bar attached next door it's not really a concern. Staff were great and friendly :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback!We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with the overall experience. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

74%

Not bad for the value. The rooms were a bit dirty and the blankets were old - one other guest told us that they hadn't seen the staff change/wash the blankets in a month. But otherwise our stay was fine.


74%

Should have free wifi all day long

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We appreciate your point of offering free WiFi all day - unfortunately in New Zealand Internet is not free of charge yet but we try and at least offer 30mins. daily WiFi in our travel shop and for only $4 a day or $12/week you get to be online while traveling New Zealand. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Great stay thank you, warm and quiet, great service.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again on you're way back! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

86%

I was there for one night, cause I had to take the plane the next day. For me the location was ideal: really close to the bus station. I booked a 12 bed room, but they gave me a 8 bed room. Staff was nice. The only thing that sucks was that there was no free wifi, not even limited internet. For the price that I have paid, it is certainly a nice hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our staff gave you a free upgrade but unfortunately you didn't seem to know about our daily free 30mins. WiFi in our Travel shop?! We also have free facilities like our Spa and Sauna and daily guided walking tours. We hope to see you again so you can make use of all these things! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

69%

Loved the roof top seating area!


77%

All in all one of the better hostels in auckland, with its roof kitchen sauna and spa, and cleaners working multiple times a day. And a not completly stricked alcohloe ban allowing for a beer or two with your dinner just so long as your not having a noisy party disturbing other guests. Downsides of the hostel are, they dont change the duvet covers for up too three months at a time ( ive had bed bugs twive there) child size bunk beds you cant sit up in and key card system that hardly ever works.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. It's nice to hear that the constant cleaning is being recognised and appreciated. We are in the process of purchasing new bedding which will allow us a more frequent washing of our duvet covers. If we have to deal with bed bugs we have a very strict cleaning process that sees the rooms shut for multiple days and professionally sprayed and all bedding/belongings washed. Our keys do stop working when in contact with electronics etc. Nomads Auckland

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback