X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1196 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Everything was good apart from the outside noise. Had to use earplugs to sleep an I never have to do that.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location! Would stay there again. Really easy to meet people.


83%

The beds were very squeaky and all he plug sockets were hidden and not very easy to get to. The communal spaces were also not that great, both the Tv room and kitchen could have done with being bigger and that would have helped the atmosphere. The attached bar was very nice though and it was always clean with hot powerful showers.


97%

Friendly staff with a travel shop next door. Much more happening than Base and make the most of the hot tub on the roof!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

not enough fridges from the amount of people staying or food storage areas kicthen to small as well very crowded at night . also 10 people in small room with peoples bags on floor lockers under beds to small for backpacks they need WALL LOCKER SO PEOPLE USE THEM

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location but can be noisy until late due to surrounding bars. Great views from kitchen (top floor). Rooms clean and tidy.


69%

No free luggage storage facilities. Laundry is insanely expensive Doubt that rooms comply with fire regulations. 8-bed dorm is approx. 4.5m X 4.5m. With all the luggage on the floor it would be very hard to get out if there was a fire. Does not seem safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We offer free 24hrs luggage storage for our guest before and after checkin/out. We only charge for longer storage.Our laundry is $4 which compared with other places is a common rate.Our rooms all vary in sizes but we can assure you that we get regular checked by fire services to comply with regulations. We supply storage underneath the beds but unfortunately we can't control how guests put their luggage in rooms. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Great location and facilities. However, due to it's size, it's harder to meet/talk to other travelers ( in comparison to smaller hostels) Friendly staff and same price as other hostel in the area;

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you were able to make use of our daily free guided walking tours where you can actually meet travelers and explore the city together! We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

100%

really enjoyed our stay recently during the Springsteen gig! clean, cheap and great location cheers guys!!!


80%

Excellent location. Large backpacker hostel so dnt expect any home luxuries that you'd get at a smaller indie hostel. Staff on training were friendly and helpful. Always smiling! Night guy was helpful! Bar attached was just as expensive as any other on the road, if not more, so not appealing for backpackers! Beds were comfy and showers/bathrooms very clean!


83%

The housekeeper on my floor was so thorough that she was cleaning the walls when I arrived. Impressive. Co-ed bathroom was spotless. Kitchen became crowded easily and most pots pots and pans need replacing. Friendly front desk staff. Excessive street noise on weekend nights, as it is near multiple bars and clubs. Bring earplugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff! We have to re-stock our kitchen on a monthly basis due to guests taking dishes etc. with them when they leave. We will make sure this is up to standard again. We are surrounded by bars etc. but we actually offer free ear plugs from reception. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

Very good hostel, great location, very clean. The only bad point is that it's a dry hostel. Meaning you have to sneak alcohol in, the bar on site is good for a few beers too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we don't have a license to allow drinking in the hostel but the bar on Level 1 is a great place to hang out and they also offer backpacker specials. We hope to see you again or maybe you might stay in one of our other Nomads NZ hostels in Wellington or Queenstown. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

Awesome location, with a really cool bar/restaurant on the 1st floor. And a kitchen/outdoor/spa area on the roof. It's a very bog hostel which leave you feeling a little bit like you're in a hotel, but there's a good vibe about the place with a travel shop for advice downstairs and some good food place's down the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of all our great free facilities. We hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels, Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

74%

If your room's looking over the courtyard, unlucky! Very little sleep because of too much noise from the bar downstairs. Was in a great location, generally secure but no lockers in rooms. Facilities were ok and it was mostly clean. I wouldn't stay here again


91%

Very frendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

Decent hostel until I went to checkout. During checkout I asked to leave my suitcase in the luggage room. The lady at reception told me the luggage room was not open yet, but that she would transfer it for me. When I returned to the hostel later in the afternoon to retrieve it it was still in front of the reception counter! They were so busy that i rolled it away and none of the staff even glanced at me! Fail. UNBELIEVABLE! I am extremely lucky. Not staying with Nomads Auckland again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your luggage wasn't moved to the luggage room immediately. This is not how we deal with our guest's belongings! We can assure you that we will speak with the staff member involved as this is not common practice for us. Please contact me and we would like to offer you a free upgrade for when you are next in Auckland. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Quicker check-in system needed, took ages and we didn't even have to queue ! Seen large queues there out the door almost every day. Bed was very uncomfortable and room wasn't very spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately we have certain times during the day where it gets really busy and different bus companies drop off at the same time which is out of our control. We have 2 computers and 2 receptionists on and they try their best in checking everyone is asap. We are sorry to hear that you didn't sleep very comfortably and we looking at new mattress at the moment. We'd like to offer you a free upgrade on your next stay. Thanks

49%

Much dirty and my card didn't work many times.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped for! Can you please email me and specify what was dirty? The room keys are quite sensitive and need to be kept separate from wallets and phones as other cards and electronic devices tend to delete their information. We look forward to your reply. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

91%

The staff couldn't help us with parking when we arrived and the kitchen was very cramped when busy, but otherwise this is an excellent hostel by the harbour front of Auckland. The connected bar and daily hostel-run events are very cool too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't get any help regarding parking? Unfortunately we don't have a car park for our guests and as our location is downtown we only have off street parking on the road or in the designated car parks. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

I stayed here for 4 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was great. Would stay here again for sure!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback