X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1318 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel it situated in a great position, in the middle of the CB district. The staff is helpful and cool. Rooms are clean and bed comfy. A wifi free would be something to consider in the future. Paying for having 24hrs of wifi and no possibilities of pausing it's something to really valid for a good hostel


80%

Booked a basic private room and was upgraded to a deluxe. Room was fantastic clean with a brilliant bathroom. Can't comment on dorms. The social area was dirty with a lot of rubbish but we never spent any time there.


100%

Really cool staff and perfect location! I know this is quite common here in NZ, but Nomads should give free wifi in the bedrooms like most hostels in Europe do. Unfortunately you gotta pay to have that. That's my only complaint.


91%

Fine but atmosphere is lacking a bit


77%

We arrived late and went out straight after so haven't spend too much time in a hostel but from what I've seen it's a good enough place to stay. Bar in the facilities is definitely a big bonus.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Kitchen is the most essential for backpackers. remember we are backpackers is not hotelers. We save by cooking our own meal. We spent on 20 dollars groceries can stretch us up to 4 meals or some even longer. Bed and pillow is equally important. Some pillow and mattress are so thin that we can feel the bed bone. Blanket and linen is good for time being.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It's in the City Center and everything is easy commutable from here. Rooms are good and staff is helpful. Really liked this place.


77%

Clean but very very small.. Ok for short stay. Great location.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Everything works as it should. Somewhat boring though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are glad you thought everything worked well for your stay but are disappointed that we gave you a boring feel. We offer daily guided walking tours and offer free daily WiFi as well as participate in weekly pub crawls and sausage sizzles. Maybe you weren't aware of these things? We would love to see and have you stay with us again to show you a more fun time. Please contact us!! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

66%

My main problem with this hostel is that it's usually pretty cold, particularly in the rooms (in the winter that is). I thought the atmosphere wasn't that great, but it could have been bad luck. The location is excellent though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that you didn't think our atmosphere was great?! We are a big hostel but try to have a relationship with our guests! We offer free daily guided walking tours as well as free daily Wifi in our Travel shop! Unfortunately not every room has heaters but if needed we will make it happen! We would love to have you stay with us again to show you a better time! Please contact me nadine@nomadsworld.com Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

I don't really understand how this Nomads is so bad, when the Wellington and Qtown ones are so good! This place feels really run down, and nothing is being done about it- the beds were old and near falling apart, the common room is a sticky mess, and the bathrooms were dirty most of the time (not to mention an entire big window missing) and why must the hallway windows be open ALL the time? It's winter!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review!Our hostel is a lot older than the other hostels but you will be please to hear that we will undergo renovations in our bathrooms & purchasing new matrasses.Our cleaning team services our common areas and bathrooms 4x/day which we will re-look as all areas are in use 24/7. To ensure fresh air throughout we need to have windows open - the reason they are locked half way is that no one falls out!We hope you enjoyed your free upgrade to an 8SH! Thanks Nomads AKL

57%

Kitchen was dirty, bathrooms were dirty. Had a shared room that looked like it hadn't been vacuumed ever. Not sure if the other occupants showered or did laundry on a regular basis, could have contributed to the smell... Said free wifi, only between certain hours and at the travel shop next door. Bit disappointed really.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found our facilities not up to our standards upon your stay. Our kitchen, bathrooms and common areas get cleaned up to 4 times daily by our staff and all rooms get serviced daily. All facilities are open 24/7 but we will follow up on this with our cleaning team. The Travel shop is open from 8am-6pm and Wifi is open during those hours & $4 for 24hrs WiFi or $12/1 week are the charges during your stay. Thanks Nomads Auckland

86%

Bit on big side regards rooms and could do with another kitchen as current one bit small and not always clean. But other than that a good hostel and would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your thoughts on our kitchen and room sizes. We offer all different sizes for all likes (from 4SH-12SH). The kitchen facilities are constantly getting updated and topped up due to guests leaving with them. We have our staff clean the kitchen 4 times a day but with guests constantly using it - it might still look messy at times. We try our best though! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

1 2 Next » last »
(33 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback