X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1287 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I stayed here one night and didnt really do much. But my room was big and clean..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you were able to make use of our free 30mins daily WiFi in our Travel shop as well as our free facilities on the roof top (Sauna & Spa)? We hope to see you again soon or in our other Nomads hostels in Wellington or Queenstown. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

60%

Good points: staff were all helpful and friendly, reliable wifi ($12 dollar for a week which is good compared to other places) and it is very centrally located. Bad Points: In a room of 6 we only had 2 plug sockets (my friends had 4 plugs between 12). The bathroom sinks were always full of hair - the rest of the bathroom was cleaned really well. The kitchen was completely inadequate - not enough room, no mugs, everything was dirty and there were not enough cleaning materials or tea towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you received great customer service from our staff & hope you were also able to make use of our 30mins. daily WiFi in our travel shop!? We have our cleaning team work on a strict schedule & they attend the common areas and bathrooms, kitchen every 4 hours to keep up a high standard for cleanliness. We do have to re-stock our kitchen every few weeks due to guests taking them with them. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

97%

One of the better hostels in Auckland, everything was perfect, the kitchen was quite small but when you have a jacuzzi, great chill out areas and a bar attached next door it's not really a concern. Staff were great and friendly :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback!We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with the overall experience. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

74%

Not bad for the value. The rooms were a bit dirty and the blankets were old - one other guest told us that they hadn't seen the staff change/wash the blankets in a month. But otherwise our stay was fine.


74%

Should have free wifi all day long

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We appreciate your point of offering free WiFi all day - unfortunately in New Zealand Internet is not free of charge yet but we try and at least offer 30mins. daily WiFi in our travel shop and for only $4 a day or $12/week you get to be online while traveling New Zealand. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Great stay thank you, warm and quiet, great service.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again on you're way back! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

86%

I was there for one night, cause I had to take the plane the next day. For me the location was ideal: really close to the bus station. I booked a 12 bed room, but they gave me a 8 bed room. Staff was nice. The only thing that sucks was that there was no free wifi, not even limited internet. For the price that I have paid, it is certainly a nice hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our staff gave you a free upgrade but unfortunately you didn't seem to know about our daily free 30mins. WiFi in our Travel shop?! We also have free facilities like our Spa and Sauna and daily guided walking tours. We hope to see you again so you can make use of all these things! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

69%

Loved the roof top seating area!


77%

All in all one of the better hostels in auckland, with its roof kitchen sauna and spa, and cleaners working multiple times a day. And a not completly stricked alcohloe ban allowing for a beer or two with your dinner just so long as your not having a noisy party disturbing other guests. Downsides of the hostel are, they dont change the duvet covers for up too three months at a time ( ive had bed bugs twive there) child size bunk beds you cant sit up in and key card system that hardly ever works.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. It's nice to hear that the constant cleaning is being recognised and appreciated. We are in the process of purchasing new bedding which will allow us a more frequent washing of our duvet covers. If we have to deal with bed bugs we have a very strict cleaning process that sees the rooms shut for multiple days and professionally sprayed and all bedding/belongings washed. Our keys do stop working when in contact with electronics etc. Nomads Auckland

60%

Bugs in the room, rooms very dirty. Expensive for the quality!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we would have like it! If we do have bed bugs (which has nothing to do with cleanliness but by spread by people traveling) we have a very strict procedure in place that sees the room closed off for days and professionally sprayed and all bedding/belongings being washed and dried hot. Our cleaning team cleans all rooms daily and the common areas multiple times a day! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

71%

Squeaky beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that your room had a squeaky bed. Our maintenance guy goes through the hostel on a regular basis and tightens the bolts to avoid squeaky beds! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hopefully we see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

1 2 Next » last »
(31 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback