X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1255 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great, no complains at all. Good staff, a few activities, good facilities, all what you can ask for in a hostel. Really happy with my stay!


89%

Awesome location, with a really cool bar/restaurant on the 1st floor. And a kitchen/outdoor/spa area on the roof. It's a very bog hostel which leave you feeling a little bit like you're in a hotel, but there's a good vibe about the place with a travel shop for advice downstairs and some good food place's down the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of all our great free facilities. We hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels, Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

74%

If your room's looking over the courtyard, unlucky! Very little sleep because of too much noise from the bar downstairs. Was in a great location, generally secure but no lockers in rooms. Facilities were ok and it was mostly clean. I wouldn't stay here again


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Very frendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

Decent hostel until I went to checkout. During checkout I asked to leave my suitcase in the luggage room. The lady at reception told me the luggage room was not open yet, but that she would transfer it for me. When I returned to the hostel later in the afternoon to retrieve it it was still in front of the reception counter! They were so busy that i rolled it away and none of the staff even glanced at me! Fail. UNBELIEVABLE! I am extremely lucky. Not staying with Nomads Auckland again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your luggage wasn't moved to the luggage room immediately. This is not how we deal with our guest's belongings! We can assure you that we will speak with the staff member involved as this is not common practice for us. Please contact me and we would like to offer you a free upgrade for when you are next in Auckland. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Quicker check-in system needed, took ages and we didn't even have to queue ! Seen large queues there out the door almost every day. Bed was very uncomfortable and room wasn't very spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately we have certain times during the day where it gets really busy and different bus companies drop off at the same time which is out of our control. We have 2 computers and 2 receptionists on and they try their best in checking everyone is asap. We are sorry to hear that you didn't sleep very comfortably and we looking at new mattress at the moment. We'd like to offer you a free upgrade on your next stay. Thanks

49%

Much dirty and my card didn't work many times.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped for! Can you please email me and specify what was dirty? The room keys are quite sensitive and need to be kept separate from wallets and phones as other cards and electronic devices tend to delete their information. We look forward to your reply. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

91%

The staff couldn't help us with parking when we arrived and the kitchen was very cramped when busy, but otherwise this is an excellent hostel by the harbour front of Auckland. The connected bar and daily hostel-run events are very cool too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't get any help regarding parking? Unfortunately we don't have a car park for our guests and as our location is downtown we only have off street parking on the road or in the designated car parks. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

I stayed here for 4 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was great. Would stay here again for sure!


100%

I stayed here twice while I was in New Zealand. I was upgraded the first time from a 10 bed to an 8, and the second into a private room to myself. Staff were always helpful and friendly, despite having worked all night! It is clean and close to everything. I would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to hear that our staff do a fantastic job and you enjoyed your stays - that's what it's all about! We hope we see you again some time soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

pretty standart hostel in the city centre, u feel like one of a thousand and you wount get to know anyone....


89%

The rooms and toilets are clean but if you want a good sleep make sure you get a room that is far from the roof top bar!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do hand out free ear plugs on reception for the noisy nights. All the best for your further travels and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

66%

okay, have to pay for wifi!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We actually give out free 30mins. WiFi in our travel shop every day. Our 24hrs inside the hostel are only $4. We hope you also made use of our other free facilities like the Spa and Sauna and our daily walking tours. Thanks Nomads Auckland

54%

In Australia all the nomads hostels were pretty good. This hostel was the opposite. The mattresses were so thin that you couldn't call them mattresses. The room was dirty and the beds were taped together and squeaky. We wanted to talk to the reception, but there was always just one person at the reception and it was so busy all the time. Also the rooms are so small, you couldn't even walk in the room If everybody's stuff was in there. The kitchen was to little.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,sorry to hear that your stay didn't turn out as pleasant as we wanted to. We are looking into getting new mattresses to make our guest's stay more comfortable. Our cleaning team is going around the hostel 24hrs/day what time did you experience the room dirty? With full rooms all the time it is hard to always give a tidy impression as people's belongings are everywhere. We hope you were able to make use of our outside area on the roof top?2 staff are on reception all the time now.

80%

Big hostel, average atmosphere, but excellent location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you made use of our free daily activities and facilities which actually create a nice atmosphere in the hostel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

Really noisy until 3am because of the surrounding clubs, and really uncomfortable bed so basically no sleep for 3 nights! The ensuite drains smelt pretty bad. Treated ourselves to a 'deluxe' room which was pretty expensive, but it was a tiny double room with a single bunk over the top - not to mention all the horrible graffiti above our heads. Wasn't even a real mattress, and it was really uncomfortable. Stayed at the Wellington Nomads in the same kind of room - cheaper and so much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped for. The noise is something we have to deal with unfortunately being down town but we do hand out free ear plugs to our guests. We are looking into getting new mattresses as well. The graffiti is something we can't help unfortunately as we could spend every day over painting it but sometimes it might put a smile on your face :) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

the staff hospitality was very welcoming when i arrived and i was treated very well. there were no problems while i stayed there, the location was close to all amenities and the whole atmosphere was very down to earth.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review and we are stoked you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm for 3 nights and it was great. The common room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

It was clean and comfortable. Staff was great. It got a bit loud at night, but an overall great stay.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you made use of our free ear plugs from reception to get a good night's sleep after all! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

69%

doesn't advertise as a dry hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We apologise if you felt missleaded about the drinking policy in the hostel. We inform all guests upon arrival and keep their alcohol safe in our back office to be picked up when our guests check out. We hope you made use of the bar on Level 1. Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

(783 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback