X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1318 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Should have free wifi all day long

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback. We appreciate your point of offering free WiFi all day - unfortunately in New Zealand Internet is not free of charge yet but we try and at least offer 30mins. daily WiFi in our travel shop and for only $4 a day or $12/week you get to be online while traveling New Zealand. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Great stay thank you, warm and quiet, great service.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again on you're way back! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

86%

I was there for one night, cause I had to take the plane the next day. For me the location was ideal: really close to the bus station. I booked a 12 bed room, but they gave me a 8 bed room. Staff was nice. The only thing that sucks was that there was no free wifi, not even limited internet. For the price that I have paid, it is certainly a nice hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our staff gave you a free upgrade but unfortunately you didn't seem to know about our daily free 30mins. WiFi in our Travel shop?! We also have free facilities like our Spa and Sauna and daily guided walking tours. We hope to see you again so you can make use of all these things! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

69%

Loved the roof top seating area!


77%

All in all one of the better hostels in auckland, with its roof kitchen sauna and spa, and cleaners working multiple times a day. And a not completly stricked alcohloe ban allowing for a beer or two with your dinner just so long as your not having a noisy party disturbing other guests. Downsides of the hostel are, they dont change the duvet covers for up too three months at a time ( ive had bed bugs twive there) child size bunk beds you cant sit up in and key card system that hardly ever works.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. It's nice to hear that the constant cleaning is being recognised and appreciated. We are in the process of purchasing new bedding which will allow us a more frequent washing of our duvet covers. If we have to deal with bed bugs we have a very strict cleaning process that sees the rooms shut for multiple days and professionally sprayed and all bedding/belongings washed. Our keys do stop working when in contact with electronics etc. Nomads Auckland

60%

Bugs in the room, rooms very dirty. Expensive for the quality!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we would have like it! If we do have bed bugs (which has nothing to do with cleanliness but by spread by people traveling) we have a very strict procedure in place that sees the room closed off for days and professionally sprayed and all bedding/belongings being washed and dried hot. Our cleaning team cleans all rooms daily and the common areas multiple times a day! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

71%

Squeaky beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to hear that your room had a squeaky bed. Our maintenance guy goes through the hostel on a regular basis and tightens the bolts to avoid squeaky beds! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hopefully we see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

60%

BEWARE OF BED BUGS

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback and alerting us to the possibility there may be bed bugs. We have had a good look through this room and although we can find no trace we have closed it down and get it professionally sprayed. Bed bugs are an increasing global problem and we are always looking at new and more effective ways of dealing with them on the odd occasion this does happen. Please read the following info: http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/health-safety/bed-bugs Thanks Nomads Auckland

86%

Stayed at nomads in march, and while in general i m not the biggest fan of big hostels, nomads auckland was really good! Nothing special really, but the staff was so friendly! I missed my flight and reappeared back there. They treated me so good and were the friendliest people. Without them my day would ve beem horrible i think! Big thumbs up for the staff! Also nice commom area, city view from the kitchen and good bathrooms. Special thanks to the cute german girl at the check in ;-)


80%

Security is great, key card access to the hostel at night, corridors and all rooms at all time. Under bed large lockers (maybe not ur entire big bag but definitely the valuables)! Located just off queens street you are right in the centre of town - close to transport links, airport shuttle and kiwi experience drop offs. Shops, restaurants, bars, etc all within easy walking distance. Spa, sauna, bathrooms all great. Kitchen gets very messy at times but is fairly normal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you were able to go on our free daily guided walking tour as well as make use of our 30 mins. Free daily WiFi.! Our kitchen gets cleaned 4 times a day but unfortunately due to the big turnover can still get messy at times. We hope you have a great time traveling on and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Backpackers

74%

A social hostel in a good location. I think a lot of issues depend on the people who use the place. But some of the bedrooms are incredibly small for the amount of beds, and the beds... I needed a massage after my stay. Very uncomfortable, they obviously get a lot of use. The kitchen is also very small for the amount of people who want to use it. If it wasn't for these, I'd have stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your feedback and are always trying very hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Our cleaning staff cleans the common areas multiple times a day but with so many people coming through it'll still look messy at times. We are actually looking at getting new mattresses! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

77%

Nice with rooftop area! Vdry central location and it was clean. Though one night it was played loud music outside, which made it hard to fall asleep. I missed tables and chairs in the common room, for e.g. playing cards. Thecommon areas were generally very small. The kitchen was very small and had far to few sits - especially when it was raining. Fridges were constantly overfull.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us though we are sorry to hear that your were disturbed by the outside noise. We are surrounded by bars and night clubs where the noise control is out of our hands.We hand out free ear plugs on reception.Unfortunately we are a bit limited on space but try and make up on it by offering free daily guided walking tours around town!We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland

43%

The kitchen is so bad and dirty, no room at all for your food in the fridges. Found all my food left on the table because someone took it out to make room for their own food - had to throw everything away!!! There was a few cockroachs too, both inside the kitchen and a lot outside. The rooms are very small, i stayed in a 8 bed dorm.. The staff didn't know much about the City, very disapointing!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. Our fridges get deep cleaned twice a week and the kitchen gets cleaned multiple times a day.We are constantly cleaning guests stuff up and still in between it can look messy. We try our best to keep the area as presentable at all times. We get our kitchen checked for little crawlies every month by professionals but they do live outside and get in when doors are open. We are sorry to hear that you found the staff unhelpful and we will follow this up! Thanks

91%

Needs more storage space in the kitchen, staff are really nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you were able to make use of our Free daily guided walking tours and our free 30mins daily WiFi?!We are a bit limited on storage space due to the layout of the kitchen but have managed to fit in an extra fridge. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again, Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Everything was good apart from the outside noise. Had to use earplugs to sleep an I never have to do that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your noise feedback and are glad to let you know that the outside area of the bar is now shut from 11pm onwards which reduces the noise volume a lot! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and our free facilities! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

Great location! Would stay there again. Really easy to meet people.


83%

The beds were very squeaky and all he plug sockets were hidden and not very easy to get to. The communal spaces were also not that great, both the Tv room and kitchen could have done with being bigger and that would have helped the atmosphere. The attached bar was very nice though and it was always clean with hot powerful showers.


97%

Friendly staff with a travel shop next door. Much more happening than Base and make the most of the hot tub on the roof!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

not enough fridges from the amount of people staying or food storage areas kicthen to small as well very crowded at night . also 10 people in small room with peoples bags on floor lockers under beds to small for backpacks they need WALL LOCKER SO PEOPLE USE THEM

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location but can be noisy until late due to surrounding bars. Great views from kitchen (top floor). Rooms clean and tidy.


(812 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback