X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1285 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I stayed here for 4 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was great. Would stay here again for sure!


100%

I stayed here twice while I was in New Zealand. I was upgraded the first time from a 10 bed to an 8, and the second into a private room to myself. Staff were always helpful and friendly, despite having worked all night! It is clean and close to everything. I would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to hear that our staff do a fantastic job and you enjoyed your stays - that's what it's all about! We hope we see you again some time soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

pretty standart hostel in the city centre, u feel like one of a thousand and you wount get to know anyone....


89%

The rooms and toilets are clean but if you want a good sleep make sure you get a room that is far from the roof top bar!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do hand out free ear plugs on reception for the noisy nights. All the best for your further travels and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

66%

okay, have to pay for wifi!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We actually give out free 30mins. WiFi in our travel shop every day. Our 24hrs inside the hostel are only $4. We hope you also made use of our other free facilities like the Spa and Sauna and our daily walking tours. Thanks Nomads Auckland

54%

In Australia all the nomads hostels were pretty good. This hostel was the opposite. The mattresses were so thin that you couldn't call them mattresses. The room was dirty and the beds were taped together and squeaky. We wanted to talk to the reception, but there was always just one person at the reception and it was so busy all the time. Also the rooms are so small, you couldn't even walk in the room If everybody's stuff was in there. The kitchen was to little.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,sorry to hear that your stay didn't turn out as pleasant as we wanted to. We are looking into getting new mattresses to make our guest's stay more comfortable. Our cleaning team is going around the hostel 24hrs/day what time did you experience the room dirty? With full rooms all the time it is hard to always give a tidy impression as people's belongings are everywhere. We hope you were able to make use of our outside area on the roof top?2 staff are on reception all the time now.

80%

Big hostel, average atmosphere, but excellent location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you made use of our free daily activities and facilities which actually create a nice atmosphere in the hostel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

Really noisy until 3am because of the surrounding clubs, and really uncomfortable bed so basically no sleep for 3 nights! The ensuite drains smelt pretty bad. Treated ourselves to a 'deluxe' room which was pretty expensive, but it was a tiny double room with a single bunk over the top - not to mention all the horrible graffiti above our heads. Wasn't even a real mattress, and it was really uncomfortable. Stayed at the Wellington Nomads in the same kind of room - cheaper and so much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped for. The noise is something we have to deal with unfortunately being down town but we do hand out free ear plugs to our guests. We are looking into getting new mattresses as well. The graffiti is something we can't help unfortunately as we could spend every day over painting it but sometimes it might put a smile on your face :) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

the staff hospitality was very welcoming when i arrived and i was treated very well. there were no problems while i stayed there, the location was close to all amenities and the whole atmosphere was very down to earth.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review and we are stoked you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

94%

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm for 3 nights and it was great. The common room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

It was clean and comfortable. Staff was great. It got a bit loud at night, but an overall great stay.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you made use of our free ear plugs from reception to get a good night's sleep after all! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

69%

doesn't advertise as a dry hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review! We apologise if you felt missleaded about the drinking policy in the hostel. We inform all guests upon arrival and keep their alcohol safe in our back office to be picked up when our guests check out. We hope you made use of the bar on Level 1. Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

86%

Good dorms but matresses werent great. Have to pay for wifi, bo a/c so rooms are hot and noisy with the window open. Did have a dvd room etc but bar was closed when i was there. Would stay agaib only if i needed one night etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you addressing the mattresses and it is something we will definitely look into! We do offer free 30mins. WiFi daily in our travel shop. I hope you made use of our other facilities like our free Spa and Sauna and our free daily walking tours?!The bar was shut as the 2nd of Jan. was a public holiday in NZ. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

80%

As a local I'm maybe a little harsh on this place (booked to have a New Year's Eve place to crash) in terms of it being pretty small and cramped but fantastic location and the only reasonably priced place we could find to stay on New Year's.


80%

nice place, but kitchen is a bit small


77%

The people of reception never were there, I like more the Nomads Capital from Wellington than the Nomads from Auckland. Cheers

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We would like to more about your experience while staying with us as you mention the receptionist was never there?! Our desk is manned 24/7 and our staff only leave the desk to help another guest or for hostel checks. I would like to know more about the time you experienced a closed reception. Please email me under nadine@nomadsworld.com Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

74%

Nice hostel in the city center of Auckland with a nice view from the deck/balcony/kitchen (but definitely to many birds outside and inside)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Unfortunately the kitchen doors are not always kept shut and birds happen to come in. Our cleaning team is around multiple times a day to ensure it stays clean and tidy. Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

86%

No free wifi and half good toilets, otherwise really good.


77%

This is my second time staying at the hostel and as much as I like it there, they really need to do something about the bathrooms! The floors are so slippy, I have fallen over in them at least three or four times. I really bruised my arm and leg last time as I fell onto the wooden benches in the middle.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Usually nomads are a fail safe good standards type place but my dorm wasn't great, not air conditioned and with the windows open you have the busy nightlife to keep you awake. The staff weren't the friendliest either in fact pretty rude! The tours place downstairs were nice though. Location is pretty handy aswell for boat trips and getting to and from the airport using the public buses.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced our staff as rude and not friendly. We drive to give the best customer service possible and for that reason I would like to know a little bit more about your experience and what staff member in particular you dealt with. Please forward me any details to nadine@nomadsworld.com Thanks, Nomads Auckland Management

(795 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback