X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Nomads Auckland Reviews

16-20 Fort St, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1193 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good lounge, more movies would be good. Bar next door is great especially on Tuesday cheap pizza and beer :)


63%

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm and had the worst night sleep I've ever had. I did book for 2 nights but left after the first night. The bed had graffiti all over it and had wooden slats missing, making sleep practically impossible. This seems to be a party hostel full of young males talking about local prostitutes and strip clubs, I felt very uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. Our large dorm rooms get quite full at this time of year and the space is not that big unfortunately. We will follow up on the missing slats and removal of the graffiti. Unfortunately it is out of control what other guests are staying in the room and what they talk about. We would like to offer you a free upgrade into a smaller dorm room on the quieter side of the building when you come back to Auckland. Thanks Nomads Auckland

86%

Location is great! it was really close to the shuttle bus stop.I didn't have to walk to the hostel less than 2min.There is a club next to hostel that was so noisy obviously. If I had been a nervous person, I couldn't have slept in that room. cleaning had been well. it was really comfortable for me. i will stay this hostel again.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

i loved the bar

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for placing your review. We are glad you enjoyed the bar and specials they offer! We hope to see you again soon and enjoy your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

51%

I wont be back in this hostel thats for sure... People steal food and u cant do anything about it... Its not a party hostel the bar is boring, the hostel dont do anything to make it a party place no happy hour cant bring drinks inside the hostel and internet is very expencive, hostel for one night abd to go nothing else

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We understand it can be very frustrating when others take food..The bar is separate from the hostel but offer backpacker friendly nights like Tuesdays with $1 slice pizzas and free drink. The Internet costs $4 per day which is a fair price and we also offer free 30mins. WiFi in our Travel shop below the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Loved Nomads Fort Street! Perfect location, clean rooms & communal areas. AMAZING food (and cheap drinks) at the bar next door. Will be coming back!


77%

Room given was not big enough for 4 adults. Two bunk beds crammed into a single room, no room to move about and one set of bunks obscuring the door to the bathroom. Otherwise we had a good stay

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is very well located if you need to be in the city center, but its really noisy. Specially if you are staying in the weekend, you could hear people speaking, shouting, bottles rolling in the street, everything. If you are in the 2nd floor you will feel that you are inside the nightclub that is downstairs, so better ask for a room in a higher story. The mattresses are really thin so its not so comfortable. The staff is really friendly and helpful.


71%

Fine for one or 2 nights! Not the cleanest and needs an update. Right in the city though and everything you need. Basic.


80%

A pretty big hostel in a nice location in Auckland, but the downside the rooms are windowless (ours had a tiny skylight) and rather small. Room was a little messy (hairclips and bottle tops from previous residents on the floor), but was otherwise clean enough. Kitchen and roof area were nice and the attached bar was surprisingly swanky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found rubbish from previous guests in your room this shouldn't have happened! We will make sure our housekeeping team is up to scratch! We have rooms with window and some without windows unfortunately we don't have air conditioning. Please let us know if you are coming back to Auckland at some point and we would like to give you a free upgrade. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

66%

very noise, horrible bed, no very clean, roof is cool, kitchen is ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for feedback. We are shocked to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we wish you had. Unfortunately we are surrounded by bars/night clubs which cause noise at night time but we give out free ear plugs on reception to help with the noise! Please let us know when you are next in Auckland and we will provide you with a free upgrade towards the quieter side of the hostel. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

89%

When we checked in we were upgraded to a better room free of charge which was a winner! The Union bar next door is awesome, and the spa/sauna on the roof is amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed the free upgrade and the rest of your stay with us. We hope to see you again or in one of our other Nomads hostels in NZ! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

63%

The beds were uncomfortable, but nice hot showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you found our beds uncomfortable?! We will have a look at the mattresses in the room you stayed in. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

80%

Good hostel in a great location. Staff and room were both good, but nothing special. No complaints though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to hear more from you if you think we could do anything better! Please email us under nadine@nomadsworld.com We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Nice place. 'Dry' hostel! The reasons for this rule they advertise are OK except they missed the one major reason...For the bar next door to make as much money as possible! Lame! One bonus was the fit Sandra Bullock lookalike downstairs in the Travel Shop! :-P


91%

Wifi should be included in room prices.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope to see you again soon! WiFi is $4 per day and we also offer 30mins. FREE WiFi daily in our Mad Travel Shop next door to our hostel. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

71%

Don't stay here if your looking to relax. We had just arrived, feeling jet lagged and this hostel was not ideal, its next door to a bar/club and so was very loud all night. Generally it was clean and the location is good, very central. However the atmosphere wasn't great the hostel had nowhere you could go to at night just to chill out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your review! We are sorry if you were disturbed by noises from around the hostels by bars. We offer free ear plugs from reception to reduce the noise but unfortunately we can't control the noise from around us. We have our TV lounge on level 1 where guests relax and chill out and we hope you also made use of our level 7 roof top.We also offer free daily activities for our guests like walking tours around town. We hope to see you again soon! Nomads Auckland

83%

Perfect hostel for newcomers to NZ/lone travellers. Big hostel but with a friendly vibe and the Union bar is awesome! Met loads of people and had an amazing time. Shout out to Jana and Michelle on reception! - Liz :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We will pass your good feedback on to our lovely Interns! Please make sure you see us again while travelling. If not in Auckland maybe visit our other properties in Wellington or Queenstown! Enjoy your time tin NZ :) Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

69%

I have been traveling around the world last 10 years and for my the concept of hostel is totally different that what I found there. Big place, a lot of rooms and not very clean. But they can give all information about tours and the city, the staff are very polite and is well located. Very nice pub in the first floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found our place too big and not too clean?!Can you let us know which areas didn't match up with the standards it should have? We always want to give the best customer service at all times. You rated our staff lower than any other category was there anything you weren't happy with? Please email me under nadine@nomadsworld.com. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

83%

Nice place. 'Dry' hostel! The reasons for this rule they advertise are OK except they missed the one major reason...For the bar next door to make as much money as possible!


(752 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback